PDA

View Full Version : A Team MacRumors Stats Page




Stelliform
Apr 6, 2003, 02:11 PM
What do you guys think about setting one up?

Would Y'all be interested in having our own stats page?

Do you think we should post it in the MacRumors Project forum and mabey draw in a few new members?

I just want to get a feel for your thoughts.....



Zeke
Apr 6, 2003, 02:29 PM
Definitely something worth having. I think it should be like the pages that have upcoming rivals and our closing speeds and that kind of thing. But yeah, should be something cool since we have so many people Folding now.

MrMacMan
Apr 6, 2003, 10:14 PM
Its possible but 2 things limit you.

a) Arn's Bandwitch.
b) A good code to base the site on. I've seen some nice ones, statsmans image maker. The image is based on a 3 hourly system... another one for when you will catch up to a team. There is a nice table system at macnn and at overclockers you have a great member system.

All things to think about.

teabgs
Apr 6, 2003, 10:50 PM
Here ya go...and say thank you to the MacNN team for it... (http://teamstats.macnn.com/fold/stats.php?TID=3446&page=s1)

Rower_CPU
Apr 7, 2003, 01:07 AM
Originally posted by teabgs
Here ya go...and say thank you to the MacNN team for it... (http://teamstats.macnn.com/fold/stats.php?TID=3446&page=s1)

Actually I've been emailing back and forth with reader50, the guy who set up those pages.

I've already talked about setting up Team MR stats pages in this thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?threadid=23708

Give me some time this week and I'll see how it goes...

MrMacMan
Apr 7, 2003, 06:52 AM
Rower don't you want the best of All of the stats, sure macnn has some great stuff, but it must really own alot of CPU & bandwitch When it says it updates and when it acually does are 2 different times.
I suppose it would use less if we had a macnn like stats page but it would only show our stats not other teams like theirs does...
If you can do it Rower, Yo Da man!
Parody off of 'Yoda man!'

Macnn's User page is good, but then again, what do you want? Good user page? Comparison of nearby teams? A graph? etc..

All things to consider.

Mr. Anderson
Apr 7, 2003, 07:24 AM
But why do we need it? Its going to be a bit of work and what we arleady have is not too shabby.

But hey, if you do it, that would be fantastic. Let me know if you want any graphics. And we could even try incorporating some flash... :D

D

Rower_CPU
Apr 7, 2003, 11:15 AM
Partly, I'm doing it just to see how it can be done. I'm doing so much PHP/MySQL these days that it's a natural side project.

The way I see it is to do something more like this (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/folding/teams/detail_3446.html).

With readouts of upcoming conquests and threats, our current production rate, member info, etc.

Reinventing the wheel? Somewhat. But I think it will be good for the team. :)

eyelikeart
Apr 7, 2003, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Reinventing the wheel? Somewhat. But I think it will be good for the team. :)

nice job :D

we're moving along nicely it seems...he he he ;)

Stelliform
Apr 7, 2003, 11:55 AM
The reason I posted the thread was to see how many of you felt like teabgs and duke. I agree that it is re-inventing the wheel. And I am with Rower. The stats that I care the most about are like the ones he pointed out. (Which haven't been updated since April 5th.)

But on the flip side, should we as a powerhouse team, depend on the little guy's stat pages? And it sounds like fun. :)

MrMacMan
Apr 7, 2003, 12:03 PM
Originally posted by Stelliform
The reason I posted the thread was to see how many of you felt like teabgs and duke. I agree that it is re-inventing the wheel. And I am with Rower. The stats that I care the most about are like the ones he pointed out. (Which haven't been updated since April 5th.)

But on the flip side, should we as a powerhouse team, depend on the little guy's stat pages? And it sounds like fun. :)

I think of it more as leeching, statsman I don't feel guilt about using but using macnn's stats... well I feel guilty, they made such a good page... just not our team...

Bah whatever. :rolleyes:

If you can't do rower, no one can!

