PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Garageband volume settings




doomedyouth
Jan 13, 2007, 10:57 AM
I'm using Garageband to mix music for a four hour party. I just want to fade the songs in and out so that the music flows continuously. So each song is a different track and I've been adjusting the volume for each individual track. For example, at the end of one song, I bring the volume down while the next song is comig in. Which works fine for 20 minutes (about 500 measures), but if I try to adjust the volume of a track after that, I'm unable to move the points on the volume bar. It's like suddenly I no longer have that function. Does anyone have any idea what's going on?



zimv20
Jan 13, 2007, 12:56 PM
why not use itunes for playback?

even if the crossfade doesn't work for you as the fade in / fade out, you can do your volume adjustments in GB on a per song basis, then use itunes for party playback.

Flowbee
Jan 13, 2007, 01:07 PM
Here's a link that may help:
>> Extend GarageBand's recording limit to 3 hours (http://www.podcastalley.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-122061.html)

doomedyouth
Jan 15, 2007, 12:14 PM
Thanks for the suggestions. Even after extending the recording limit though, I still wasn't able to adjust the volume settings past about 35 minutes. What I ended up doing was several 30 minute mixes, which worked ok.

The link you sent Flowbee said the 2.0 version had fixed this problem. I tried to install it but "An eligible GarageBand application was not found in /Applications." I have Garageband and it's in Applications, so I'm not sure what the problem is.