PDA

View Full Version : PowerBook G4 (hi-res) 4GB RAM - possible?




krestfallen
Nov 3, 2006, 04:37 PM
Hi...

I just got a strange idea. I thought of putting 4GB RAM into my PB. Is this really possible?

Would be nice if the older PB can handle 4 gig and the MBP not ;)



jsw
Nov 3, 2006, 04:40 PM
Yes, you can put 4GB into the PB.

But it won't recognize it.

krestfallen
Nov 3, 2006, 04:41 PM
do you know what's max possible?

juribed
Jun 12, 2008, 12:13 AM
I have a Powerbook G4 1.67 Ghz, this machine use DDR2 533 SODIMM Memory. I just bought from Kingston 2 pieces of Ram Memory with 2 GB each (KVR533D2S4/2G).

If I install just one SODIMM the Powerbook recognize 2 GB on Ram. But if I install the 2 pieces of Ram Memory the Powerbook doesnt start up. Just receive a strange sound and a white led on and off.

If I install one 2 GB SODIMM with any other (512 MB or 1 GB) SODIMM I have the same. My Powerbook doesnt start up.

So I leve just one piece of SODIMM with 2 GB. Is there any way to make my powerbook to recognize 2 pieces of 2 GB ??

Regards

CanadaRAM
Jun 12, 2008, 12:26 AM
No. It is a hardware limitation of the motherboard. Never has and never will support more than 2 GB. The 1 x 2 GB SODIMM configuration I would not assume would be stable.

Shoulda checked before buying the 2 GB modules.