PDA

View Full Version : Warcraft III: Frozen Throne resolution question...




darkseven
May 21, 2007, 07:02 AM
I was playing WC3:TFT with Windows on my MacBook Pro and since it doesn't support wide screen I went into the registry and changed the reswidth and resheight file to 1440 x 900. Worked perfectly fine and looked great since the image wasn't stretching anymore.

Now that they released the new patch I have basically no need for Windows on my computer and I have removed it already. I forgot to keep one thing in mind when I did though which is, am I able to have the resolution 1440 x 900 for WC3 on Mac? Is there some registry file I can change or what not because I don't really like it when the image is distorted like that...?

Any help appreciated, thanks! (sorry if this a noob question!)



Jasonbot
May 21, 2007, 07:11 AM
Any help appreciated, thanks! (sorry if this a noob question!)

Yes, this is kinda noob...
Anywasy, the newer updates for WC3 should have widescreen res supported. SO stop messing with important game files and rather just update your warcraft

sammich
May 21, 2007, 07:12 AM
You'll find that WC3 supports all of the widescreen and standard resolutions that come with macs. You'll be able to set it anything from 640x480 to 1680x1080 to (i'm assuming here) 2560x1600 on the big 30 inch ACD's.

So yes, widescreen is selectable from within the WC3 setting panel in the program.

darkseven
May 21, 2007, 07:18 AM
You'll find that WC3 supports all of the widescreen and standard resolutions that come with macs. You'll be able to set it anything from 640x480 to 1680x1080 to (i'm assuming here) 2560x1600 on the big 30 inch ACD's.

So yes, widescreen is selectable from within the WC3 setting panel in the program.

Ah, I see. For Windows widescreen wasn't supported unless you messed with registry files, just needed to know if it was supported for Mac since I am not too familiar with that side. Thanks a lot! :)

Chone
May 21, 2007, 04:39 PM
Mac or PC you can choose a widescreen res but the image will still be stretched in Warcraft 3... a circle will look like an oval, except that its in native res so it will be sharp looking.

The reason for this is balance.

Xavier
May 21, 2007, 05:09 PM
Exactly. You can pick that massive resolution, but because it lets you see "more" of the playing field, they just upscale a 1024x786 screen.

A little disappointing when I tired this, and it also makes me wonder how Blizzard is going to run Starcraft 2

Jack Flash
May 21, 2007, 07:36 PM
Is it possible to letter-box the image, then?

Chone
May 21, 2007, 07:39 PM
Exactly. You can pick that massive resolution, but because it lets you see "more" of the playing field, they just upscale a 1024x786 screen.

A little disappointing when I tired this, and it also makes me wonder how Blizzard is going to run Starcraft 2

Considering Starcraft is even more competitive and popular as an e-sport than Warcraft 3 and even more so considering Blizzard is playing it so ******* safe with Starcraft 2 for the sake of not ruining the balanced gameplay (they even tout "tightly balanced competitive gameplay" as a feature) that I'm 99% sure Starcraft 2 will be a 4:3 only game, 16:9 players would have a big advantage and Blizzard doesn't want to take the slightest friggin risk in SC2, I'm surprised they are even adding new units at all god forbid Starcraft 2 isn't any more than a glorified Starcraft expansion.

Is it possible to letter-box the image, then?

Yes you can if you have an nvidia card, select no scaling on the lcd scaling options on the control panel, set wc3 to the highest 4:3/5:4 resolution it can do and you'll have black borders on the sides but the image will display correctly.

Dreamer2go
Jun 30, 2007, 01:38 PM
Considering Starcraft is even more competitive and popular as an e-sport than Warcraft 3 and even more so considering Blizzard is playing it so ******* safe with Starcraft 2 for the sake of not ruining the balanced gameplay (they even tout "tightly balanced competitive gameplay" as a feature) that I'm 99% sure Starcraft 2 will be a 4:3 only game, 16:9 players would have a big advantage and Blizzard doesn't want to take the slightest friggin risk in SC2, I'm surprised they are even adding new units at all god forbid Starcraft 2 isn't any more than a glorified Starcraft expansion.



Yes you can if you have an nvidia card, select no scaling on the lcd scaling options on the control panel, set wc3 to the highest 4:3/5:4 resolution it can do and you'll have black borders on the sides but the image will display correctly.

can you do it on OSX?

