PDA

View Full Version : CPU Usage: 100%


dunc85
Nov 1, 2006, 07:12 PM
Today I noticed that MR is causing the CPU usage on my Windows PC to increase a lot.

Using Firefox and having one tab open results in 40-60%, while having two tabs open with MR can cause the usage to reach 100%.

Closing the MR tabs solves the problem.

mad jew
Nov 1, 2006, 07:15 PM
Interesting... Do you notice this with other vBulletin sites? How does ol' Internet Explorer find it? (store.apple.com/)

dunc85
Nov 1, 2006, 07:25 PM
IE seems ok, and I won't go into why I'm not on my Mac right now :p

mad jew
Nov 1, 2006, 07:30 PM
Hehe, fair enough. I was just playin'. :D

How does Firefox find other vBulletin sites (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/portal.php)?

dunc85
Nov 1, 2006, 07:36 PM
They seem ok. It's very strange as I've only noticed it today - the only thing I could think of is that its affected by a banner ad. I'll check it out tomorrow when the ad should be different.

dmw007
Nov 2, 2006, 09:24 AM
Today I noticed that MR is causing the CPU usage on my Windows PC to increase a lot.

Using Firefox and having one tab open results in 40-60%, while having two tabs open with MR can cause the usage to reach 100%.

Closing the MR tabs solves the problem.


Due to MR's innate awesomeness, it is bound to use more of your cpu. ;) :D :)

Felldownthewell
Nov 2, 2006, 09:58 AM
What he hasn't mentioned is that he running on a 100mhz pentium 1. :D

dmw007
Nov 2, 2006, 11:05 AM
What he hasn't mentioned is that he running on a 100mhz pentium 1. :D


Now that would cause 100% CPU usage. :p :D :)

skoker
Nov 2, 2006, 11:34 AM
I'm noticed MR to be really slow today as well. Safari, under 10.3.9 and Safari 1.3.2 on an eMac has crashed about five or six times with MR being the only open tab.

someguy
Nov 2, 2006, 11:43 AM
Everythings normal on my system (10.4.8).

I'm using Shiira, though, if that matters.

dmw007
Nov 2, 2006, 12:53 PM
I'm noticed MR to be really slow today as well. Safari, under 10.3.9 and Safari 1.3.2 on an eMac has crashed about five or six times with MR being the only open tab.


Everything seems to okay for me. :)

Markleshark
Nov 2, 2006, 01:50 PM
My work PC has strange happenings with MR sometimes, for 2 days in a row I was getting server timeouts using the PC and it was working ok on the Mac, and then all of a sudden it worked again. :confused:

mad jew
Nov 2, 2006, 04:49 PM
If you're at work there could be a security setup that slows browsing down for you, but I can't imagine why it would effect CPU speed. Most techniques to restrict non-work internet usage would simply throttle/cease the network connection and leave the actual rendering up to the browser still.

Markleshark
Nov 3, 2006, 02:42 AM
Nah, I work at a small company (Owned by my pa-pa) and I'm pretty much the network admin, so I didn't lock myself out of MR. hehe. It was just strange, I thought 'Oh, MR must be down' checked on the Mac and all was good. Not to worry tho, it works again now.

trainguy77
Nov 7, 2006, 10:56 PM
Due to MR's innate awesomeness, it is bound to use more of your cpu. ;) :D :)

And it deserves too. :D O and by the way that CPU power is being donated to folding at home under our team. :D