Reformat mac = reformat ipod?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by johnjeffrey, May 9, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #1
    Hi there,

    I am going to reformat my mac today. I'm have backed up my music and will add it all back to itunes.

    Next time I put in my iPod will and try to sync it will it have to delete all the previous songs and add the new library even though the songs will be identical?

    Just wondering...
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    taylorwilsdon

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #2
    Yap, if you use iTunes :(

    If you use something like Floola, no worries!
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    zephead

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    in your pants
    #3
    Save the iTunes library files and put them and the music in the same place it was before (normally /Users/[you]/Music). As long as the iTunes Music folder is still the same, your iPod should sync up just like normal when you plug it in again.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Yeah, it'll recognise the old library if you reinstall it properly. Why are you reformatting?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    #5
    Wanted to install Boot Camp and am getting an error message that I must reinstall the OS first--I checked around on the forums and it seems to be a popular problem.

    Also I like to erase everything and throw back on the important stuff from time to time. It makes the machine snappier.
     

Share This Page