PDA

View Full Version : Woh! Scary!




mcs37
Apr 3, 2003, 05:23 PM
This is a scary news article.... I just got it from someone.

http://128.84.137.192/2003/US/04/01/deport.muslims/index.html

Not related to Macs at all, but still very frightening!



Datazoid
Apr 3, 2003, 05:36 PM
I think this was just an April Fools Joke (note the date on the article).

000111one111000
Apr 3, 2003, 05:44 PM
That's not even on the CNN site. Erase everything in the link except for the IP address and port number, and it'll take you to "Josh's Computer" or something.

Kind of obvious it's fake though. If Bush were to have said something like that, we'd see it all over the place.

enoch

alia
Apr 3, 2003, 05:50 PM
Plus there was a bunch of grammatical errors. CNN editors would have picked up on those. You never see more than one in a CNN article.

Alia

Eniregnat
Apr 3, 2003, 06:12 PM
This is the kind of article that spreds pannic.

evoluzione
Apr 3, 2003, 06:13 PM
nicely done though. i can't see any typos mind, or grammatical errors, yeah some things weren't written in proper english, but then so many articles aren't these days.

if you click the "email this" link, it comes up with the headline and everything, is that easy to do?

mcs37
Apr 3, 2003, 08:32 PM
Originally posted by 000111one111000
That's not even on the CNN site. Erase everything in the link except for the IP address and port number, and it'll take you to "Josh's Computer" or something.

Kind of obvious it's fake though. If Bush were to have said something like that, we'd see it all over the place.

enoch

Thanks for the comments. :) It scared a whole lot of people and generated 6,000 hits to my box hosting it. My school got angry for copyright violation, so I had to move it to the current box in California.

My muslim friends thought it was hilarious! I didn't really notice any grammar problems, though....

But some people did catch the "Remember this is April Fool's Day" sentence at the bottom. It's scary how easy it was to spread disinformation so rapidly over the Net. What if someone went to more effort than me in doing this, and copied MSNBC sites and so forth? You could spread a whole lot of panic fast.

Mike

eyeslikeartsson
Apr 8, 2003, 05:32 PM
Thank you for alerting us to the web site below which purports to be a CNN news
story. As you may have surmised, the site is not in fact a real CNN news story.
This site, and a number of other sites using the URL address 66.111.43.11, are
not authorized, endorsed, sponsored or approved by CNN. We are investigating the
problem and hope to have it resolved quickly.

Thank you,

Abuse@CNN.com