PDA

View Full Version : Hooking up multiple items to my home theater system




JW008
Jan 15, 2007, 02:48 PM
Hi everyone, I'm not entirely sure if this is where I need to post this, but I had an audio question and was hoping someone could help.

I have a cheap-o (Insignia from Best Buy) 6.1 home-theater DVD system which more than suits my needs as far as sound quality goes. I run my HD/DVR receiver and Wii through the system, but have to unplug and replug the red/white cables for each system every time I switch from watching TV to playing Wii.

Is there splitter (?) I can buy to where I can plug in both the Wii and the receiver into a system and then plug that system into my home-theater system?

I have an HP 42" Plasma television. Is there anyway I can plug the audio into it and then hook up the home theater system directly to the TV?

Thanks for your all's help!



Cooknn
Jan 15, 2007, 03:18 PM
I have a cheap-o (Insignia from Best Buy) 6.1 home-theater DVD system which more than suits my needs as far as sound quality goes. I run my HD/DVR receiver and Wii through the system, but have to unplug and replug the red/white cables for each system every time I switch from watching TV to playing Wii
Use optical between your HD/DVR and your 6.1 receiver.

balamw
Jan 15, 2007, 03:22 PM
Does the TV have an Audio out connector? Some do, that will allow you to hook up all the devices to the TV and tell the TV to send all its audio to the receiver. (Preferably by optical).

B

JW008
Jan 15, 2007, 03:24 PM
Thanks for the title change--more accurately reflects what I'm asking!

I'm pretty much an idiot when it comes to this stuff. What do you mean by "optical?" Do you have a link to Best Buy/Wal-Mart etc? Thanks so much for your help.

balamw
Jan 15, 2007, 03:26 PM
Can you tell us the model # of your display.

B

JW008
Jan 15, 2007, 03:30 PM
The TV? HP PL5060N

The 6.1 system is Insignia it's a 5-Disc changer...that's all I know about it. :)

JW008
Jan 15, 2007, 03:36 PM
BalamW--just saw your post. The TV DOES have a Digital Audio out.

JW008
Jan 15, 2007, 04:05 PM
All right. I have a "Digital Coaxial Out" and a "Digital Coaxial In" on my 6.1 system and a "Digital Audio Out" on my TV. (Those are the exact names as labeled on the respective systems)

If I buy a digital coaxial cable from Best Buy, I run the cable between the "Digital Audio Out" on my TV and the "Digital Coaxial In" on my 6.1 system and then plug all the left/right audio into the TV. That should be the solution to my problem?

balamw
Jan 15, 2007, 04:22 PM
Should do unless the TV only forwards digital audio in to the digital audio out. (i.e it doesn't have an ADC on the analog inputs.)

EDIT: Confirmed. http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c00633133.pdf

See the section on Connecting an External Audio System ...

You'll need to hook up both the digital and analog audio outputs to your receiver.

B

JW008
Jan 15, 2007, 04:46 PM
Thanks so much, I really appreciate your time.