PDA

View Full Version : DirecTV Broadband doesn't work on Mac?


dabirdwell
Jul 25, 2003, 01:50 PM
My fiance's parents just switched, but they live in a rural area where DirecTV satellite broadband is the only option for fast internet. Does this really not work with OSX? Anyone have experience or a hack for this?

patrick0brien
Jul 25, 2003, 02:04 PM
-dabirdwell

Well, it worked fine for my Mother's business.

As long as it uses TCP/IP, it should work.

Kwyjibo
Jul 25, 2003, 02:06 PM
nope the modem has a USB only interface so your SOL unless you have a PC around.. one of my friends has the service and theres both hardware (the modem) and the software to decode it and connect you that have to have a PC .... I don't know how much money you have to spend or whatever but you may have to buy a cheap PC and hook that up if you really want the broadband.

patrick0brien
Jul 25, 2003, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by Kwyjibo
modem has a USB only interface

-Kwyjibo

Understood, but there are USB to Ethernet adapters for Macs out there. Sorry :D I can't think of an particular model (you know how specific I try to be) but I'm pretty sure Belkin makes one.

iJon
Jul 25, 2003, 02:13 PM
wel techincally you can make it work. my friend got satallite internet and they said it woudlnt work with macs. he just made his pc a router and a bam, all his macs were online. i would do the same, just build or buy yourself a cheap cheap pc and your set.

iJon

Powerbook G5
Jul 25, 2003, 02:27 PM
I have a LinkSys Ethernet>USB adapter lying around from when my parents had a crappy Gateway without ethernet or anything more modern than 2 USB ports. It worked pretty well for connecting a cable modem to, although it is slightly slower than using a full blown ethernet connection. Of course, since it's satellite, you won't have to worry about loss of speed since the satellite services I have seen are typically slower than cable, anyway. The adapter is real cheapo, our cable company even gave it to us for free (must be cheap, then!) so I don't see it costing any more than $10-15 tops.

Kwyjibo
Jul 25, 2003, 04:02 PM
I wasn't saying that Mac's can't be a network that is started from the PC signal because they can. I'll confirm thiswith my friend tonight but its not like a cable modem where the output from the modem is ethernet, its a USB connctor because its requires a a USB port to communicate with the software that connects you and watches the signal and all that good stuff.


Mr. Obrien is assuming that its a simple signal coming from the satelittle router whereas when described to me its much more complex and requires PC only software to decode it.

iJon
Jul 25, 2003, 04:28 PM
yeah he is right, satellite requires special software, its more complicated than that.

iJon

patrick0brien
Jul 25, 2003, 04:41 PM
-All

Well, I learned something new today. Thanks guys.

As for the tech in this regard, how asinine. What happened to using straight TCP/IP with an RJ45 connector?

eromitlab
Jul 25, 2003, 05:30 PM
well... call me crazy... but, is fast internet really neccesary all the time? I mean, there is this invention called a modem that can get a computer connected to the internet through a regular old phone line... it's not blistering fast... but it's darned fast enough... wow, what will those computer geek type people think of next?? maybe they'll figure out how to make people that use computers think practically... then again... probably not, that would kill off their gravytrain.

TEG
Jul 25, 2003, 05:56 PM
Does it say it supports Macs at all, (I.e. OS 8 or 9)... ?

Well, It DTV really doesn't support Macs, you could sue them for false Advertizment, because the computer from their commercials is a PowerMac 5500, so it should work. Also, There are several different Sattilite 'net access.... There's D-Way from DTV, Dish Network has one too, and thre is also DirectPC, a special Dish for only your computer.

TEG

Flowbee
Jul 25, 2003, 06:25 PM
Originally posted by eromitlab
well... call me crazy... but, is fast internet really neccesary all the time? I mean, there is this invention called a modem that can get a computer connected to the internet through a regular old phone line... it's not blistering fast... but it's darned fast enough... wow, what will those computer geek type people think of next??

Well, I guess it depends on what you use your computer for. Some people need to send and receive very large files for work (I know from experience, it used to take hours on my dial-up). Also, if you want to watch QT movie trailers, or download a couple of albums from the iTunes Music Store, a high-speed coneection makes a world of difference. Most of us may not need high-speed access 'all the time,' but when we do, it's nice to know it's there.

patrick0brien
Jul 25, 2003, 07:41 PM
Originally posted by eromitlab
well... call me crazy... but, is fast internet really neccesary all the time?

-eromitlab

It's like a celphone: you never knew how much you needed it until you have one.

For those who haven't experienced High-speed, of couse they won't miss it. But those that do, the needs grow to fit the supply. Good 'ol supply and demand.

Nermal
Jul 25, 2003, 10:14 PM
Why can't you just use a different modem, one that plugs into the Ethernet port?

zulgand04
Jul 25, 2003, 10:56 PM
i forgot what site i saw it on i think ot was a advertisement of versiontracker.com , it was for a mac compatible satilite service the prices were around the same as other services i think, it i find the lionk i'll post it.

-Neal

Kwyjibo
Jul 26, 2003, 01:31 AM
Originally posted by patrick0brien
-eromitlab

It's like a celphone: you never knew how much you needed it until you have one.

For those who haven't experienced High-speed, of couse they won't miss it. But those that do, the needs grow to fit the supply. Good 'ol supply and demand.


exactly, Same thing with an ipod or new features on a car...you don't really need them but once you get used to it.....

When you don't have to sign in, when your surfing on the coach via wifi and when your outside in the shade on the hammock you will appreciate broadband (via wifi or a really long cord....)

jbomber
Jul 26, 2003, 04:48 AM
Originally posted by eromitlab
well... call me crazy... but, is fast internet really neccesary all the time? I mean, there is this invention called a modem that can get a computer connected to the internet through a regular old phone line... it's not blistering fast... but it's darned fast enough... wow, what will those computer geek type people think of next?? maybe they'll figure out how to make people that use computers think practically... then again... probably not, that would kill off their gravytrain.

i like my streaming porn to be smooth...:D

iJon
Jul 26, 2003, 10:11 AM
Originally posted by Nermal
Why can't you just use a different modem, one that plugs into the Ethernet port?
satellite uses a special modem, its a huge box, my friend used to have one. and it uses special software to communicate with the mac. until someone rights software for the mac, you cannot use satellite internet with the mac unless you make a pc in your house a router for the internet.

iJon

King Cobra
Jul 26, 2003, 12:48 PM
The only satellite service I have been able to find to provide Mac support is Wildblue (www.wildblue.com), but their service isn't available yet. It is very promising for Mac users with zero broadband available around their homes. (I happen to be one of those Mac users.)

One thing I remember hearing about Wildblue is they promise to deliver their service each year, then wait. Perhaps this time it will be finalized.

And I don't think you will see another BuyMusic.com come out of Wildblue.

Nermal
Jul 27, 2003, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by iJon
satellite uses a special modem, its a huge box, my friend used to have one. and it uses special software to communicate with the mac. until someone rights software for the mac, you cannot use satellite internet with the mac unless you make a pc in your house a router for the internet.

iJon

One of the satellite providers over here lists an Ethernet port in their system requirements. Presumably this is to connect an Ethernet satellite modem? They list their system requirements as OS 7.5 or later I think (as well as Windows of course). On the other hand are their different types of satellite available? Would there be different modems for different types?