Stelliform
Apr 7, 2003, 10:59 PM
Another reason for our own stats page would be so that we contol it. My favorite Stat page at Extreme Overclocking (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/folding/teams/detail_3446.html) has been down since Saturday. They mention the reason here. (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?threadid=42613)

Seems that the guy who maintains the server is out of town, and the bad weather rolling through the south shut him down...

If we maintained it, at least we could gripe to someone. :)

MrMacMan
Apr 7, 2003, 11:17 PM
Originally posted by Stelliform
Another reason for our own stats page would be so that we contol it. My favorite Stat page at Extreme Overclocking (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/folding/teams/detail_3446.html) has been down since Saturday. They mention the reason here. (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/folding/teams/detail_3446.html)

Seems that the guy who maintains the server is out of town, and the bad weather rolling through the south shut him down...

If we maintained it, at least we could gripe to someone. :)

You posted the same link twice, the link for the reason is wrong...

Oh well, if implemented and if several people get the power of update it would rule. :D

Stelliform
Apr 8, 2003, 09:12 AM
Originally posted by MrMacman
You posted the same link twice, the link for the reason is wrong...


Thanks for the heads up, I have fixed it now.

And if you don't feel like looking, Here is the correct address (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/showthread.php?threadid=42613)

Zeke
Apr 8, 2003, 10:03 AM
Where do they get the stats from? Stanford doesn't list daily and hourly information. Are they just downloading the totals from Stanford and tabulating them to get rates, etc...I'm interested because I'm trying to write a program to do the same thing that monitors the progress of Folding on several levels. Any insights?

Rower_CPU
Apr 8, 2003, 10:36 AM
Stanford updates their stats pages hourly. It's up to people to collect the stats and calculate the rates, etc.

You just have to go to the web pages and pull out the data from the surrounding HTML.

MrMacMan
Apr 9, 2003, 12:00 AM
We should have a stats pages because then we can only blame ourselves.

Statsman not updating, overclockers not updating. Using macnn stats that are only updated once a day... bah!

MrMacMan
Apr 9, 2003, 12:02 AM
We should have a stats pages because then we can only blame ourselves.

Statsman not updating, overclockers not updating. Using macnn stats that are only updated once a day... bah!

If we had this, and didn't increase server load like what the server is doing to me now it would be great.

Stelliform
Apr 9, 2003, 09:07 AM
A Stats page would definitely be more trouble than we have now, but is anything worth having easy? :)

I see Extreme Overcolocking's page is updating again. I am curious about our production. According to Macnn's page, we have plateaued for the last few days.

Rower_CPU
Apr 9, 2003, 01:17 PM
Our increase is output has slowed some, but we're still going up.

We just cracked 25,000 points per week. :)

Mr. Anderson
Apr 9, 2003, 01:22 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Our increase is output has slowed some, but we're still going up.

We just cracked 25,000 points per week. :)

Where's that put us with regards to other teams around us.....it will probably be a while till we pass another team.

D

Rower_CPU
Apr 9, 2003, 01:27 PM
According to this page (http://forums.extremeoverclocking.com/folding/teams/detail_3446.html) we won't pass anyone for just over a month.

The point differentials are pretty big between us and teams ahead of us. (>25,000 points)

britboy
Apr 9, 2003, 02:29 PM
Originally posted by dukestreet
Where's that put us with regards to other teams around us.....it will probably be a while till we pass another team.

D


Basically, our current production level would eventually get us into the low 20's. With the way our production is increasing though, i would expect that to improve. Unfortunately though there's a rather large gap between us and team Germany (at 24th, the highest team with a lower output than us), so we won't be catching them for quite a while.

For a visual representation of our production compared to nearby teams:

http://www.statsman.org/folding2stats/html/3446_future.gif

MrMacMan
Apr 9, 2003, 03:38 PM
Originally posted by britboy
Basically, our current production level would eventually get us into the low 20's. With the way our production is increasing though, i would expect that to improve. Unfortunately though there's a rather large gap between us and team Germany (at 24th, the highest team with a lower output than us), so we won't be catching them for quite a while.

