PDA

View Full Version : Mac Mini to HDTV




roland.g
Dec 15, 2006, 09:01 AM
I need to hook up a Mac Mini next week to a Sony Plasma HDTV.

I can't use the HDMI or DVI input per Sony. They say it doesn't support a computer. The input isn't on the tv, but rather a Sony HDTV Sat Receiver/Tuner that feeds everything to the wall mounted panel.

I then am looking at either RCA/S-Video or Component. I had heard that you could hook up a Mini via DVI to Component Converter/Cable from Radio Shack but have been unable to find that. Can only find VGA to Component converter boxes and cables.

Don't know if I need a VGA to Component converter box (http://www.smarthome.com/777060.html) or cable (http://www.smarthome.com/97350.html). I know Apple also sells a DVI to RCA/S-Video adapter, though I have heard mixed reviews and that it only supports 480 on the tv. I would like to get 1920x1080 on the tv. It's a 42".

Anyone done this? Know what I need and where to get it? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.



MacBoobsPro
Dec 15, 2006, 09:18 AM
I need to hook up a Mac Mini next week to a Sony Plasma HDTV.

I can't use the HDMI or DVI input per Sony. They say it doesn't support a computer. The input isn't on the tv, but rather a Sony HDTV Sat Receiver/Tuner that feeds everything to the wall mounted panel.

I then am looking at either RCA/S-Video or Component. I had heard that you could hook up a Mini via DVI to Component Converter/Cable from Radio Shack but have been unable to find that. Can only find VGA to Component converter boxes and cables.

Don't know if I need a VGA to Component converter box (http://www.smarthome.com/777060.html) or cable (http://www.smarthome.com/97350.html). I know Apple also sells a DVI to RCA/S-Video adapter, though I have heard mixed reviews and that it only supports 480 on the tv. I would like to get 1920x1080 on the tv. It's a 42".

Anyone done this? Know what I need and where to get it? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.

I asked this same question the other day and never got a reply :( hopefully we will get answer this time. I have an LG 42" Plasma and I am interested in hooking up my MB.

Adamo
Dec 15, 2006, 01:02 PM
I'd say plug in the DVI > VGA adapter, then a VGA > component converter, should cost less than $40.

roland.g
Dec 15, 2006, 01:06 PM
I'd say plug in the DVI > VGA adapter, then a VGA > component converter, should cost less than $40.

A Cable or Converter Box?

The cables run $15, whereas the boxes I've seen for $85-$120.

Mord
Dec 15, 2006, 01:32 PM
I'd give the DVI-HDMI cable a go, sony is probably saying windows will not run with it, OS X might.

also, check what res the TV is natively and make the mini run that res, if it's a true 1080p panel then run that, but if it's 720p (more likely) run that that res as things will be sharper

mkrishnan
Dec 15, 2006, 01:46 PM
I'd give the DVI-HDMI cable a go, sony is probably saying windows will not run with it, OS X might.

Most likely what they mean is that it'll require some weird sync / res combination. You can probably use switchresx to get what you need once you have it plugged in....

And yes, I do have to note, it's like half of MR (including moi) bought LCD or Plasma TVs this season... there have been about 10 of these threads in the last month!

esaleris
Dec 15, 2006, 01:48 PM
I'd give the DVI-HDMI cable a go, sony is probably saying windows will not run with it, OS X might.

also, check what res the TV is natively and make the mini run that res, if it's a true 1080p panel then run that, but if it's 720p (more likely) run that that res as things will be sharper

I'm thinking the same as Mord. Give it a shot. I don't think it's a Mac or PC issue, since the HDTV would never know the difference. In fact, the HDMI standard is backwards compatible with DVI.

roland.g
Dec 15, 2006, 02:56 PM
I'd give the DVI-HDMI cable a go, sony is probably saying windows will not run with it, OS X might.

also, check what res the TV is natively and make the mini run that res, if it's a true 1080p panel then run that, but if it's 720p (more likely) run that that res as things will be sharper

Most likely what they mean is that it'll require some weird sync / res combination. You can probably use switchresx to get what you need once you have it plugged in....

And yes, I do have to note, it's like half of MR (including moi) bought LCD or Plasma TVs this season... there have been about 10 of these threads in the last month!

I'm thinking the same as Mord. Give it a shot. I don't think it's a Mac or PC issue, since the HDTV would never know the difference. In fact, the HDMI standard is backwards compatible with DVI.

I'll have to give switchresx a shot if needed. It is a 3 year old (maybe 4) Sony Plasma. It uses a black cable and a white cable from the Tuner to the TV. And it uses a DVI-DVI (I think) cable from the Sony SatHD300 rec'vr to the Tuner. There are no inputs on the Sat rec'vr other than the Coax's for the DirecTV signal (I'm pretty sure) and the Tuner has 1 DVI input and 2 Component inputs. The DVI is in use by the SAT rec'vr, so I think I'm stuck using the Component, just not sure if the VGA->Component Cable will work or if I need a Converter Box to do it. It's my dad's tv and he'll be buying the Mini off me in the spring, so we just want to check that it works first. Last time I had a look at the tv was in October when I went to visit.

mkrishnan
Dec 15, 2006, 03:00 PM
Wait, so I'm sorry, I saw and glossed over the DVI-in-use issue. Is a DVI switchbox also an option? They shouldn't be too too expensive....

crypto
Dec 15, 2006, 10:59 PM
I am trying to do the same thing, hooking a mac mini up to a sony LCD, the KDL46XBR2. I actually bought a DVI to HDMI adapter and a HDMI cable. But the signal is showing up black, or no signal. However, I can use the DVI to VGA adapter that came with the Mini Mac, and connect via a VGA cable to the flatscreen. But I want to have a digital connection. Is it really the Sony TV that is rejecting the HDMI signal from the Mac?

Thanks!!

Flynnstone
Jan 30, 2007, 10:48 PM
See also the discussion Mac Mini And HDTV.

I had same black screen problem using DVI to HDMI from mini to Sony LCOS RPTV. But some times I get a good screen. Not sure if the mini has weak outputs or the Sony is the problem.