PDA

View Full Version : Folding 3.25 out...well kinda




MrMacMan
Apr 24, 2003, 12:27 AM
here yah go (http://folding.stanford.edu/OSX/325.html)

It *might* have some bugs and such so you might not want download untill a little later.

This acually give *gasp* gromac units which are as I hear altivec usable....

Incase I'm way off look in this thread (http://forum.folding-community.org/viewtopic.php?t=4037&start=0)

Well I'm sorta ontop of folding too much...bah, whatever. :cool:

edit: too late...



Rower_CPU
Apr 24, 2003, 12:47 AM
Interesting indeed...

I'll have to check this out at the lab tomorrow.

It will be nice to see some "free" extra output for all us Mac teams. :)

MrMacMan
Apr 24, 2003, 09:37 AM
Yes indeed, un-luckily I got a 70 point unit and I can't test this for a while... :(

Mr. Anderson
Apr 24, 2003, 09:39 AM
so when can we expect to see dual processor scripts on this?

D

Rower_CPU
Apr 24, 2003, 09:43 AM
I've told mc68k about it, so sometime in the next day or two, depending on his school work...

mc68k
Apr 24, 2003, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by dukestreet
so when can we expect to see dual processor scripts on this?

D it's a matter of changing .24 to .25 and maybe a -verbosity switch.

...and the fact that most ppl are crunching off the old ones, so i'll have to do something that wont delete everything.

i could prob get it done today provided stanford did everything right. i saw .25 last night but decided to watch a movie hours into the night instead of looking more at folding.

FelixDerKater
Apr 24, 2003, 12:36 PM
Originally posted by MrMacman
Yes indeed, un-luckily I got a 70 point unit and I can't test this for a while... :(

Same here. I looked on the points list and this WU has a 50 day return limit. :eek:

MrMacMan
Apr 24, 2003, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by FelixDerKater
Same here. I looked on the points list and this WU has a 50 day return limit. :eek:

Yeah, I was pissed because this is a new type of protein that they Just released so I don't want to dump it. :(

It has some weird long name... 'p639_L939_K12M_nat'

I'm sure it will take FOREVER! :(

mc68k
Apr 24, 2003, 12:52 PM
okay i tried it but it gives me 633 every time, which is not gromacs-- even if i specify the -advmethods. from reading the thread linked from this thread, it seems that .25 just fixes some bugs/logging issues but does not do anything with gromacs yet. :(

i guess it's going to be a few more days b4 they start distributing gromacs via -advmethods. but don't take my word for it, read the thread linked from this thread.

so it's sort of pointless for me to update anything until i actually see gromacs. the developers say they will realease a way to get gromacs every time, so be patient.

MrMacMan
Apr 24, 2003, 09:14 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
okay i tried it but it gives me 633 every time, which is not gromacs-- even if i specify the -advmethods. from reading the thread linked from this thread, it seems that .25 just fixes some bugs/logging issues but does not do anything with gromacs yet. :(

i guess it's going to be a few more days b4 they start distributing gromacs via -advmethods. but don't take my word for it, read the thread linked from this thread.

so it's sort of pointless for me to update anything until i actually see gromacs. the developers say they will realease a way to get gromacs every time, so be patient.

WHOOPS! :rolleyes:

I forgot something major didn't I...

ah ha! the new core... (http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/OSX/PowerPC/)

I *think* that the new core allows gromac units... just don't take my word on it...

Since the new core there the, 78, was given 2 days ago... I think that is the new one.

mc68k
Apr 24, 2003, 09:22 PM
wow a rare semi-useful post from mr. macman

thanks :rolleyes:

MrMacMan
Apr 24, 2003, 09:28 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
wow a rare semi-useful post from mr. macman

thanks :rolleyes:

hey, no reason to be nasty now.

Its not like I was yelling at you to update the script or something... I was giving info.

howard
Apr 24, 2003, 09:35 PM
someone speak plain english to me?...hehe

whats gromacs anyway? and basically...what am i supposed to download to make my mac fold faster?

Macs4Me
Apr 25, 2003, 10:12 AM
Originally posted by mc68k
okay i tried it but it gives me 633 every time, which is not gromacs-- even if i specify the -advmethods. from reading the thread linked from this thread, it seems that .25 just fixes some bugs/logging issues but does not do anything with gromacs yet. :(

i guess it's going to be a few more days b4 they start distributing gromacs via -advmethods. but don't take my word for it, read the thread linked from this thread.

so it's sort of pointless for me to update anything until i actually see gromacs. the developers say they will realease a way to get gromacs every time, so be patient.

Hey guys that is exactly what I got out of reading the disscussions group on the new release @ Stanford. Think they will let us test the new release for a couple of days then they will release Gromacs capability. Not sure if this will be automatic though.

Macs4Me

Stelliform
Apr 25, 2003, 03:40 PM
I am running 3.25 and the feedback is finally like the PC version. Here is an example....

[19:53:02] Version 3.8 October 2000
[19:53:02] Copyright (c) Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
[19:53:02] portions Copyright (c) Michael Shirts 2001
[19:53:02] portions Copyright (c) Vijay S Pande 2001
[20:05:16] Finished a frame (1)
[20:18:15] Finished a frame (2)
[20:30:52] Finished a frame (3)

While 12 Minutes a Frame isn't exciting, at least I now know how long a frame is taking. :)

MrMacMan
Apr 25, 2003, 04:28 PM
Originally posted by Stelliform
I am running 3.25 and the feedback is finally like the PC version. Here is an example....

