PDA

View Full Version : iPod touch and iPod classic connected?




deboni
Sep 17, 2007, 01:03 PM
Since the iPod Touch runs OS X, does it have a full version of iTunes? If so, could one hook a larger iPod (say an 80 or 160 GB model) to it and direct the Touch's iTunes to use the library on the larger disk-based device? This would be a useful hack.

Tom DeBoni



robPOD
Sep 18, 2007, 01:48 AM
No.

fredsherbet
Sep 18, 2007, 02:24 AM
does it have an itunesy interface for playing back music (e.g. can you add tracks to playlists, modify smart playlists etc)?

nlivo
Sep 18, 2007, 03:38 AM
you guys dont know much about the iPod touch, do you? just go to the apple website and have a little look around.

feelthefire
Sep 18, 2007, 08:53 AM
Even if it did run full OSX (and it doesn't) the touch doesn't have the ability to act as a host/ controller so it can't access an attached drive. Doesn't have anything to do with itunes and has everything to do with the hardware configuration.

MacBass
Sep 20, 2007, 08:11 PM
In addition, you would need to track down a 30-pin to 30-pin dock connector cable, or solder your own.

And no, the iPod touch is not running a full version of OS X. A watered down version, yes.

Quiara
Sep 20, 2007, 11:19 PM
dlt.