PDA

View Full Version : iMac direct connect




shaboomi
Mar 27, 2007, 05:54 AM
I've been hunting around for an answer as to whether I can connect my iMac direct to the apple tv via wireless at 802.11 n speed.
In other words no router or base stations involved.

Thanks for your help



Bubbasteve
Mar 27, 2007, 09:55 AM
I've been hunting around for an answer as to whether I can connect my iMac direct to the apple tv via wireless at 802.11 n speed.
In other words no router or base stations involved.

Thanks for your help

I was just about to make a thread on this -- I would like to know if this is possible too since my dorms don't allow WiFi connection via Wireless Router

macphin
Mar 27, 2007, 10:13 AM
I think you can do it through ad-hoc. Find out about it. I'm not 100% sure about apple tv, but, I was able to do it with other devices.

Erendiox
Mar 27, 2007, 10:17 AM
Have you tried broadcasting via your iMac's airport card? Typically this is to broadcast your internet connection, and the result is that your computer acts sort of like a base station. I'm not too familiar with how the Apple TV typically connects to other comptuers, but maybe that will help. You can pull it off by going to the internet tab in the sharing prefpane.

cheers :)

Bubbasteve
Mar 27, 2007, 10:19 AM
I think you can do it through ad-hoc. Find out about it. I'm not 100% sure about apple tv, but, I was able to do it with other devices.

That's what I'm hoping...or else I'll ask people in my dorm if they actually do allow WiFi but nobody has a wireless router...

Anybody else have an ATV and can confirm Ad-Hoc will work?

Bubbasteve
Mar 27, 2007, 06:57 PM
Anybody know if this will work? :o

shaboomi
Mar 28, 2007, 07:10 AM
does anyone know of a good resource for setting up computer-computer networks or mac networking in general?

TEG
Mar 28, 2007, 07:33 AM
In the Airport menu goto 'Create Network'. Give your new network a name, pick a channel, set additional options like WEP or WPA passwords. Once finished, goto Apple TV and select the network you just created. Done!

You could also just connect via CAT5 and have your :apple:TV on the wired network.

TEG

TEG
Mar 28, 2007, 07:35 AM
That's what I'm hoping...or else I'll ask people in my dorm if they actually do allow WiFi but nobody has a wireless router...

Anybody else have an ATV and can confirm Ad-Hoc will work?

Ad-Hoc is just the infrastructure of the network. The devices will not know the difference between Ad-Hoc & Infrastructure networks.

TEG

Bubbasteve
Mar 28, 2007, 03:53 PM
In the Airport menu goto 'Create Network'. Give your new network a name, pick a channel, set additional options like WEP or WPA passwords. Once finished, goto Apple TV and select the network you just created. Done!

TEG

You're a legend sir.... a legend I say

Bubbasteve
Mar 28, 2007, 05:41 PM
I tried testing this with a wireless connection from my iMac to my Powerbook and it wouldn't allow my Powerbook to connect to the internet -- did I do something wrong or is there a setting I need in system pref? (I know I asked for help w/ the AppleTV but I was simply testing it with my Powerbook / iMac combo)

Thanks

shaboomi
Mar 30, 2007, 09:58 PM
I've still not had any luck connecting my iMac directly to the appletv via the imacs wireless. Has any one tried and succeeded?
I just was to have the streaming from the imac going at N speed with out having to by the airport extreme

Bubbasteve
Apr 1, 2007, 11:02 PM
I bought the ATV figuring I have only a month left until summer break and I still can't figure out how to direct connect my iMac to the AppleTV -- I tried the create a network idea but I couldn't get it to work....I'll continue to try I suppose

Can anybody else give us any tips? :o

EricNau
Apr 1, 2007, 11:12 PM
I bought the ATV figuring I have only a month left until summer break and I still can't figure out how to direct connect my iMac to the AppleTV -- I tried the create a network idea but I couldn't get it to work....I'll continue to try I suppose

Can anybody else give us any tips? :o
What, exactly, didn't work?

Bubbasteve
Apr 1, 2007, 11:16 PM
What, exactly, didn't work?

Well my school doesn't work well with routers of any kind so an ethernet wired connection to the AppleTV was out of the question and I can't pick up a wireless signal from my dorm so essentially wireless was out of the question as well.

With those two methods out of the running I was hoping that I could Create a network via my iMac to sync directly with the AppleTV, but I can't seem to get anything to work

EricNau
Apr 1, 2007, 11:46 PM
With those two methods out of the running I was hoping that I could Create a network via my iMac to sync directly with the AppleTV, but I can't seem to get anything to work
...But at what point does it fail? Can you create the ad-hoc network from your mac? Will the Apple TV connect?

Bubbasteve
Apr 1, 2007, 11:50 PM
...But at what point does it fail? Can you create the ad-hoc network from your mac? Will the Apple TV connect?

I'm creating the connection by going to the airport icon in the menu bar and selecting create network -- I create the network but my ATV doesn't acknowledge it

I'm not sure if I need anything turned on/off on my iMac or what, but long story short -- I create a computer to computer network but the AppleTV doesn't recognize it

EricNau
Apr 1, 2007, 11:59 PM
I'm creating the connection by going to the airport icon in the menu bar and selecting create network -- I create the network but my ATV doesn't acknowledge it

I'm not sure if I need anything turned on/off on my iMac or what, but long story short -- I create a computer to computer network but the AppleTV doesn't recognize it
When creating the network, did you enable any of the security options?

Bubbasteve
Apr 2, 2007, 12:06 AM
When creating the network, did you enable any of the security options?

I've tried a connection with security encryptions and one without -- neither work

mustard
Apr 2, 2007, 12:29 AM
Well my school doesn't work well with routers of any kind so an ethernet wired connection to the AppleTV was out of the question and I can't pick up a wireless signal from my dorm so essentially wireless was out of the question as well.

With those two methods out of the running I was hoping that I could Create a network via my iMac to sync directly with the AppleTV, but I can't seem to get anything to work

Have you tried a plain old switch or hub - they just split & manage connections instead of a router that masks/asigns IPs

Bubbasteve
Apr 2, 2007, 12:40 AM
I managed to get it to work -- I had to turn on Internet sharing from Built in ethernet to Airport and then the AppleTV found that connection and I'm currently enjoying my streaming media

Thanks to all that applied and if you have any other questions about my method just ask

mustard
Apr 2, 2007, 12:54 AM
Congrats -
If time permits it may just be easier for you to do a step by step write up for others.