For a visual representation of our production compared to nearby teams:

http://www.statsman.org/folding2stats/html/3446_future.gif

Ah yes statsman, they mostly accuratly predict that we will overtake in may/june which is true if you do the math correctly.
Luckily we are fending off ABIT for a little while longer and General Mayhem we will see when the time comes.

reader50
Apr 9, 2003, 08:13 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
...
Statsman not updating, overclockers not updating. Using macnn stats that are only updated once a day... bah!
...
My Fold code on teamstats tries for an update every 30 minutes. It checks the "data updated at" tag on each page, and only grabs a page if it is newer than before. In practice, Stanford seems to update only every three hours. If they ever speed their servers up, our code will follow the updates.

Zeke, concerning rate tracking. Stanford and most other projects provide only a running total. It is up to us to take a snapshot, save it in a database, and do analysis over time. As of today, the teamstats database is over 3.2 GB of data for 58 teams across 5 projects.

In addition to tracking MacRumors in Folding, we now track you in SETI also. teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/stats.php?TID=139691 (http://teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/stats.php?TID=139691) - updated every 15 minutes. We do not track MacRumors in dFold, RC5-72, or D2OL. Ubero stats will be next, not sure about tracking there.

For those looking for interteam comparisons, they have long been in the planning and our data definitions have allowed for that from the start. Unfortunately, the stats code has been in development for a long time, and I've not gotten to those modules yet. Sorry. :)

Stelliform
Apr 9, 2003, 08:27 PM
Reader50, I just wanted to say thanks for the great page. I know I check your page every day to see how I am doing. (I like seeing my rate change. :))

MrMacMan
Apr 9, 2003, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by reader50
My Fold code on teamstats tries for an update every 30 minutes. It checks the "data updated at" tag on each page, and only grabs a page if it is newer than before. In practice, Stanford seems to update only every three hours. If they ever speed their servers up, our code will follow the updates.

Zeke, concerning rate tracking. Stanford and most other projects provide only a running total. It is up to us to take a snapshot, save it in a database, and do analysis over time. As of today, the teamstats database is over 3.2 GB of data for 58 teams across 5 projects.
In addition to tracking MacRumors in Folding, we now track you in SETI also. teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/stats.php?TID=139691 (http://teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/stats.php?TID=139691) - updated every 15 minutes.
We do not track MacRumors in dFold, RC5-72, or D2OL. Ubero stats will be next, not sure about tracking there.

For those looking for interteam comparisons, they have long been in the planning and our data definitions have allowed for that from the start. Unfortunately, the stats code has been in development for a long time, and I've not gotten to those modules yet. Sorry. :)
wow, you track us on seti, omg. that is indeed a sad site... (I mean our SETI ranking, it doesn't apear)
That is roughly what 550 MB per team? (probably calculating wrong)
anyway what was talking about was main page (http://team.macnn.com/fold/rank1.phtml) , the rankings that is 24 hour, I think, cause that is what it says, updates somewhere around 1 AM (EST).

Great site tho, we all must complement you. The stats are clean and clear cut, they look good too. :D

Thanks for coming over hear reader50.
Edit: looking at the SETI page for a moment ( :eek: ) I notice some weird things happening... here. (http://teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/stats.php?TID=139691&page=c1) 0 rank *error, impossible* (http://teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/includes/Outfiles/seti1_139691_Graph_ttmp3628043_r1Big.png) not a glitch but a function, shows total not specific OS (http://teamstats.macnn.com/seti1/includes/Outfiles/seti1_139691_Graph_ttmp3628043_prBig.png)

Ah thanks again, You da man!

MrMacMan
Apr 10, 2003, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by reader50
Ok, will try to answer ...

The Changes page This shows when people join/leave, and initial members when tracking of your team began. Our seti1 section got running only a few days ago.

Ranks on "team" We are moving all our stats stuff off of "team.macnn.com" and onto dedicated servers on "teamstats.macnn.com". The old stats code on "team" is specific to MacNN and would not adapt well to multiple teams. Also, it was turning into a maintenance hog. They are still running until teamstats versions are ready, which will allow recentering on other teams, and will update every 1(seti) - 3(fold) hours.

