PDA

View Full Version : G4 450DP hard drive question




sohosid
Jul 25, 2007, 04:18 PM
Hey all,

I'm putting together a poor man's server with an old G4 450DP. I want to put 2 500GB drives set up as a RAID...but the specs of the G4 seem to suggest that anything over 120GB isn't supported. True? Anyone put a larger drive in with success?

Thanks

Mike



MIDI_EVIL
Jul 25, 2007, 04:31 PM
Hey all,

I'm putting together a poor man's server with an old G4 450DP. I want to put 2 500GB drives set up as a RAID...but the specs of the G4 seem to suggest that anything over 120GB isn't supported. True? Anyone put a larger drive in with success?

Thanks

Mike

Yes you can put in a larger drive, but it will still only read the 120GB.

You need an SCSI PCI controller card.

Rich.

rezwits
Jul 25, 2007, 06:00 PM
I have a G4/533 mHz Dual, with 2 x 250 GB ATA Drives installed. I used a Sonnet Tempo Trio Card with the Two ATA/133 Ports. Unless you have a card that is ATA/133 or something, usually the webpage describing the card will tell you "Large Drive Support", otherwise without a card you can't see >128 GB. External HD with Firewire you can see larger drives though. You could get a Serial ATA card, Parrallel ATA card, or SCSI card. It's up to you... but in anycase no you can't read drive >128 GB with the built in Parallel ATA/66.

sohosid
Jul 25, 2007, 06:11 PM
Thanks guys,

I've ordered the Sonnet Tempo ATA/133 card from OtherWorld, and already got hold of 2 x 500GB Maxtor drives ready.

Mike

thebigmboy
Jul 30, 2007, 11:02 PM
I have a similar situation except with a 933mhz quicksilver. Frys is having a sale on this drive,

http://shop2.outpost.com/{YEI6zqx0ILcn1AR5yQrYMw**.node3}/product/4697788#detailed

will it work in my computer?