PDA

View Full Version : iPhone Firmware Downgrade, Not So Fast




MacRumors
Sep 27, 2007, 08:10 PM
http://www.macrumors.com/images/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com)

Some early upgraders of iPhone Firmware 1.1.1 (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/09/27/apple-releases-iphone-1-1-1-update/) who are accustomed to 3rd party applications may be interested in restoring their iPhones to the previous firmware, version 1.0.2.

At the moment, this does not appear to be possible due to the new firmware's use of upgraded GSM modem firmware, which is not downgrade-able by simply applying the old system firmware. More information can be found via this hackint0sh forum thread (http://hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8221).

Naturally, we will monitor the situation and provide updates as warranted.

Article Link (http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2007/09/27/iphone-firmware-downgrade-not-so-fast/)



longofest
Sep 27, 2007, 08:12 PM
... which by the way SUCKS. I really liked those 3rd party apps.

appleguru1
Sep 27, 2007, 08:30 PM
Well, I bit the bullet and did the upgrade-- big mistake :(

I'm already missing iBlackjack and my customized summerboard :/ Black is sooo boring :( :(

BTW, in case anyone is wondering, non-iTMS custom ringtones don't work at ALL with 1.1.1, even with iTunes 7.4.1 and the renaming hack.

AppleSJ511606
Sep 27, 2007, 08:30 PM
that's a swift kick in the nuts for anyone attempting to upgrade, see what it's like, and attempt to downgrade to 3rd party apps

Hope those haxorz get movin!

jeffyhow
Sep 27, 2007, 08:41 PM
that's a swift kick in the nuts for anyone attempting to upgrade, see what it's like, and attempt to downgrade to 3rd party apps

Hope those haxorz get movin!

Like me...and I didn't even want to use 3rd party aps or unlock it. I just wanted to use it with a non iPhone AT&T plan which I had. Now my day old iPhone is stuck waiting for me to pay $20 more a month for 24 months or wait for an activation hack.

laidbackliam
Sep 27, 2007, 09:28 PM
Like me...and I didn't even want to use 3rd party aps or unlock it. I just wanted to use it with a non iPhone AT&T plan which I had. Now my day old iPhone is stuck waiting for me to pay $20 more a month for 24 months or wait for an activation hack.

why did you update it?

MacNut
Sep 27, 2007, 09:39 PM
I have a feeling this one might come back and bite Apple in the butt.

jeffyhow
Sep 27, 2007, 10:23 PM
why did you update it?

Good question, partially because I thought I could go back to 1.0.2

gceo
Sep 28, 2007, 12:49 AM
Like me...and I didn't even want to use 3rd party aps or unlock it. I just wanted to use it with a non iPhone AT&T plan which I had. Now my day old iPhone is stuck waiting for me to pay $20 more a month for 24 months or wait for an activation hack.

Exchange it. It's only a day old.

designimbus
Sep 28, 2007, 09:37 AM
Well, I bit the bullet and did the upgrade-- big mistake :(

I'm already missing iBlackjack and my customized summerboard :/ Black is sooo boring :( :(

BTW, in case anyone is wondering, non-iTMS custom ringtones don't work at ALL with 1.1.1, even with iTunes 7.4.1 and the renaming hack.


I updated to 1.1.1 and my custom ringtones are still working on iTunes 7.4.1.
I didn't use a program to install them, I manually did the renaming and they are still working fine.

naroola
Sep 28, 2007, 11:44 AM
Well, I locked my iPhone using anySIM, but per reports I cannot update it to the new firmware (1.1.1) until the dev team figures out how to relock the phone to "virgin" state. However, iPhoneSimFree's method does seem to withstand the update. Could I theoretically purchase iPhoneSimFree's software and apply it to my iPhone (which is already unlocked via anySIM), and then update the firmware to 1.1.1?

infinityonhigh
Sep 28, 2007, 02:39 PM
Well, I bit the bullet and did the upgrade-- big mistake :(

I'm already missing iBlackjack and my customized summerboard :/ Black is sooo boring :( :(

BTW, in case anyone is wondering, non-iTMS custom ringtones don't work at ALL with 1.1.1, even with iTunes 7.4.1 and the renaming hack.

So you've already installed the update? I've yet to talk to anyone that had install.app and tried updating. I'm really apprehensive to update my iPhone, I am with AT&T so I didn't unlock it but I had the installer.app on it. I can do without the third party applications because I didn't have them on there for a long period of time I just want to double check my iPhone will still work after updating it.

jeffyhow
Sep 28, 2007, 05:49 PM
Exchange it. It's only a day old.

