PDA

View Full Version : PC question


Beej
Feb 25, 2002, 04:51 AM
I've just installed VPC5 and to get my Internet connection working, I need to enable DHCP via the PC. From what I can tell, it is. But I'm used to user friendly Internet settings, not the nested and confusing settings of Windows.

So, if you were running Win98 and needed to enable DHCP, where would you go and what would you do?

I know this is kind of a PC question, but it has to do with VPC so I guess I can ask it here... :)

irmongoose
Feb 25, 2002, 05:32 AM
um...

start menu>settings (or control panel or something like that)>network> double click on the ethernet or modem card> DHCP> change the settings> youre done!


hope this helps.

and no, im not a PC freak, i jus happen to know.




irmongoose

Beej
Feb 25, 2002, 03:26 PM
Thanks. I'll give it a go next time I'm at that machine again, but I think I've already tried that.

Dammit. VPC has always worked with my internet connection without a problem, and now all of a sudden it's making life difficult. Grrr. >(

Ensign Paris
Feb 25, 2002, 03:44 PM
DHCP is accessible from the mac. I can't see why you would need VPC to access a DHCP server unless you have a more complex server setup (like wins or summut like that)

newmanium
Feb 25, 2002, 10:16 PM
try going to the "settings" of your win98.. you should see an option called "networking" or something similar. then pick the option "virtual switch". it uses the same IP address (like DHCP) as the mac its running on.. hope that helps

Beej
Feb 26, 2002, 12:14 AM
I know DHCP is accessible from the Mac, but VPC5 needs you to set up the PC to use DHCP so it knows to use the Mac's DHCP stuffs.

Anyway, thanks everyone. I got it to work. I had already done everything everyone here suggested, so I reinstalled VPC5, and voila, everything suddenly worked fine. Sweet.

Thanks again, everyone.