Will_reed
Jul 1, 2007, 04:15 AM
Starcraft 2 will most certainly have widescreen support.
Why do I know this? Because the demo video on the site of starcraft 2 gameplay is 16:9 thats why!

zimtheinvader
Jul 1, 2007, 10:57 AM
Doesn't WoW support widescreen?

Also, maybe it will be a game-by-game MP option, (as one of the options when setting up a game), and support it in single player. If not, that would make a lot of people with nice expensive widescreens sad if such a modern game neglected to "support" their system.
(Add'n rant:) I still don't understand what happend to SC:Ghost, I wish they would revive it eventually as a MMOrpg/FPS like WoW...

Re: the video, the Iphone had TV-out in the last video I saw, but that didn't happen in the consumer build ;)

Chone
Jul 1, 2007, 11:54 AM
Starcraft 2 will most certainly have widescreen support.
Why do I know this? Because the demo video on the site of starcraft 2 gameplay is 16:9 thats why!

So what? Most pro players play at 1024x768 and Starcraft II is a game for the pros (and the korean) not regular gamers...

If widescreen resolutions would give you a bigger field of view then it would give some players unfair advantages.

Its a given fact that Starcraft II will only have on aspect ratio and thats 4:3 because the 4:3 userbase is bigger than the 16:10 userbase and god forbid Starcraft II is the slightest bit imbalanced...

To be honest, most of the hype I had for Starcraft II seems to have died down now whenever Blizzard talks about it it just seems like they are talking about an e-sport and not a game.

Dreamer2go
Jul 1, 2007, 12:50 PM
Yes you can if you have an nvidia card, select no scaling on the lcd scaling options on the control panel, set wc3 to the highest 4:3/5:4 resolution it can do and you'll have black borders on the sides but the image will display correctly.

hey chone. Can you do this in Mac OSX? or it's only for windows?

Chone
Jul 1, 2007, 07:11 PM
hey chone. Can you do this in Mac OSX? or it's only for windows?

I don't think so, nvidia doesn't have a dedicated control panel for OSX :(

angelneo
Jul 1, 2007, 11:02 PM
So what? Most pro players play at 1024x768 and Starcraft II is a game for the pros (and the korean) not regular gamers...

If widescreen resolutions would give you a bigger field of view then it would give some players unfair advantages.

Its a given fact that Starcraft II will only have on aspect ratio and thats 4:3 because the 4:3 userbase is bigger than the 16:10 userbase and god forbid Starcraft II is the slightest bit imbalanced...

To be honest, most of the hype I had for Starcraft II seems to have died down now whenever Blizzard talks about it it just seems like they are talking about an e-sport and not a game.
I think it's pretty easy to enforce one aspect ratio during competition, it wouldn't be good sense in the current market to just to make games for the 4:3 ratio, they should be supporting 4:3, 16:9 so on.

Chansey
Jul 2, 2007, 03:22 AM
I also want to remove the stretching in Mac OS X. I never thought i would be saying this: "I want black bars on the sides!"

Sdashiki
Jul 2, 2007, 09:33 AM
I also want to remove the stretching in Mac OS X. I never thought i would be saying this: "I want black bars on the sides!"

I got used to it within 2 custom games.

I just dont dwell on everyone being a little fatter.

McDs must be open in Azeroth.

Tom B.
Jul 2, 2007, 06:03 PM
I never realised that higher resolutions of WarCraft III don't increase the viewable map area. That was one of the things that i was looking forward to the most about upgrading from my 12" PowerBook to a MacBook/Pro! And no widescreen! Grrr! :mad: This better be changed in StarCraft II!

Chone
Jul 2, 2007, 08:53 PM
I think it's pretty easy to enforce one aspect ratio during competition, it wouldn't be good sense in the current market to just to make games for the 4:3 ratio, they should be supporting 4:3, 16:9 so on.

What about b.net? Do you think we need even more punks whining about imbalance on forums?

Plus many leagues are played online and you really can't control stuff in those cases...

I'm 99.99% sure Starcraft II will be a 4:3/5:4 only game.

yoshinatsu
Oct 26, 2009, 04:29 AM
What about b.net? Do you think we need even more punks whining about imbalance on forums?

Plus many leagues are played online and you really can't control stuff in those cases...

I'm 99.99% sure Starcraft II will be a 4:3/5:4 only game.

Hahaha!!! Naaah!