PDA

View Full Version : MacBook Powerful enough?




chuckles25
Sep 22, 2006, 04:11 PM
I just bought a macbook 2.0/1GB RAM and M Audio MIDI workstation that came with abelton Live Lite 4. But when I run the demo song for Live its running too slow and it sounds choppy, like a dying squirrel. Is it native to the new macs? need 2 GB of ram? I dont think I should upgrade to the macbook pro, if im right, the only real difference is the graphics card. and another question will i be able to run PTools LE and Reason smoothly? sorry, I did my reasearch and got advise but since i bought the macbook, ableton just kind of made me disappointed at my decision on buying all this equipment. Garage Band runs just fine Im just hopeing that the problem is in ableton not being native to the new macs.....I know im ignorant to all this new mac and audio business but I still need advice.



zimv20
Sep 22, 2006, 04:31 PM
i can't tell you why Live would run badly (unless it's not UB yet?), but rest assured PTLE and Reason will run fine. if you're doing a lot of audio, use an external firewire drive for that.

fyi -- i did an audio stress test a couple years ago on my g3/800 ibook. i was able to simultaneously play back 16 tracks of 96/24 audio while recording 8. this was with PTLE, a digi002r, and an external f/w drive with an 8 meg cache.

beatzfreak
Sep 22, 2006, 04:50 PM
Live Lite 4 is not UB. The full version 5.2 runs on Intel Macs.

Though, check your Energy Saver settings on the Macbook. Should be set to optimal.
It may help Live lite 4 run better.

JHacker
Sep 22, 2006, 10:19 PM
I'm running Pro Tools 7.1.1 on my MBP with 1 GB Ram 2.0 Ghz and when I'm recording, PT only takes up about 200-300 MB of RAM. Running a Macbook with PT and Reason should be MORE than fine. As long as Reason is a Universal program, which I think it is now.

chuckles25
Sep 22, 2006, 10:53 PM
thanx for your help. I think ill try downloading the newer version and trying all the options u guys gave me and ill post back whatever worked ......and UB stands for Universal B???????

scottlinux
Sep 22, 2006, 11:32 PM
Also, with high end audio apps, using an external audio interface will help handle high bit rates/high sample rates, etc than onboard sound. Esp with a laptop. Firewire devices are best.

JHacker
Sep 23, 2006, 10:25 AM
Scott is correct. I use MBox which is hooked up by USB but I record to a 160GB external firewire drive. I had several problems before I started to do this. And UB stands for Universal Binary.

chuckles25
Oct 5, 2006, 04:37 PM
thanx for the advise all I needed to upgrade to the UB

cschreppel
Oct 9, 2006, 09:17 PM
Yeah, I'm running a MacBook 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM with Pro Tools 7.1.1 on a Digi002 system. I had Reason 3, got the free download for the Universal Binary (at least for me it was) to run it on the Intel system to do a remix I've been working on.

Running pretty smoothly. Just make sure you also have a firewire drive for your audio as well.