Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ike

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2006
i am new to macs. i wanted to know what the Santa rosa platform was and if it was something that i should wait for to come out like everyone is saying they are doing?

SkyBell

macrumors 604
Sep 7, 2006
Texas, unfortunately.
Unless you are like most of the people on this forum, buying a mac every 6 weeks, no don't wait. Hell, A new update just came out today! If you really want one, buy it now, and don't look back. Chances are, it'll be a few years at least before you have to upgrade, so don't worry about all he Core duo 2 and santa rosa stuff. (At least for now)

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
Ike said:
i am new to macs. i wanted to know what the Santa rosa platform was and if it was something that i should wait for to come out like everyone is saying they are doing?

Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!

Use Google! Please!

Ike

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2006
i just needed a quick summary of it, not a whole webpage with specs...i don't have time right now to look all of that up and i thought that's what this forum was for anyway.

nobody said you had to post anything, robbie

thank you for your quick responses everyone

Ike

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 11, 2006
By March 2007, Intel will upgrade Merom's chipset and wireless technology with the Crestline chipset, which will be released as part of the Santa Rosa platform,

Intel's fourth-generation Centrino notebook platform, known as 'Santa Rosa', the solution will take the hardware's frontside bus speed to 800MHz.

A faster front-side bus will improve the performance of 2007 Santa Rosa notebooks as compared with 2006 systems based on Merom and the 945 mobile chipsets. That chipset currently uses a 667MHz front-side bus.

for future reference