Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
This is probably old for most people...but im new to it so here it goes...

Im really interested in hacking into osx. I found out about http://www.missingmanuals.com that deals with doing this sort of stuff. I went there to look for Tinker Tool. I got it. So now Im suppose to be able to make my doc background transparent right? Well I cant find that option anywhere with tiner tool. Where is it at? If it does have that option. I really want to do this without unix code..root user. If there is no other way other than enabling root ...then how does one do it succesfully ..step by step...with root?

Also... One is suppose to be able to change up the apperance of the dock backround to whatever picture you like ...by booting up in os9...bringing up photoshop...>file->open system->library->coreservices->dock.app->contents->resources.... then go to the folder of mac osx and open ....then you bring up...middle.pdf in photoshop and manipulating it there.

however when i try that i cant even get into dock.app....since it is not an 0s9 file or whatever....how the hell am i suppose to do this? i cant do it in osx because it does not allow you to do it for some reason...or is there another way?

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city
im sorry.... how can you make that dock background...simply disappear? i saw the dock this way on the screensavers show on tech tv.

but man im really trying to figure out this dock thing about changing the whole dock background to another image.

this is cool.

irmongoose

macrumors 68030
hey! this is pretty cool!!

i took a screenshot...

irmongoose

Attachments

• mongoosetransdock.jpg
    mongoosetransdock.jpg
    10.9 KB · Views: 425

krossfyter

macrumors 601
Original poster
Jan 13, 2002
secret city