PDA

View Full Version : Swapping the CD-RW for a SuperDrive in an eMac


davy the bunny
May 6, 2003, 01:30 PM
So here's my question. . .

I currently have an eMac, I think it's from the first edition at 700 Mhz and it has the CD-RW drive. That's my problem, I want to replace the drive. I can get my hands on a Panasonic A05 drive easy enough and I know that this works for PowerMacs. Does anyone here know of anyone who has tried this manuever or have they done it themselves?

I've opened up my eMac a couple of times so I think I know my way around doing this but does anyone think that it will work?

And no I don't care about voiding any warranties or AppleCare or anything.

ansdguy
Apr 1, 2005, 06:25 PM
Hi, Today I did just the swap your thinking about. I installed a Pioneer P109. If you Google "Replacing an eMac optical drive", the first link will have instructions to do the job. I can play a CD, but can't get iDVD to recognize the superdrive. The instruction refer to "Private Frameworks" to solve this issue. I have been unable to make this work, so far. I'm here to find a solution if possible. Good luck! :)

iGary
Apr 1, 2005, 06:30 PM
www.macssales.com probably even has a QT video showing the whole procedure.

ansdguy
Apr 1, 2005, 08:17 PM
I tried macsales (one- s) but no luck, however they do have a required patch for Mac application. LOL :cool:

ansdguy
Apr 1, 2005, 08:21 PM
You will need to trim of about 1/8 th of an inch of the bottom of the drawer front. It lifts off easily. If you don't, the drawer will catch on the door on closing. I used 2 grits of sandpaper. The drive you remove will have been trimmed, so you can see how much is required. :cool:

Artful Dodger
Apr 2, 2005, 08:57 AM
hi, you may also try using Patchburn III to help with iDVD as a friend replaced his with a new DVD drive and it works fine.

Jigglelicious
Apr 2, 2005, 09:55 AM
I replaced the CD-ROM drive that came in my eMac with an NEC DVD-RW drive, and it works perfectly.

neilterri
Apr 2, 2005, 08:13 PM
I installed a Pioneer 109 in my eMac 700 3 weeks ago.Patchburn worked fine, but I couldn't play DVD's. I had to run the Panther CD's to install IDVD. Works fine now.Last week I replaced the orig.HD with a WesternDigital 250Gig. I put it in an ext.FireWire enclosureand ran CCC- works fine. . .

ansdguy
Apr 9, 2005, 12:21 AM
I'm thinking that my 700 mhz eMac is too early a model and just doesn't have the required extension for the DVD player. (I looked for it) I can use Toast to successfully for copying although I haven't tried to burn one yet. I have to buy some DVD-Rs I just can't watch pre recorded movies. This may be a fatal flaw with my plan :(

ansdguy
Apr 14, 2005, 01:36 PM
Thanks folks, I installed Patchburn3 and DVD player, but no luck so far. I found out yesterday that my son installed a superdrive in his G4 Power Mac and is having the same problem. Funny coincidence, not a funny problem! :confused: