PDA

View Full Version : Installing XP w/ Boot Camp using PC Back Up Disks




surfstarchris
Jul 8, 2007, 11:25 PM
I wanted to know if anyone knew whether or not I could install XP with Boot Camp using those back up CD's they give you with your PC.

Anyone? Thanks.



iBookG4user
Jul 8, 2007, 11:32 PM
It depends, sometimes the disks require a special partition that the PC manufacturer puts on there to show that it is made by that company.

CanadaRAM
Jul 8, 2007, 11:49 PM
I wanted to know if anyone knew whether or not I could install XP with Boot Camp using those back up CD's they give you with your PC.

Anyone? Thanks.

Aaannnddd... in virtually all cases of bundled Windows, the license is tied to the machine it was sold with, and under the End User license, cannot be transferred to another machine -- even if the original machine is broken or decommissioned.

Why is it so restrictive? Because MS gives the manufacturers a huge break on price to preinstall windows under those conditions. Think about it. How can HP offer a machine for $499 retail with a $149 operating system included? Because you don't get the full retail OS.

SDDave2007
Jul 9, 2007, 12:07 AM
Actually I was told my Microsoft Customer Support, that you "own" a license to use XP [or whatever version] on one machine, there was no stipulation as to how it was purchased [retail vs oem], as long as the one machine was disabled or decommisoned, the OS could be installed on another, as long as you have the proper product key.

So yes, you can use an OEM install disk with the proper product ID code, and if it says that the install count has been exceeded, call the telephone support [the install wizard gives you the phone #], and tell the 'robot' on the other end that you changed the motherboard [hey its a true statement], and it will issue a new key, all without ever speaking to a real live person.

CanadaRAM
Jul 9, 2007, 12:25 AM
Actually I was told my Microsoft Customer Support, that you "own" a license to use XP [or whatever version] on one machine, there was no stipulation as to how it was purchased [retail vs oem], as long as the one machine was disabled or decommisoned, the OS could be installed on another, as long as you have the proper product key.

So yes, you can use an OEM install disk with the proper product ID code, and if it says that the install count has been exceeded, call the telephone support [the install wizard gives you the phone #], and tell the 'robot' on the other end that you changed the motherboard [hey its a true statement], and it will issue a new key, all without ever speaking to a real live person.

I think that may be true for a license you purchased retail or OEM, I am talking about the bundled software however that is preinstalled on a machine, which is neither retail nor a standalone OEM but a third breed of cat.

http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/YourPC_do.mspx

"Another common misconception is that you can transfer a preinstalled or OEM copy of Windows from an "old" machine to a new machine. An OEM software license may not be transferred from and old machine to a new machine—even if that machine is no longer in use. The OEM license is tied to the machine on which it was originally installed and can't be transferred to other machines."

balamw
Jul 9, 2007, 12:33 AM
I think that may be true for a license you purchased retail or OEM, I am talking about the bundled software however that is preinstalled on a machine, which is neither retail nor a standalone OEM but a third breed of cat.

http://www.microsoft.com/piracy/YourPC_do.mspx

"Another common misconception is that you can transfer a preinstalled or OEM copy of Windows from an "old" machine to a new machine. An OEM software license may not be transferred from and old machine to a new machine—even if that machine is no longer in use. The OEM license is tied to the machine on which it was originally installed and can't be transferred to other machines."

If there's anything worse that using Microsoft software, it's unserstanding all the variations and implications of MS licensing. :p

It recently got more complicated since the the latest rev or the OEM licenses EULA (System Builder's License) now requires "preinstallation" which then makes this seem to apply to all OEM licenses.

However, there is no one true answer to this. MS can do what they please and can often let you (seemingly) violate their own EULA. YMMV, IANAL etc... etc...

There's a reason Apple recommends only full retail licenses that are on one disc.

Finally, don't forget that for OEM licenses your support path is to the OEM, not Microsoft so ask Dell if it's OK to transfer your license. :p

B

surfstarchris
Jul 9, 2007, 11:20 AM
Wow. About the only thing I'm getting from the above replies is that Microsoft is the most bass-ackwards OS there is.

What about if I download Microsoft XP w/ Service Pack 2 from like BitTorrent...

Could I burn that onto a CD and then run Boot Camp... then when Boot Camp asks me for the XP CD I just insert that one?

