PDA

View Full Version : Power Mac G4 "Sawtooth" Power Supply Upgrade




p0intblank
Apr 30, 2007, 11:36 PM
Hi, I am upgrading the PSU to my Power Mac G4, specs listed below:

http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/stats/powermac_g4_350_agp.html

Is there anything I should keep in mind when upgrading this? Any specific sizes the older Power Macs use or anything like that? Just taking safety precautions... thanks in advance! :)



livingfortoday
Apr 30, 2007, 11:57 PM
It won't work with the motherboard, you'll need to move some wires around:
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/ATX_G4_AGP_conversion/G4_AGP_to_ATX_case_pg2.htm#next

But then it should work fine! Enjoy.

Lovesong
Apr 30, 2007, 11:59 PM
Be very careful with PS on the G4 towers. There are 20, 22 and 24 pin connector power supplies. Make sure that you have a 20 or 24 pin connector on your motherboard. You can then use any 20 + 4 ATX power supply that you can get at newegg. If you have the 22, you're SOL. These things were made for some of the models (DA, and some of the later Gigabits), and you'll need to find one of those on ebay, or somewhere.

Lovesong
May 1, 2007, 12:01 AM
It won't work with the motherboard, you'll need to move some wires around:
http://www.xlr8yourmac.com/systems/ATX_G4_AGP_conversion/G4_AGP_to_ATX_case_pg2.htm#next

But then it should work fine! Enjoy.

I have a sawtooth at work that uses a 20 pin connector.

p0intblank
May 1, 2007, 12:09 AM
So basically check out the motherboard and if it's 20-pin, then get a 20-pin PSU off newegg and I'm fine? No messing with wires is required? I'm just clarifying so I order the correct model.

Lovesong
May 1, 2007, 12:17 AM
From what I remember, there was no need to switch out any of the wires around on the Sawtooth. If you do have the 22 pin model, then follow the link that livingfortoday gave you.

p0intblank
May 1, 2007, 12:51 AM
I checked and it is indeed a 20-pin connector. I guess I'll go ahead and order the PSU if everything's a go...

Lovesong
May 1, 2007, 01:01 AM
I checked and it is indeed a 20-pin connector. I guess I'll go ahead and order the PSU if everything's a go...

Actually, after doing some research, livingfortoday was right....:o

You will need to do some re-wiring, but it invoves slicing 2 cables. Follow the guide that he linked you to that describes which wires need to be added. A regular ATX PS will work, nonetheless.

p0intblank
May 1, 2007, 01:14 AM
Actually, after doing some research, livingfortoday was right....:o

You will need to do some re-wiring, but it invoves slicing 2 cables. Follow the guide that he linked you to that describes which wires need to be added. A regular ATX PS will work, nonetheless.

Hmm... I'm going to have to get my dad to help me with that part. I'm not comfortable with splicing wires and he's really good with that kind of stuff. I trust it's fairly easy, correct? The instructions don't look too painful.