PDA

View Full Version : new! powermac vga to tv ouput?




Toby Goodbar
Sep 9, 2006, 03:37 PM
hi, i'm new to macs from pc. have g4 powermac 450x2 gigabite ethernet according to apple-history.com and of course my mac says so.

i recently bought a new powermac thinking i could use my old pc monitor -NOPE! i tried 3 and only the newest (which isn't mine workd) so it isn't the video card. i had also bought a dvi to vga adaptor ahead of time just in case (not knowing anything about macs) which DIDN't even fit to what i suspect is the dvi port.

1)what do i need to buy to send a signal to my tv?
2)what do i need to buy to have it work w/ my old PC monitor?

thanx! -Toby



GimmeSlack12
Sep 9, 2006, 03:44 PM
To output to a TV you'll need a S-Video or VGA output on your computer (another video card). I am a bit confused on if you have a G4 or if you have a "new" PowerMac (you said both things). What kind of monitor is your old PC a VGA? Cause any monitor should work fine with that computer. To be honest you need to be a bit more specific about it all.

Toby Goodbar
Sep 9, 2006, 04:02 PM
well when i said "new"i meant new to me. its acutally from the year 2000 according to apple-history.com

i tried 2 ancient pc monitors (from the early 90s) and they work on the pc but not my powermac. the year 200X monitor (not mine) worked perfectly.

my video card has 2 ports (suspected)DVI, and vga. but i've seen adaptors for sale that output s-video or composite from the vga port. i just don't want to waste my money b/c it won't work or get the wrong one

Toby Goodbar
Sep 9, 2006, 04:13 PM
for example:
http://cgi.ebay.com/VGA-converter-adapter-cable-RCA-S-video-to-TV-display_W0QQitemZ290026900813QQihZ019QQcategoryZ41999QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

oh and this is my computer:
http://www.apple-history.com/body.php?page=gallery&model=g4giga&performa=off&sort=date&order=ASC

so from what i can tell the question is: Does mac os x10.4 or the ATI Rage 120 Pro supports NTSC output?