PDA

View Full Version : final cut pro on iMac g5




armonu
Nov 26, 2006, 07:18 AM
is it possible to work with final cut pro on iMac g5 2.0 ghz 128mb video
i going to buy that,and don't know if it's worth!!!
could somebody help me?? :confused:



JohnMC
Nov 26, 2006, 07:59 AM
It should work fine, I ran FCP 4.5 on an iMac G5 1.8GHz Rev. A and it worked well. It will not be as fast as a new iMac but it'll get the job done.
Can I ask what type of work you'll be doing on FCP and what version you plan on using?

JohnMC

armonu
Nov 26, 2006, 01:31 PM
i'm not sure i'm going to use fcp!! some work with editing videos! some short movies! in one studio of art(theater)

SMM
Nov 26, 2006, 01:39 PM
I have ran FCP on a 17" 1.5 G4 Powerbook. Not the way I would want to earn a living, but it worked well enough to do editing. You will obviously take a hit when compressing and rendering. Overall, it will work well enough to produce a fine product.

FF_productions
Nov 26, 2006, 01:59 PM
Works just fine no worries, storage becomes a problem. You can't add additional hard drives internally, you have to get external firewire hard drives if you need more space.

The iMac G5 is fine for FCP.

armonu
Nov 26, 2006, 03:08 PM
i think it should be fine with a space! 250gb
it's used and quite cheap!

R.R.Mac
Nov 26, 2006, 03:26 PM
i believe that it will work:D