PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse question




wrldwzrd89
Jun 21, 2007, 10:40 AM
If a Java app built in Eclipse hangs (due to getting into an infinite loop, for instance), the only way I can find to get it to terminate is to quit the IDE and restart it. Is there some sort of stop button I can use if I encounter this problem?



toddburch
Jun 21, 2007, 10:48 AM
I've caused Java loops when running from Terminal, and picking Apple Menu->Force Quit works great.

Todd

wrldwzrd89
Jun 21, 2007, 10:50 AM
I've caused Java loops when running from Terminal, and picking Apple Menu->Force Quit works great.

Todd
The problem with that is that neither Eclipse nor the Java app shows up in the Force Quit dialog.:confused:

jeremy.king
Jun 21, 2007, 12:01 PM
If you are running it from within Eclipse, switch to the Debug perspective and then take a look in the Debug view - it will contain a list of all the running threads. You can elect to stop them by selecting them and click the red square or right click and select Terminate.

Learn more: http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/opensource/library/os-ecbug/

wrldwzrd89
Jun 21, 2007, 12:22 PM
If you are running it from within Eclipse, switch to the Debug perspective and then take a look in the Debug view - it will contain a list of all the running threads. You can elect to stop them by selecting them and click the red square or right click and select Terminate.

Learn more: http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/opensource/library/os-ecbug/
Thanks! I did not even know the Debug perspective existed until you pointed that out to me.

Dark Dragoon
Jun 21, 2007, 12:37 PM
Does the red Terminate button work?
It's been a while since I used Eclipse, though I'm sure it's always shown when you run a program.

http://www.siberios.co.uk/aquinas/eclipse.jpg

jeremy.king
Jun 21, 2007, 12:40 PM
Thanks! I did not even know the Debug perspective existed until you pointed that out to me.

You should introduce yourself and really get to know it :) This is probably one of the most important perspectives in Eclipse for Java developers.

therevolution
Jun 21, 2007, 01:33 PM
Does the red Terminate button work?
It's been a while since I used Eclipse, though I'm sure it's always shown when you run a program.

http://www.siberios.co.uk/aquinas/eclipse.jpg

Yep, this button should do what you want. It's on the 'Console' tab toolbar.

wrldwzrd89
Jun 21, 2007, 04:50 PM
Yep, this button should do what you want. It's on the 'Console' tab toolbar.
Thank you, everyone. Problem solved.