PDA

View Full Version : Aperture 1.5.2 and Airport Update 2006-002




MacRumors
Dec 14, 2006, 12:58 PM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2006/12/14/aperture-1-5-2-and-airport-update-2006-002/)


Over the past few days, Apple has released updates to Aperture and Airport.

Aperture 1.5.2 (http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/aperture152update.html)

Aperture 1.5.2 addresses issues related to overall reliability and performance in a number of areas, including:

- Contact sheet printing
- Smart Albums
- Watermarks
- Lift and stamp
- Image export
- Versions created using an external editor

This update is recommended for all Aperture users.

Airport Update 2006-002 (http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/airportupdate2006002.html)

AirPort Update 2006-002 improves AirPort compatibility in the following computers:

- MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
- MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
- MacBook (13-inch Core 2 Duo)

Article Link: Aperture 1.5.2 and Airport Update 2006-002 (http://www.macrumors.com/2006/12/14/aperture-1-5-2-and-airport-update-2006-002/)



ravenvii
Dec 14, 2006, 01:04 PM
No updates for older hardware? What exactly does the AirPort update fix?

nitynate
Dec 14, 2006, 01:13 PM
Nothin' for me....

geerlingguy
Dec 14, 2006, 01:14 PM
Couldn't incremental updates / small bugfixes be relegated to page 2 news? I think page 1 should be reserved for biggies... like big rumors, product announcements, and major updates (like Aperture 2 or Photoshop CS3).

BWhaler
Dec 14, 2006, 01:24 PM
I was hoping the airport update fixed the problems with airport in my office, but alas it dropped a connection an hour ago.

Perhaps the airport sucks? Is anyone else having problems with them?

chaslam
Dec 14, 2006, 01:25 PM
I hope this fixes the airport signal dropping issues ive been having on my MBP C2D. Ill keep you posted on whether its made a difference.

runplaysleeprun
Dec 14, 2006, 01:26 PM
- MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
- MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
- MacBook (13-inch Core 2 Duo)

Were these the computers that had the N-capable cards in them?

DSchwartz88
Dec 14, 2006, 01:31 PM
Were these the computers that had the N-capable cards in them?

Beat me to it. But its also C2D iMac's. I got this update, but have no N points around me i can check, if anyone has any they can check let us know

netdog
Dec 14, 2006, 01:35 PM
Beat me to it. But its also C2D iMac's. I got this update, but have no N points around me i can check, if anyone has any they can check let us know

No, N has been around longer then that in Macs (though not supported or documented). I believe that Windows reports that MacBooks were the first to ship with an N chipset, and the iMac C2Ds certainly shipped with them. I think this has nothng to do with N support, something I expect that we will see unleashed at MacWorld with iTV and maybe even Leopard.

bdkennedy1
Dec 14, 2006, 01:36 PM
Ummmm. Where the hell have you guys been again? Apple released this on Monday.

SMM
Dec 14, 2006, 01:42 PM
I was hoping the airport update fixed the problems with airport in my office, but alas it dropped a connection an hour ago.

Perhaps the airport sucks? Is anyone else having problems with them?

No problems for my company. :)

daveL
Dec 14, 2006, 01:46 PM
Even before this update, I hadn't had any issues with wifi performance on my 17" C2D MBP. Just yesterday I connected, and stayed connected, to 3 different (completely different) wifi locations.

wildmac
Dec 14, 2006, 01:48 PM
Couldn't incremental updates / small bugfixes be relegated to page 2 news? I think page 1 should be reserved for biggies... like big rumors, product announcements, and major updates (like Aperture 2 or Photoshop CS3).

That would mean 1 news item a week.

Just because it doesn't help your old computer....

koobcamuk
Dec 14, 2006, 01:58 PM
Ummmm. Where the hell have you guys been again? Apple released this on Monday.

That's what I was thinking!

daneoni
Dec 14, 2006, 01:59 PM
Submitted the Airport story yesterday but its nowhere to be found BUT yeah......updates yesterday. Yesterdays news today.

CHINAdeals
Dec 14, 2006, 02:14 PM
they NEED to get one for macbooks!

my airport is sooo messed.

disc. way too often (and its not the network!) pc laptop running fine right beside mines :(

randomlinh
Dec 14, 2006, 02:15 PM
did anyone's apeture suddenly get a billion duplicates in their keywords? I have no idea how to fix this... I have duplicates, and they seem to be assigned to different pictures :(

MarkF786
Dec 14, 2006, 02:27 PM
Could Apple be any more vague about what the Airport Update fixes? They should include some text detailing the specific issues addressed. This is standard practice with any other manufacturer. Sheesh.

mark

Westside guy
Dec 14, 2006, 02:42 PM
I've had zero problems with my Airport wireless, both prior to and after the update. It does sound like the new cards may have some compatibility issues with some particular base stations, though. I'd be curious to hear what model base station(s) (if known) are involved, from the people experiencing the problems.

Could Apple be any more vague about what the Airport Update fixes? They should include some text detailing the specific issues addressed. This is standard practice with any other manufacturer.


Actually in my experience what you're describing is quite rare; and I end up dealing with a wide variety of hardware directly and indirectly. What really bugs me is when companies like MS will provide what looks like a detailed list of fixes, which end up having been heavily massaged to the point of obfuscating any real information.

I agree with the sentiment though - I wish it were standard practice for all companies, including Apple, to provide accurate and detailed information regarding their patches.

