PDA

View Full Version : Vista reliability 10/10




dclnmurray
Jul 3, 2007, 07:47 AM
Hi All,

For those who are having a look and are checking on Vista running on MBP look no further.

I bought a 17" MBP (latest) and installed bootcamp and setup Vista and the surprising thing is I have had a reliability rating of 10/10 for a week. Sure a week isn't long but then when I look at all my fellow workers running ASUS and have never achieved 10 at all this speaks for itself.


Oh the joys of a beautiful machine and sure it cost a few dollars but after salary sacrifice all I can say is I have a great notebook and so damn useful. I think the boss is keen to get one now :)

cheers

M



wyatt23
Jul 3, 2007, 07:51 AM
could you expand more on this reliability rating you speak of? :rolleyes: :)

also, has vista rolled out updates yet? i have an install disk, but i'm waiting for SP1.

kwood
Jul 3, 2007, 07:58 AM
Why wait for SP1? I have Windows Vista Ultimate installed on a C2D MacBook and it runs flawlessly. It is really fast everything runs smoothly and I have not received any error messages or anything from the OS. The only thing that was difficult at first was the networking screens. But after sitting down for an hour or so I can use it just as smoothly as I did Windows XP.

Waiting for SP1 is kind of ridiculous if you ask me. Most of the stability issues have been resolved, and most were caused by third party crap installed by computer manufacturers.

SDAVE
Jul 3, 2007, 02:03 PM
I think Microsoft did a good job this time...if anyone remembers the original release of XP Pro, please laugh now or cry later. XP started to work right after SP1...

Vista is a hog, though. You will need a minimum of 2GB to have it sail smoothly, so a stock MacBook Pro is fine because it has 2GB right off the bat.

dclnmurray
Jul 3, 2007, 05:31 PM
could you expand more on this reliability rating you speak of? :rolleyes: :)

also, has vista rolled out updates yet? i have an install disk, but i'm waiting for SP1.

Click on windows and right click on Computer and select "Manage"
Expand "Reliability and Performance"
Expand Monitoring tools"
Select "Reliability Monitor"

This will show a graphical representation of the system stability.

Go from there and explore.

cheers

Dave

Bern
Jul 3, 2007, 06:26 PM
I agree, I have Home Premium and for the past month it's been running better than XP Pro ever did. No crashes or funkiness. I give Vista a thumbs up as I recall when XP was first released and it really was as buggy as hell.

contoursvt
Jul 3, 2007, 11:08 PM
This is kind of meaningless to be honest. Different drivers, different software..etc can produce results and errors. Unless you want to compare two computers side by side with exactly the same hardware and software and run them in a controlled environment for the same time and monitor the errors, then this test cannot be used to compare anything.


Click on windows and right click on Computer and select "Manage"
Expand "Reliability and Performance"
Expand Monitoring tools"
Select "Reliability Monitor"

This will show a graphical representation of the system stability.

Go from there and explore.

cheers

Dave

brasscat
Jul 3, 2007, 11:14 PM
I've got Ultimate running via boot camp on my 24" iMac with 2 gigs of RAM. Seems to work just fine... it's the security implementation that I have an issue with. Seems to always need permission to execute code. I think XP was more user-friendly, Vista is less intuitive but prettier.

dclnmurray
Jul 4, 2007, 12:34 AM
This is kind of meaningless to be honest. Different drivers, different software..etc can produce results and errors. Unless you want to compare two computers side by side with exactly the same hardware and software and run them in a controlled environment for the same time and monitor the errors, then this test cannot be used to compare anything.

With regards to my first message you are missing the point. I was explaining how "out of the box" it works without any problems. Sure apps will cause the reliability to drop but assuming there are no core services that fail then it should be fine.

My fellow workers have upgraded their ASUS notebooks (various models) and no one has achieved 10/10 with problems being encountered immediately on installation of Vista.

In a nutshell I didn't.

M

viccles
Jul 4, 2007, 02:50 AM
I am running Vista on a CD MBP with 2gigs of ram and I have a score of 4/10 but it seems to run pretty well

DoFoT9
Jul 4, 2007, 02:56 AM
I am running Vista on a CD MBP with 2gigs of ram and I have a score of 4/10 but it seems to run pretty well

:eek: you should try it in parallels!!!

SDAVE
Jul 4, 2007, 03:11 AM
I've got Ultimate running via boot camp on my 24" iMac with 2 gigs of RAM. Seems to work just fine... it's the security implementation that I have an issue with. Seems to always need permission to execute code. I think XP was more user-friendly, Vista is less intuitive but prettier.

You can disable UAC (Start > Run > MSConfig > Tools > Find "Disable UAC" and click "Launch". You can enable it later if you want)...I do think it's kind of annoying as well, but it's better than nothing, I guess. If you're the only one using your PC, just disable UAC. You can also give limited access to other users and just leave UAC on so they won't fiddle with the system files or run malicious .exe files.

DoFoT9
Jul 4, 2007, 03:15 AM
You can disable UAC (Start > Run > MSConfig > Tools > Find "Disable UAC" and click "Launch". You can enable it later if you want)...I do think it's kind of annoying as well, but it's better than nothing, I guess. If you're the only one using your PC, just disable UAC. You can also give limited access to other users and just leave UAC on so they won't fiddle with the system files or run malicious .exe files.

once u disable all the annoying features such as UAC vista is a fairly nice OS. sure its a bit slow and fairly clunky at times, but it still doesnt do it for me..

i thout OS were supposed to speed up over the ones they are successing....anyway.. vista isnt that bad.... but its not taht good either :cool: :p

Wells
Jul 4, 2007, 03:37 AM
I have a question about bootcamp. It tells you to use a fat32 partition, so that OSX can read from it etc, but does Vista even support fat32, or does it force you to use NTFS? Does OSX allow reading/writing to NTFS?

edit: sorry, should have googled really. OSX can read NTFS but not write.

As to the original topic, the reliabiliity thing is Vista's measurement of system speed, crashes, etc over time. See this blog post for an example:

http://blogs.technet.com/robert_hensing/archive/2007/07/04/another-reason-to-love-vista-as-if-i-needed-another.aspx

DoFoT9
Jul 4, 2007, 03:38 AM
I have a question about bootcamp. It tells you to use a fat32 partition, so that OSX can read from it etc, but does Vista even support fat32, or does it force you to use NTFS? Does OSX allow reading/writing to NTFS?

nope only have read... which completely sucks.... no way to write to it... external harddrives it is!!!!

Dj-Grobe
Jul 13, 2007, 07:19 AM
Yes,super stable, but vidoe drivers reallysuck !!! bottcamp drivers for xp and vista work relaly bad when you want USE XTERNAL MONITOR !!
:mad:

APPLE !! whats up?

DoFoT9
Jul 13, 2007, 08:41 AM
Yes,super stable, but vidoe drivers reallysuck !!! bottcamp drivers for xp and vista work relaly bad when you want USE XTERNAL MONITOR !!
:mad:

APPLE !! whats up?

beta is up. still only beta, u cant expect it to work 100% all the time can you???