Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nms

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2004
London
Right, it's yet another idiot (me) trying to find a new camera.

Trouble is, i don't really know what i want.

I've been everywhere. dpreview.com was one of my fave sites to check.

I have a Sony DSC-T1, and i hate it. I bought it for its size and screen size, but it takes quite a long time to actually take a picture, and the quality seems sort of....sub-par.

I did want that new snazzy samsung OPS camera, because it looked very, very nice ad seemed like the perfect successor - i want to start taking more photos. However, i saw some bad reviews of it, and i got put off.

I'm a student, but i dont really have a budget as such. And i really like the look of DSLRs, they look like "proper" cameras, i like manual focus, with the focussing ring....but theyre huge! And i'm a big fan of LCD screens, and most DSLRs dont have very big screens.

So it's the size of the cameras that puts me off, i want to take my camera everywhere with me. I did see the samsung pro815, it seemed to have a large screen, but it's quite old. Also, the new panasonic lumixe seem to be good, with their huge screen, but i've heard the Venus III engine is terrible and noisy.

Well, i've rambled quite a lot, and i'd appreciate some help with finding a new camera - everyone seems so friendly here, but i assume no-one wants another "i cant find a camera" thread that bores you to death. And i'm probably too specific. But i'm happy to answer further questions anyone might have if they wish to help, and thanks in advance!

coldrain

macrumors regular
Dec 20, 2006
You really are not saying what you want... so advicing is a bit hard.