PDA

View Full Version : Gromacs???

Vlade
Jun 7, 2003, 06:45 PM
I am new to folding, and I have a G4 733 MHZ comp, and I was wondering how to get AltiVec working, I have herd that Gromacs supports it, but i have no idea how to use it. Can someone help me? Right now I am using the graphical client.

Vlade
Jun 7, 2003, 06:56 PM
In process viewer it says I am running this process "FahCore_78.exe", is that the altivec one? if so it doesnt seem very fast at all.

Also, how much faster is the console based verison compared to the graphical one?

Rower_CPU
Jun 7, 2003, 07:14 PM
78 is the gromacs enabled core.

As far as how much faster it is...I don't think there have been any tests or anything comparing speed.

MrMacMan
Jun 7, 2003, 08:17 PM
No they don't but if the log file says AltiVec Enabled, then you have it working.

78 is the gromac core, and AltiVec would increase the speed.

Falleron
Jun 10, 2003, 05:00 PM
My process viewer is showing 65 + not 78. I am running the graphical client (3.25).

jimthorn
Jun 16, 2003, 05:38 PM
Is there a way to get Graphical Client v3.25 to only receive Gromacs WUs from F@H? I don't know exactly how the client talks to the servers... I mean, does it just ask for a random WU, or is this communication configurable?

Client: Hey, gimme a WU.
Server: Here's a Tinker WU for you.
Client: No, not that one. Gimme a Gromacs one.
Server: Oh, why didn't you say so... Hey you go. And say "thank you".
Client: Thank you.

*ahem* You get the idea. :D

jethroted
Jun 16, 2003, 07:41 PM
I have not noticed a great speed increase in the gromacs core wu's I have recieved anyway. It still sucks compared to the pc.

crazytom
Jun 16, 2003, 07:58 PM
Using the old core, my average was about 20-22 pts/day (3 processors: 1 Dual 1GHz and one 450MHz). Now that they're both running the new core, I'm averaging around 30 pts/day. So there is a good speed increase, but not as much as I'd thought there'd be.

zimv20
Jun 16, 2003, 08:10 PM
Originally posted by crazytom