[19:53:02] Version 3.8 October 2000
[19:53:02] Copyright (c) Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
[19:53:02] portions Copyright (c) Michael Shirts 2001
[19:53:02] portions Copyright (c) Vijay S Pande 2001
[20:05:16] Finished a frame (1)
[20:18:15] Finished a frame (2)
[20:30:52] Finished a frame (3)

While 12 Minutes a Frame isn't exciting, at least I now know how long a frame is taking. :)

ha, for me it is like 1 hour - 2 frames, god damn 70 pointers.

me hate windows
Apr 25, 2003, 04:29 PM
i use the text client, but I dont know how to do the advanced gizmos. How do you get into the -advmethods stuff? and what can you change in it? And do I need that new core to use Gromacs? Which one do you download



Sorry for being stupid.

sparkleytone
Apr 25, 2003, 06:05 PM
'is this going to work with the screensaver?' is my question. i just don't like running the background CLI client. the screensaver is much better for me, so its only running when i'm not there. i installed the 3.25 screensaver, is there more i should do?

mc68k
Apr 25, 2003, 06:24 PM
Originally posted by me hate windows
i use the text client, but I dont know how to do the advanced gizmos. How do you get into the -advmethods stuff? and what can you change in it? And do I need that new core to use Gromacs? Which one do you downloadfor me -advmethods has not worked. i tried it with the core78 in my folder and i tried it without, but every time it's like i didn't even use it.

Folding@home Version 3.25
Usage: OSX-3.25 [-mode]

modes:
-config Configure user information
-queueinfo Get information on queued work units
-delete x Delete item #x from work queue
-send x Send result #x to server. Use x=all to send all results
-verbosity x Sets the output level, from 1 to 9 (max). The default is 3
-pause Pause after finishing & trying to send current unit
-forceasm Force core assembly optimizations to be used if available
-advmethods Use new advanced scientific menthods (beta)
-local will use the current directory for the data files.

mc68k
Apr 25, 2003, 06:26 PM
Originally posted by sparkleytone
'is this going to work with the screensaver?' is my question. i just don't like running the background CLI client. the screensaver is much better for me, so its only running when i'm not there. i installed the 3.25 screensaver, is there more i should do? no you're all set. as far as using the new core, that won't happen as it's still in beta and has to be induced with -advmethods. i don't think the screensaver wil do this by default, so you'll just have to wait til the new core goes into full rotation.

evoluzione
Apr 25, 2003, 06:31 PM
ok, i'm kinda lost here. i was all happy with meself as i finally joined you guys in the folding thing. i just installed 4 brand spanking new 1.42DP macs at work (i love my job :) ) and thought that they'd help in the folding, so i saw the new release and downloaded it, but now i'm thinking it wasn't worth it??? :confused:

mc68k
Apr 25, 2003, 06:38 PM
Hi,
Gro units are trickling out on advanced methods -- if you have the -advmethods flag there's a chance you may get one on an assignment today. Next week, we'll set it up so that all assignments to people using -advmethods flag will be Gro.
Thanks,
Guhaso be patient. i don't want to release scripts that might have issues that i couldn't test for.

evoluzione: it's not like 3.25 does much different from 3.24 at this point, so u can still help the team by running non-gromacs 3.24 or 3.25.

evoluzione
Apr 25, 2003, 06:41 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
evoluzione: it's not like 3.25 does much different from 3.24 at this point, so u can still help the team by running non-gromacs 3.24 or 3.25.


sweet, now all i gotta do is figure out what the hell everyone just said in this thread :D

MrMacMan
Apr 25, 2003, 06:44 PM
Originally posted by evoluzione
sweet, now all i gotta do is figure out what the hell everyone just said in this thread :D

Just wait a week to see if there are some gaping (which their shouldn't be) errors or glitches.

Basically they fixed time stamping and added gromac.

sparkleytone
Apr 25, 2003, 08:54 PM
well...it seems that i am finishing a frame every 18 minutes when the screensaver is on. am i to assume that when the new fah core is ready the screensaver will automatically download and use it?? i tried replacing the 65 core with the 78 core but it just redownloaded the 65. what the deal?

mc68k
Apr 25, 2003, 09:19 PM
Originally posted by sparkleytone
well...it seems that i am finishing a frame every 18 minutes when the screensaver is on. am i to assume that when the new fah core is ready the screensaver will automatically download and use it?? i tried replacing the 65 core with the 78 core but it just redownloaded the 65. what the deal? right now the servers can give out the new stuff, but they aren't from my experiences.

you might be able to fool around with it in this manner from the terminal:
open [pathname to screensaver] -advmethods
regular rotation of gromacs starts next week, so i can't really help much until i can get a definite DL of gromacs every time. i tried a lot of different things with the 78 core, but F@H ignored it. i think the decision is more on the server side at this point. :(

mc68k
Apr 28, 2003, 01:58 PM
okay, my comp DLed the new core and protein, so i'll start working on something new.

MrMacMan
Apr 28, 2003, 04:34 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
okay, my comp DLed the new core and protein, so i'll start working on something new.

ohhh ohh, what protien and did I get you the right core?

mc68k
Apr 28, 2003, 05:23 PM
p907_villin_fo

it downloaded core_78 for me. thanks for the link to the cores.

MrMacMan
Apr 28, 2003, 06:29 PM
Originally posted by mc68k
p907_villin_fo

it downloaded core_78 for me. thanks for the link to the cores.

ah, no prob. :D
Does it look like there is speed increase, moving faster, etc?

I mean besides that it is a really small unit and all...