Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KooBrewoP

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 19, 2004
behind you!
Ok, im new to D&D, and want some sort of information / organization app, something to calculate hits, saves, looking up class stats, keeping track of leveling exp etc. So far all i have found is a few dice rolling widgets, anyone got any recommendations?

Fezwick

macrumors 6502
Oct 5, 2002
Rhode Island
Ok, im new to D&D, and want some sort of information / organization app, something to calculate hits, saves, looking up class stats, keeping track of leveling exp etc. So far all i have found is a few dice rolling widgets, anyone got any recommendations?

PCGen is a decent application to calculate your character. If you are new to D&D, I'd recommend using pencil and paper at first to make yourself familiar with the rules. I've been playing D&D for 13+ years and I've always found pencil and paper the best way to record your character.

Eraserhead

macrumors G4
Nov 3, 2005
UK
<put's geek hat on>
There doesn't seem to be anything great at the moment TBH, what have you used on Windows?

I've played a bit with some of my friends and I'm putting in some development time on something but nothing for release yet. I dunno yet whether it'll be shareware (though it'll be less than $20) or freeware. It will handle Spells (that's not finished) and currently supports Feats, Skills and Weapons (as well as more basic stats) and can currently run a battle, including saving throws/multiple weapons etc. etc.

I'm also waiting for a bug fix in Core Data from Apple to stop the release build crashing every time so it might well require Leopard :(, though I may be able to do a PPC only build that doesn't crash (I primarily use a Macbook so obviously would prefer to go Universal ;) ).

Here's a screenshot of what I've done so far...

Picture 2.png

</geek>