PDA

View Full Version : Processor Upgrades


ColdZero
Jul 18, 2003, 12:26 PM
Its time to upgrade my aging Digital Audio 533. I've been looking at 2 upgrades, the OWC 1.46 G4 Single and the Powerlogix Dual 1.2 G4. Does anybody have any experiance with either of these two upgrades? The Dual is 200 bucks more, is it worth it to have 2 processors or have one faster one? Thanks.

evildead
Jul 18, 2003, 02:31 PM
I would go dual... but thats me

what do you use it for? Any muliti-threaded applications like Peak, Photoshope, Maya?. OSX will use both CPUs.

patrick0brien
Jul 18, 2003, 03:48 PM
Originally posted by ColdZero
The Dual is 200 bucks more, is it worth it to have 2 processors or have one faster one?

-ColdZero

Easy answer and Apple said it best "Two brains are better than one" If the difference is $200, go for it.

Is it really possible to place a DP PowerLogix in a Quicksilver that shipped with only one?

If so, ooooooooooooo.

patrick0brien
Jul 18, 2003, 04:10 PM
-Gents

Well, I answered my own question - just the prospect of popping a Dual into my single machine is worth it.

PowerLogix Compatibility Chart (http://www.powerlogix.com/products2/compatibility/powermacg4/index.html)

Wiping up drool.

mstecker
Jul 18, 2003, 04:15 PM
I just bought the OWC 1.46 single, and I'm pretty happy with it. I even sold the 800mhz CPU that I swapped out for $150, making the total cost of the upgrade only $350.

$350 to move from 800mhz to 1.46ghz seemed like a no-brainer.

ColdZero
Jul 18, 2003, 06:18 PM
Yea I use it for a lot of encoding that is multithreaded. I think the dual is looking like the better choice right now. The 1.46 seems faster overall, but I think the dual 1.2 would be faster for the things I use it for. I think a new video card is in ....the....cards right now too. A dual 1.2 and radeon would be nice. Thanks again.

tpjunkie
Jul 18, 2003, 07:06 PM
Definitely go dual. I happen to have the 533 mhz dual processor digital audio G4... your exact computer with an extra processor...its not showing its age at all, in fact it runs most applications better than my 667 mhz powerbook, which is only a year old. The additional processor will make a huge difference that the 200 mhz gap will seem tilted in your favor

bennetsaysargh
Jul 18, 2003, 07:55 PM
i can't remember where i heard this, but doesn't upgrading the processor still leave the rest of the stuff behind?

ColdZero
Jul 18, 2003, 08:17 PM
It does, but seeing as the DDR really didn't help the G4 that much, I'm not too worried about it. I have 0 firewire 800 devices and my pc has digital audio in and out, so I'm covered there. My case isn't as reflective, but thats ok :)

praetorian_x
Jul 19, 2003, 05:22 PM
I just started a thread on my experience with upgrading my Sawtooth:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=32728

Cheers,
prat