I ordered it online and I don't think they'll just give me a new one for no reason. It's not bricked, I just can't activate it in iTunes because I don't want to pay $20 more a month for 2 yrs.

KittyToy
Sep 29, 2007, 07:58 PM
So you've already installed the update? I've yet to talk to anyone that had install.app and tried updating. I'm really apprehensive to update my iPhone, I am with AT&T so I didn't unlock it but I had the installer.app on it. I can do without the third party applications because I didn't have them on there for a long period of time I just want to double check my iPhone will still work after updating it.


your phone will still work u just wont have any more 3rd party aps...the new frimware just restores your phone back to the original state, but it wont brick it, because i had app tap and installed the update and my phone still works as it did before

RAZZo
Sep 29, 2007, 08:32 PM
It is downgradable.

http://iphone.unlock.no/#downgrade-1.1.1-firmware

pedroistheman
Sep 30, 2007, 01:03 AM
if i buy an iphone right now, can i downgrade to 1.0.2 or is that out of the question? When are 3rd party apps expected to be available on 1.1.1?

eddiebrock
Sep 30, 2007, 11:43 AM
This thread needs to be either closed or updated as the headline is no longer accurate. Many people here and at hackint0sh have confirmed that a method illustrated by user KMAC works like a charm to downgrade.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=362515

and

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9032

Phone will get wi-fi and other non-phone functionalities back.

Development of a baseband downgrade is in progress and should be completed shortly, after which those risk takers can safely get back to 1.0.2 completely.

http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=9105

eddiebrock
Sep 30, 2007, 11:46 AM
if i buy an iphone right now, can i downgrade to 1.0.2 or is that out of the question? When are 3rd party apps expected to be available on 1.1.1?

You should be able to downgrade to 1.0.2 as soon as the baseband downgrade is complete. If you buy the phone now, you will be able to downgrade to 1.0.2 but won't be able to use the phone function. That should be fixed in a few days, so just wait it out and then you can do a full downgrade. :)

pedroistheman
Sep 30, 2007, 01:46 PM
You should be able to downgrade to 1.0.2 as soon as the baseband downgrade is complete. If you buy the phone now, you will be able to downgrade to 1.0.2 but won't be able to use the phone function. That should be fixed in a few days, so just wait it out and then you can do a full downgrade. :)

So even w/ ATT, there would be no phone functionality?

SheepNutz
Sep 30, 2007, 02:47 PM
So even w/ ATT, there would be no phone functionality?

No, i have AT&T and i did the downgrade this morning. All phone functions, texting, and visual voicemail still work just fine, and i still have the modem firmware that came with the 1.1.1 update.

pedroistheman
Sep 30, 2007, 08:04 PM
No, i have AT&T and i did the downgrade this morning. All phone functions, texting, and visual voicemail still work just fine, and i still have the modem firmware that came with the 1.1.1 update.

best news I have heard in a while. so would you say the downgrade is worth the trouble even w/ an att locked phone?

SheepNutz
Sep 30, 2007, 09:53 PM
I'm really happy I downgraded. I synced it right before I started it, so when you get to the step at the end where it restores to the last sync in itunes, all of my contacts, settings, calendars, etc were there. I just had to resync my music and movies, put in my voicemail, wifi, and email account passwords, and I was good to go. Of course I had to put my NES roms and ringtones back on using SSH, but that's no biggie either. If you really miss apptap, definitely go for it, you won't be sorry.

SeYaSeEeQTR
Sep 30, 2007, 10:43 PM
Hope to get the 1.1.1 sorted out soon ..

match/cut
Sep 30, 2007, 11:52 PM
This may be well known but has been a big problem for me. Please let me know if others have the same problem. While on the edge network (Not Wi-fi) and having Safari open my phone will not inform me of any incoming calls and voicemails take 10-30min to show up.

Canuck4
Oct 1, 2007, 11:38 AM
Obviously if you're using edge you cant receive phone calls.
Its like using your phone line for dialup internet and expecting to receive phonecalls at the same time also.
It dont work like that.
But voicemails should show up shortly after you log off the web/edge

This may be well known but has been a big problem for me. Please let me know if others have the same problem. While on the edge network (Not Wi-fi) and having Safari open my phone will not inform me of any incoming calls and voicemails take 10-30min to show up.