Doctor Q
Dec 14, 2006, 03:02 PM
Thread cross-reference: Anyone download the new Airport update yet?

wmmk
Dec 14, 2006, 03:43 PM
No updates for older hardware? What exactly does the AirPort update fix?

i'm thinking this could be 802.11n related, but i could be wrong.

scubastevegk
Dec 14, 2006, 03:47 PM
This update appears to have fixed the hidden SSID issue I was having on my 15" C2D MBP. Every time I rebooted, shut down, or put the laptop to sleep, it would not rejoin any wireless network with a hidden SSID, but the passwords were still saved in the Keychain. Seems to be working now!

SiliconAddict
Dec 14, 2006, 03:51 PM
No updates for older hardware? What exactly does the AirPort update fix?

My guess is drivers for the pre N chips in the C2's. The Core Duos have straight up .11G The WIFI hardware is pre N in the C2's. While they arenít going to be showing up as N hardware in OS X anytime soon its probably just better compatibility with OS X more then anything else.

SiliconAddict
Dec 14, 2006, 04:01 PM
Actually in my experience what you're describing is quite rare; and I end up dealing with a wide variety of hardware directly and indirectly. What really bugs me is when companies like MS will provide what looks like a detailed list of fixes, which end up having been heavily massaged to the point of obfuscating any real information.

I agree with the sentiment though - I wish it were standard practice for all companies, including Apple, to provide accurate and detailed information regarding their patches.


Not really.

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/support/default.mspx
\/
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/ms06-dec.mspx
\/
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/Bulletin/MS06-072.mspx

MS's website is insanely detailed as long as you know where to look.

geerlingguy
Dec 14, 2006, 04:02 PM
That would mean 1 news item a week.

Just because it doesn't help your old computer....

Perhaps... but stories like this don't make me excited to be a MacRumers.com RSS feed subscriber. I get excited there's a new story, only to find it's the same boring story I've seen on other Mac sites earlier, and already downloaded via Software Update.

dr_fate
Dec 14, 2006, 04:55 PM
I haven't had any airport problems with my Macbook C2D, I installed the update last night, though, and since then my internet connection has twice stopped on me and next to airport in the taskbar it says "looking for PPPoe connection" or something similar. Bad sign? :( Why can't I ever practice the addage: "If it ain't broke, don't fix it."

owaters
Dec 14, 2006, 05:01 PM
I think this update fixes issues with the new MacBook Pro's which was causing a kernal panic when detecting a signal of specific 'incompatible' wireless networks. We had to change our wireless router to fix this problem ourselves a week ago.

TMNT
Dec 14, 2006, 05:21 PM
C2D Macbook

pre-update: worked great
post-update: speed was very slow; could not connect to iTunes Radio; weird problems in Firefox; showed full signal strength

I found the package file in Receipts and trashed it. Now everything seems to work great again. I'm not sure if that was a real fix or just dumb luck or coincidence since I'm new to Macs.

keigo
Dec 14, 2006, 07:53 PM
for me..my airport sometime just die for no reason after wake up from sleep and i need to disable it and enable it again to get signal again. And sometime worst I try enable and disable and can't even get any connection. But it work fine again after a reboot.

I have a old 12" PB G4 sitting beside my MBP 17" C2D and the old PB airport show full bar while my MBP airport signal just go up and down :mad: .

mkjellman
Dec 14, 2006, 08:39 PM
TMNT- just removing the recept won't make any change. all removing the recept will do is if you were to reinstall the file it would try to install instead of upgrade.....

i have a core 2 duo macbook fully loaded....i was having some airport issues where it would go completely away and then back to 5 bars. i hope this fixes that.....but it wasn't a big issue. so idk....

SiliconAddict
Dec 14, 2006, 11:39 PM
Huh....Odd. I have a MBP Core 2. Ran Software Update and natta. The Update isn't listed in installed updates either. :confused:

japanime
Dec 15, 2006, 03:16 AM
Just got around to installing this myself.

Safari seems snappier.

;)

Willis
Dec 15, 2006, 06:58 AM
Just got around to installing this myself.

Safari seems snappier.

;)

Well at least it made the second page! lol

Hmm, I dont know if to bother updating since my airport is working fine. Although, its a bit sluggish at picking up a signal when waking up from a sleep. Our PB gets an instant signal and IP within opening the lid.. this take about 6 seconds *shakes fist*

otherwise it works fine...

Huh....Odd. I have a MBP Core 2. Ran Software Update and natta. The Update isn't listed in installed updates either. :confused:

System Requirements
— Mac OS X 10.4.8 or later
— MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
— MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
— MacBook (13-inch Core 2 Duo)

Just incase you dont have 10.4.8 ;)

thewhitehart
Dec 15, 2006, 07:10 AM
With all the thoroughly documented airport problems people have been having with intel core duo macs, I'm surprised this update doesn't address that. My airport constantly assigns itself its own IP, goes on and off, doesn't auto-connect after wake up or power on, and sometimes the networks disappear completely and my 17" core duo imac has to be shut off and then on. Apple's solution of deleting and re-adding preferred networks is useless, and none of the recommendations of others have worked either. I'm at my wits end - I can only connect via airport, and my imac has turned into a brick, albeit a very sleek and suave brick.

What the **** is wrong with you, Apple? (http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=735553&tstart=0) :mad:

keigo
Dec 17, 2006, 09:02 PM
Well since my MBP is less then 1 month old and nothing much in it. Last Sat night I mess up my OS X and I decide to do a fresh installation again. After done with the new installation, surprising my air port issue is resolve.

I think somehow the old OS X got mess up... now my airport work almost perfect expect sometime when I wake up from sleep it can't find the hidden SSID even I use perfer SSID option and can't join the network even I do a manual connection. So what I have to do is just disable and enable back the airport and it join the network with no problem.