What do you guys think?

barr08
Jul 9, 2007, 11:50 AM
Wow. About the only thing I'm getting from the above replies is that Microsoft is the most bass-ackwards OS there is.

What about if I download Microsoft XP w/ Service Pack 2 from like BitTorrent...

Could I burn that onto a CD and then run Boot Camp... then when Boot Camp asks me for the XP CD I just insert that one?

What do you guys think?

You could do that, but you would be breaking the law, and that violates MR rules. :D

I would just attempt to install bootcamp with the discs you have, assuming all the liscensing checks out. The bootcamp installation will stop you if something goes wrong, but it won't like, blow up or anything. Worth a shot.

balamw
Jul 9, 2007, 12:02 PM
I would just attempt to install bootcamp with the discs you have, assuming all the liscensing checks out. The bootcamp installation will stop you if something goes wrong, but it won't like, blow up or anything. Worth a shot.
And if Microsoft will let you install and activate whatever you've managed to install, you're in about as good shape as you can be.

That said. If you don't know what you are doing, and what can go wrong, please do yourself (and the rest of us) a favor and just spend the $200 and buy yourself a full fresh retail license of XP Home or Vista Home Premium and install in Boot Camp from that.

B

barr08
Jul 9, 2007, 12:27 PM
If you happen to be a college student you can probably get it very cheap.

surfstarchris
Jul 9, 2007, 12:40 PM
If you happen to be a college student you can probably get it very cheap.
Okay. Yes. I am. How would I go about using that to my advantage and getting a copy of XP for cheap? Thanks.

balamw
Jul 9, 2007, 12:42 PM
Okay. Yes. I am. How would I go about using that to my advantage and getting a copy of XP for cheap? Thanks.

Check your bookstore? Remember that ideally you want a full retail (not upgrade) license and media.

B

barr08
Jul 9, 2007, 12:47 PM
Check your bookstore? Remember that ideally you want a full retail (not upgrade) license and media.

B

Both my and my friend's University offer full XP home for $10. You may find that you're in luck!

paddy
Jul 9, 2007, 01:03 PM
Check your bookstore? Remember that ideally you want a full retail (not upgrade) license and media.

B

Ideally? Does that mean you can run an upgrade pack as full working OS if you didnt have it before?

barr08
Jul 9, 2007, 01:09 PM
Ideally? Does that mean you can run an upgrade pack as full working OS if you didnt have it before?

No, then it wouldn't be an upgrade, it would be retail.

balamw
Jul 9, 2007, 01:53 PM
No, then it wouldn't be an upgrade, it would be retail.

It is certainly possible to use XP upgrade media, as I did on my iMac, but it requires you to:

1) Have a legally transferable license (of 95, 98 or 2K) to install on your Mac and qualify for the upgrade.
2) Provide an external CD-ROM or tweak the install CD to make it work without an eject button.

Since it doesn't work "out of the box" and requires you to do some of your own legwork, Apple does not recommend such installs.

B

barr08
Jul 9, 2007, 01:59 PM
It is certainly possible to use XP upgrade media, as I did on my iMac, but it requires you to:

1) Have a legally transferable license (of 95, 98 or 2K) to install on your Mac and qualify for the upgrade.
2) Provide an external CD-ROM or tweak the install CD to make it work without an eject button.

Since it doesn't work "out of the box" and requires you to do some of your own legwork, Apple does not recommend such installs.

B

Doesn't that still make it an upgrade?

surfstarchris
Jul 10, 2007, 02:33 AM
Both my and my friend's University offer full XP home for $10. You may find that you're in luck!
Hmm. I just checked my bookstore, and its FULL PRICE for me. :mad:

So... wanna be a champ and go get me a copy from yours? :D

PM me if you would be willing.

Thanks.

CanadaRAM
Jul 10, 2007, 02:53 AM
Dude, you just don't get it.

We do not do piracy here at MR.

Off-sales or transfers of University Site License software is prohibited by the university's license with MS. The student is not buying the software, they are getting the media to use one copy of the University's software under the University's serial number while they attend that uni only.

Bittorrent as you were asking about earlier is not legal either. Neither is using an upgrade disk when you don't have an earlier version license, nor using a restore disk from a PC that came bundled.

If your uni does not offer a reduced price for students, sorry. Suck it up and pay the price offered to you for the software you plan to use.

edesignuk
Jul 10, 2007, 03:06 AM
Too much talk of dodgy copies of XP in here and requests for piracy. Closing.