PDA

View Full Version : Should I buy a G4 at reduced price or a G5

ddahlberg
Aug 15, 2003, 12:42 PM
I need to buy a new computer. I now have a G4 667mhz 1gig RAM that has been crashing in every way a computer can crash. Disk Warrior says the hard drive has a pending failure. I have done everything...rebuilt the hard drive, reinstalled all my software, run all sorts of diagnostics, I've taken it to a "certified" apple repair service...still no fixes....and now I'm fed up. This has been going on for 8 months...ever since I installed Jaguar. No one seems to be able to help me, so I'm considering buying a new one.
Now my conundrum is whether to buy a G5 or a dual G4 at almost half the price. I am a graphic designer doing web, print and CD work. I have a limited budget, but I don't want to paint myself in a corner if the G4 will not last for 3-5 years. I bought my current computer 2 1/2 years ago. I've been a loyal Apple customer since there were Apples, but I am so fed up with my present situation that I've even considered switching to a PC. Any advice will be sincerely appreciated.

iPC
Aug 15, 2003, 03:23 PM
Sounds like it is a either a motherboard or hard drive problem. You bought good memory?

If you have the extended Apple Care... then they need to fix it. That is what you payed for. If they say no, ask for that person's boss. And so on, and so on. Eventually someone will notice/care enough to get this fixed.

If you don't have the extended Apple Care, buy the fastest G5 system you can afford. I would try to go for the dual 2.0GHz, it has more PCI-X slots and more memory slots for upgrades in the future.

Don't look at switching until after you get everything sorted with Apple first. That means you have to buy new software also... and that aint cheap!

Best of luck!

kovake
Aug 15, 2003, 04:23 PM