MacRumors rank numbers The member data page does not supply a team's rank. You have to get that from Top 200 All or Top 200 Club teams. Both are checked separately, but MacRumors could not be found in either list. You guys need to do something about that. ;)

Rank of zero If the rank data can't be found, it's zero. The stats bar and tables trap that and do not show invalids. I need to reset a graph control to kill it in the graphs too. Thanks for spotting that. (edit: fixed)

Power graphs by OS The projects do not provide a way to determine power. I do it based on the weekly average rate, with a long-term plan to allow users to enter OS-breakdown data. This would allow the graph to present a full breakdown in addition to the total. This part is scheduled to get written after the interteam Ranks stuff, which is to say, sometime this century. Oh well. I'll probably turn off the legend key until that feature is ready.

Don't be guilty about hitting our pages, we put them up to see what the enemy is doing ... uh, well, for the good of the community. :D

ps - linking directly to a graph doesn't work well, they delete after an hour or a day (varies by project). Otherwise, the graphs folder would soon be larger than the database. Capture and attach to the forum post.

Ah thanks for clearing that up and for the advice. :D
So tell me what (Folding) updates every 3 hours, the specific team stats right... okay but the 'team' page or the rankings updated every 24 hours. Thanks for fixing them glitches... :D

Anyway, what happenes when you guys are too threatened? You rank page says many many threats, but the image...

Again thanks for traveling the long journey cross-sites. ;) (I tried joining before we passed you but I keep having problems enterning comments in your team forum :( )

reader50
Apr 10, 2003, 06:11 PM
The team's Opportunity / Threat bars are disconnected on teamstats. They still work on the original team side, and will work everywhere once the new Ranks modules are done.

About our forum, the team forum is supposed to allow posting by unregistered users. It worked under UBB, but something isn't working right under vBB. It still says unregistered can post, but does not allow it in practice. The forum admins will look into it someday, for the moment you have to register.

MrMacMan
Apr 10, 2003, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
(I tried joining before we passed you but I keep having problems enterning comments in your team forum :( )
I registed a couple times but after trying to post at several different times I gave up... :(
It said I didn't have the board admin/mod permission to reply... bah.

Not a real problem tho.

If the teamstats bar opp/threats are disconnected then why not remove it so people don't get confused like I was? :D

reader50
Apr 10, 2003, 11:05 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
...
If the teamstats bar opp/threats are disconnected then why not remove it so people don't get confused like I was? :D
But ... but ... they are going to be done Real Soon Now(tm):p

They work for individuals, and I'd really like to get them running for teams. Need to quit my job maybe.

Rower_CPU
Apr 10, 2003, 11:30 PM
Originally posted by reader50
But ... but ... they are going to be done Real Soon Now(tm):p

They work for individuals, and I'd really like to get them running for teams. Need to quit my job maybe.

Ha...good one.

I haven't had time to do more than check out "fopen"-ing to a web site and seeing what I can do to strip out data...maybe I should quit my job and grad school. ;)

mc68k
Apr 11, 2003, 01:12 AM
Originally posted by reader50
But ... but ... they are going to be done Real Soon Now(tm):pô is opt-2

MrMacMan
Apr 11, 2003, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
? is opt-2
Yeah yeah ??@ anyway. ;)

On a side note I keep finding the little things to the stats pages on macnn... :D
The forum of MacAddict4Ever should reflect here. (http://www.macaddict.com/phpbb2/viewforum.php?f=32)
and
MacOsX team's forums are here... (http://noahj.homeunix.com/cgi-bin/IB/ikonboard.cgi)

On a non-macnn note: Its offical MacAddict4Ever has become dilusional that we are not beating them by almost 800 points a day...
By TonyPrevite: (their forums)
I warned those macrumors guys that they may have awakened the snoozing beast with that little stunt (although they vehemently deny doing it)

Yeah, one time incident because of you lack of password, you still haven't given a image or show of proof...

