PDA

View Full Version : grungey look forth rail bridge

yagran
May 15, 2007, 05:31 PM
ok so im not a proffesional by any means, its just a new hobby. i love taking photos of big landscapes and great engineering achievements i guess, anything i look at and think wow.

anyways, i made a kinda grungey look on one of my pictures and i just wanted some feedback on what you think of it, it wasnt taken on an expensive camera or anything like that because i havent got the money :(, i took it a couple of weekends ago when i was visitng friends up in scotland, they took us to a lil restaurant overlooking the river so i snapped a pic of the view! ive attached the original (shrunk down) and my dark processed version

thnx for looking

compuwar
May 15, 2007, 05:42 PM
ok so im not a proffesional by any means, its just a new hobby. i love taking photos of big landscapes and great engineering achievements i guess, anything i look at and think wow.

anyways, i made a kinda grungey look on one of my pictures and i just wanted some feedback on what you think of it, it wasnt taken on an expensive camera or anything like that because i havent got the money :(, i took it a couple of weekends ago when i was visitng friends up in scotland, they took us to a lil restaurant overlooking the river so i snapped a pic of the view! ive attached the original (shrunk down) and my dark processed version

thnx for looking

You might try cropping out 1/3rd of the sky at the top, the eye is drawn to the lightest points in an image first, and in this case it spends a bit too much time wandering around the empty sky instead of the moody bridge. I think that'd get more of the effect you're trying for, which I like in this image.

Westside guy
May 15, 2007, 07:12 PM
Just speaking for myself - I like it as-is.

yagran
May 15, 2007, 07:15 PM
ok thanks for the tips.

i made the sky smaller, so its a kinda really wide photo, looks cooler.