PDA

View Full Version : Reformat mac = reformat ipod?




johnjeffrey
May 9, 2007, 11:48 PM
Hi there,

I am going to reformat my mac today. I'm have backed up my music and will add it all back to itunes.

Next time I put in my iPod will and try to sync it will it have to delete all the previous songs and add the new library even though the songs will be identical?

Just wondering...



taylorwilsdon
May 10, 2007, 12:27 AM
Hi there,

I am going to reformat my mac today. I'm have backed up my music and will add it all back to itunes.

Next time I put in my iPod will and try to sync it will it have to delete all the previous songs and add the new library even though the songs will be identical?

Just wondering...

Yap, if you use iTunes :(

If you use something like Floola, no worries!

zephead
May 10, 2007, 12:34 AM
Save the iTunes library files and put them and the music in the same place it was before (normally /Users/[you]/Music). As long as the iTunes Music folder is still the same, your iPod should sync up just like normal when you plug it in again.

mad jew
May 10, 2007, 01:33 AM
Yeah, it'll recognise the old library if you reinstall it properly. Why are you reformatting?

johnjeffrey
May 10, 2007, 02:02 AM
Wanted to install Boot Camp and am getting an error message that I must reinstall the OS first--I checked around on the forums and it seems to be a popular problem.

Also I like to erase everything and throw back on the important stuff from time to time. It makes the machine snappier.