PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking a 1.25Ghz Emac?

RickT67
Jun 28, 2007, 12:57 PM
Hi, I've seen several posts about overclocking the 700Mhz and 800Mhz Emac, but I haven't found anything on the 1.25Ghz. Has anyone done it? If so, what can I expect to gain for speed?
Also, I've read that you can bump the Ram from 1Gb max to 2Gb... has anyone had that work well for them?

Thanks in advance... be gentle, I am a newbie and I appreciate the help.:)

dogbone
Jun 30, 2007, 12:36 PM
Hi, I've seen several posts about overclocking the 700Mhz and 800Mhz Emac, but I haven't found anything on the 1.25Ghz. Has anyone done it? If so, what can I expect to gain for speed?
Also, I've read that you can bump the Ram from 1Gb max to 2Gb... has anyone had that work well for them?

Thanks in advance... be gentle, I am a newbie and I appreciate the help.:)

Yes you can definitely put 2 gig of ram in the 1.25 and 1.42 I'm currently running with 1.5 gig of ram in mine. I had some overclocking info, I'll see if I can dig it out, but I don't think it's really worth attempting it unless you really know what you are doing including disassembling the emac. It's quite tricky.

ob81
Jul 1, 2007, 03:05 AM
Probably better to just drop $900 bucks and get a macbook. Or $500 and get a mac mini

RickT67
Jul 2, 2007, 10:13 AM
Thanks for the info on the RAM. I will be trying that out.

If you could find that info on overclocking, I would love to see it. From what I've seen online, if it's anything like the older models, it involves the tiny resistors. I have an extremely fine tip soldering iron (low wattage) so I think I'm ok there. I've used the same iron on my iBook when I accidently broke the power switch when I upgraded the hard drive.