PDA

View Full Version : Front row on a PPC Mac Mini 1.5ghz?




California
Dec 30, 2006, 04:02 PM
Is there any way to put front row on a PPC Mac Mini 1.5ghz?



adrianblaine
Dec 30, 2006, 04:04 PM
People were putting it on their G4 iBooks. I'm sure you can find how they did it by searching for it.

http://www.macrumors.com/pages/2005/10/20051025161749.shtml

zflauaus
Dec 30, 2006, 04:09 PM
Wirelessly posted (Moto E815: MOT-8720_/00.62 UP.Browser/6.2.3.4.c.1.104 (GUI) MMP/2.0)

If you have 10.4.8, it won't work. I think it might possibly hose your Mac too.

Copland
Dec 30, 2006, 04:30 PM
If I remember correctly, when Steve-all-mighty-Jobs showed off leopard, he said that it would include 'The Whole Package' of PhotoBooth and FrontRow. So, once leopard comes out, you should be able to press [apple, esc] and have it open up.

Sorry about having to wait, though!:o There might be a faster way.

California
Dec 30, 2006, 04:58 PM
Hey, that's great news about Leopard --

and I have actually resisted 10.4.8 on both my 12" PB 1.5ghz and the mini 1.5ghz PPC -- running 10.2 and 10.7 respectively -- because of the constant fan issues.

speakerwizard
Dec 30, 2006, 05:26 PM
ive had it running on g4 machines but its far too much effort, every os and itunes update mean you have to reactivate it and its just too much trouble, buy an alternative, theres a few out there.

ReanimationLP
Dec 30, 2006, 09:33 PM
I have Front Row running on my iBook in my sig, so obviously a G4 isnt required. Just something with Quartz Extreme.

California
Dec 31, 2006, 06:11 PM
I have Front Row running on my iBook in my sig, so obviously a G4 isnt required. Just something with Quartz Extreme.

What exactly is quartz extreme, Re-LP? Is it on all G3 ibooks (like the 500mhz?)

Sounds like I need to wait for Leopard? But I heard leopard won't support G3s?

4JNA
Dec 31, 2006, 06:34 PM
easy to check for quartz extreme support -- open system profiler, look under hardware, graphics/display, and it will show supported or not.