PDA

View Full Version : adding more memory to emac




seablue
Aug 5, 2007, 10:13 AM
Right now my eMac 800 MHz 133MHz is running on only 384MB. I would like to upgrade the memory on it.
My question is.... is it easy to do myself? Do I need to worry about static? Where would be a good place to do it - I have wall to wall carpeting inside the house.
I just have this fear of opening up the computer and dinking with its insides.



CanadaRAM
Aug 5, 2007, 10:34 AM
Right now my eMac 800 MHz 133MHz is running on only 384MB. I would like to upgrade the memory on it.
My question is.... is it easy to do myself? Do I need to worry about static? Where would be a good place to do it - I have wall to wall carpeting inside the house.
I just have this fear of opening up the computer and dinking with its insides.

Yes, it is quite easy. Your USB 1.1 eMac requires PC133 RAM DIMMs, it will take 2 x 512 Mb DIMMs for a max of 1 Gb RAM. There is a trap door on the bottom of the machine that gives access to the memory. The only hassle is if you have the tilt-and-swivel stand installed, then you will need Allan keys to remove the 3 screws that hold on stand before you can get at the trap door.
Lay a towel on a desk to rest the screen on as you do the operation. Unplug the machine from the mains. Either wear an anti-static wrist strap, or keep a finger resting on the metal chassis of the machine. Here's the Manual (http://download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Manuals/desktops/0221295eMacUG.pdf)

seablue
Aug 5, 2007, 11:44 AM
Hey thanks. Where do you get those wrists bands? I like that idea!

CanadaRAM
Aug 5, 2007, 11:55 AM
Hey thanks. Where do you get those wrists bands? I like that idea!

Electronics store, or some memory vendors will sell you one with your memory.