PDA

View Full Version : trouble installing photoshop




cnmcgraw
Dec 4, 2006, 01:19 PM
I have a MacBook that I'm trying to install Photoshop 4.0 on but I keep getting an error at the "finishing installation" step. It says "An error occurred during the installation process: a required file is missing."

I logged out/back in as administrator and repaired disk permission but I thinking this has to do with the way my hard drive is formatted from the switch from my Powerbook. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.



tobefirst
Dec 4, 2006, 01:29 PM
I'm pretty sure you won't be able to install Photoshop 4.0 on a Macbook, as it would require a previous version of the OS...

Perhaps you're talking about Photoshop ELEMENTS?

cnmcgraw
Dec 4, 2006, 02:26 PM
I'm pretty sure you won't be able to install Photoshop 4.0 on a Macbook, as it would require a previous version of the OS...

Perhaps you're talking about Photoshop ELEMENTS?

yeah, sorry, it is Elements

Macky-Mac
Dec 4, 2006, 05:27 PM
are you installing an upgrade version onto a computer that doesn't already have the previous version installed?

cnmcgraw
Dec 4, 2006, 06:04 PM
are you installing an upgrade version onto a computer that doesn't already have the previous version installed?

Nope, this is the first time I'm installing any Photoshop software

Macky-Mac
Dec 4, 2006, 10:46 PM
Nope, this is the first time I'm installing any Photoshop software

yeah, that's what I figured.....but are you sure that you aren't using an upgrade installer disk instead of a full retail install disk? Photoshop, and I would guess Elements might do the same, installs some helper files in a different location than the applications folder so if you just run an upgrade installer, or try copying the program over from another computer, it wont find the helper files and that might be what's causing your problems.........or not :)

cnmcgraw
Dec 5, 2006, 12:03 AM
yeah, that's what I figured.....but are you sure that you aren't using an upgrade installer disk instead of a full retail install disk? Photoshop, and I would guess Elements might do the same, installs some helper files in a different location than the applications folder so if you just run an upgrade installer, or try copying the program over from another computer, it wont find the helper files and that might be what's causing your problems.........or not :)

hmmm...it is the full retail version. I'll just try playing with it more :rolleyes:

Thank you for responding anyways :)

Chappers
Dec 5, 2006, 09:17 AM
Is the disc clean - I have had problems in the past installing from dirty discs.

cnmcgraw
Dec 5, 2006, 10:26 AM
Is the disc clean - I have had problems in the past installing from dirty discs.

I think so, I'll try cleaning it though. It's been a headache, but if it's just a dirty disk I'll be a happy camper :p