PDA

View Full Version : stupid, STUPID iSight


couch potato
Jul 26, 2003, 03:29 PM
grr, my family just bought 2 iSight cameras. we hooked both of them up to different computers. The computers find each other over Rondevou (or however you spell it). When one computer invites another computer, and the computer accepts the invitation, it says on the other computer "thisperson is currently in another conference"

it does the same thing with audio. does anyone know why this is happening?:(

thx, we were real excited about these cameras

hmm, well its the network, we have figured out. but it still doesnt work....:(

loveshismac
Jul 26, 2003, 04:42 PM
my isight works perfectly.
thru renduvous and the aim network

maybe u should reinstall ichat av or just throw away the pref file.

couch potato
Jul 26, 2003, 04:44 PM
that would do nothing because it works, just not with anyone in my network. for instance, i could chat with you fine, but if you were in my network, i wouldnt be able to.


throw away the prefs file?:confused:

Abstract
Jul 26, 2003, 04:59 PM
Dude, doesn't it go by IP?

ZildjianKX
Jul 26, 2003, 05:35 PM
If it goes by IP, any way to change it to your private IPs?

solvs
Jul 26, 2003, 06:33 PM
I'm sure this would work, even over a network. Try e-mailing Apple and/or trying their knowledge base if you're still having any other issues. Or if you have a local Apple Store, ask the genious.

Please don't blame the iSight. :p

iJon
Jul 26, 2003, 06:49 PM
i have the exact same problem. works find over the net, lan doesnt. even audio doesnt work. every now and then ill ******* it up and it will work but its still in the buggy stage. i shouldnt have to open ports since its inside of the network.

iJon

Peter Kim
Jul 26, 2003, 08:14 PM
why don't you just... walk over to the person?

*shrug*

MacUser1
Jul 26, 2003, 08:36 PM
i've been using iChat AV with Rendezvous and I can audio chat with my family on our network perfectly. However, we do not use iSight yet, we are using the built-in microphones in our Macs.
I hope this is not an iSight problem because we were planning on purchasing a couple of them for the family. :(

iJon
Jul 26, 2003, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by MacUser1
i've been using iChat AV with Rendezvous and I can audio chat with my family on our network perfectly. However, we do not use iSight yet, we are using the built-in microphones in our Macs.
I hope this is not an iSight problem because we were planning on purchasing a couple of them for the family. :(
ist not, its just the software is still beta and buggy and im sure it doesnt like certain things about certain networks.

iJon

scan300
Jul 26, 2003, 10:03 PM
Make sure both your computers don't have the same IP address and also different to the router.

eg this is correct:
10.0.1.0 Router
10.0.1.2 PC1
10.0.1.3 PC2 etc

eg this is wrong:
10.0.1.1 Router
10.0.1.1 PC1
10.0.1.1 PC2 etc

iJon
Jul 27, 2003, 02:19 AM
Originally posted by scan300
Make sure both your computers don't have the same IP address and also different to the router.

eg this is correct:
10.0.1.0 Router
10.0.1.2 PC1
10.0.1.3 PC2 etc

eg this is wrong:
10.0.1.1 Router
10.0.1.1 PC1
10.0.1.1 PC2 etc
i know the ips arent the same because mac os x detects if someone else has the same as ip as, therfore not being able to do anything internet related.

iJon