PDA

View Full Version : How do I run a ported app? (Darwin ports)




nplima
Feb 4, 2007, 07:48 AM
Hi All,

This is probably a simple problem, but I can't find relevant instructions on the documentation...

I used Darwin ports to get Gnumeric onto my Mac. I left it working all night and now I can open a X11 terminal and run Gnumeric by typing its path and name. I imagine there's a way to script these 2 steps: open X11, run /opt/local/bin/gnumeric

How do I do it?

thanks!

Nuno



djdawson
Feb 4, 2007, 10:29 PM
I was just reading Apple's X11 FAQ and it mentioned the "open-X11" Terminal command. It opens X11 and starts whatever applications you give it as arguments. So, if you have /opt/local/bin in your search path you should be able to just do "open-X11 gnumeric" and it'll start X11 and then gnumeric all in one shot. Pretty nifty!

HTH

savar
Feb 5, 2007, 06:16 AM
I was just reading Apple's X11 FAQ and it mentioned the "open-X11" Terminal command. It opens X11 and starts whatever applications you give it as arguments. So, if you have /opt/local/bin in your search path you should be able to just do "open-X11 gnumeric" and it'll start X11 and then gnumeric all in one shot. Pretty nifty!

HTH

Also, if you save a terminal session there's an option to save the command you ran it, then when you double click on that file it automatically runs that command. So now you're down to a double-click. How's that?

nplima
Feb 5, 2007, 01:46 PM
you guys rule, man!

:D

Virtualball
Feb 14, 2007, 07:51 PM
A little Late here, but you could make an Applescript so it will be a full application.