I hope they keep their spirits high because I don't see our production slowing for any reason.

Happy folding. :D

Rower_CPU
Apr 12, 2003, 12:29 AM
Stoking the fire... (http://www.macaddict.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14974)

:D

reader50
Apr 12, 2003, 04:28 AM
Originally posted by MrMacman
...
The forum of MacAddict4Ever should reflect here. (http://www.macaddict.com/phpbb2/viewforum.php?f=32)
and
MacOsX team's forums are here... (http://noahj.homeunix.com/cgi-bin/IB/ikonboard.cgi)
...Fixed in scripts, correct links will show with tomorrow's update. Also, forum links will be enabled in the rank3 long page. They were off to hold down the page size, but there are not enough of them to matter.

MrMacMan
Apr 12, 2003, 09:46 AM
Originally posted by reader50
Fixed in scripts, correct links will show with tomorrow's update. Also, forum links will be enabled in the rank3 long page. They were off to hold down the page size, but there are not enough of them to matter.
Ok, I praise you for being so fast.

2. I'm sorry about me being dumb, but, whats the rank3 long page? :wait: I found it the top 100 list. Okay i see the links aren't enabled, okay okay. I see what you mean, goodjob. :D

Mr. Anderson
Apr 12, 2003, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
Stoking the fire... (http://www.macaddict.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14974)

:D

Ok, so they're getting motivated and they have a huge advantage.....how do we get more machines? I really wish I could get a few at work and I'll try asking a few coworkers who might be simpathetic.

But they'll be pcs, anything special I should know about setting up pcs?

D

Rower_CPU
Apr 12, 2003, 08:06 PM
PCs are pretty straightforward to set up. We usually use the graphical client running in the toolbar in our lab. It runs on start up by default.

We try to make it as "set it and forget it" as possible.

MrMacMan
Apr 12, 2003, 08:51 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU
PCs are pretty straightforward to set up. We usually use the graphical client running in the toolbar in our lab. It runs on start up by default.

We try to make it as "set it and forget it" as possible.

That is possible, but if you know alot more about the PCs you can run in background, just takes more knowledge.

mc68k
Apr 12, 2003, 09:30 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
That is possible, but if you know alot more about the PCs you can run in background, just takes more knowledge. to tell you the truth, the PCs aren't worth that much of our time.

MrMacMan
Apr 12, 2003, 11:04 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
to tell you the truth, the PCs aren't worth that much of our time.

lol, maybe not in real life, but for folding they count for a decent percentage of the team.

woah did some people stop posting on this forum or something, less people posting all of a sudden...

pEZ
Apr 13, 2003, 02:12 PM
I got 4 of my PC friends to fold for macrumors, the only thing that bugs me is that all four of them are making me look bad. I've finished only 6 WU's and they have all finished 10 or more, one is nearing 20.....

And I started folding before all of them.

MrMacMan
Apr 13, 2003, 04:31 PM
Originally posted by pEZ
I got 4 of my PC friends to fold for macrumors, the only thing that bugs me is that all four of them are making me look bad. I've finished only 6 WU's and they have all finished 10 or more, one is nearing 20.....

And I started folding before all of them.

All mac teams would be much better if the mac core was optomized and didn't run like bull-****.

Thanks for adding to the team. :D

pEZ
Apr 13, 2003, 07:16 PM
Speaking of the core, does anyone have any ideas on when it will be optimized, or do we just wait for Stanford to take the initiative? It kinda makes macs look bad, even though the comps themselves aren't the direct problem.

MrMacMan
Apr 13, 2003, 07:53 PM
Originally posted by pEZ
Speaking of the core, does anyone have any ideas on when it will be optimized, or do we just wait for Stanford to take the initiative? It kinda makes macs look bad, even though the comps themselves aren't the direct problem.

The gromac core (optomized) is coming, but they keep delaying, adding stuff, etc.

Every month I go over to the forums, rant and rave and then forget about it. They have been saying its coming for a damn good time, we need it NOW!