PDA

View Full Version : touch + car = ?




OrangeCuse44
Oct 10, 2007, 09:12 PM
Has anyone used a touch with a car iPod adapter and have it work? Im referring to one that connects through the dock connector. I know its the same size but there have been reports of the touch software not working with peripherals used for gen 5.5.



gloss
Oct 10, 2007, 09:21 PM
Has anyone used a touch with a car iPod adapter and have it work? Im referring to one that connects through the dock connector. I know its the same size but there have been reports of the touch software not working with peripherals used for gen 5.5.

Works fine on my older Alpine stereo with iPod hookup.

johnsonsimon
Oct 11, 2007, 02:41 AM
I got a Belkin TuneFM adapter and it works just fine, except with the old ipod it used to display the FM frequency on the ipod screen so you could se what it was set at and alter it, etc... on the touch this doesnt appear, it just says accessory/device connected and then starts to play.

You can still alter the FM frequency but you just can see what you are changing it to.

I would suggest buying an iTrip that has the little LCD screen on it.

Vigilante
Oct 11, 2007, 02:44 AM
Buy a new car, my Civic has an audio port, and the audio male-male adapter is only $4 at Wal-Mart :D

aft
Oct 11, 2007, 07:28 PM
the griffin tune flex works well for a holder and charger if you have an AUX interface.

Dublo7
Oct 11, 2007, 07:30 PM
If you have an older car, you could just buy a little cassette adaptor, with a headphone input jack on it. They cost like 2 bucks.

OrangeCuse44
Oct 11, 2007, 10:12 PM
If you have an older car, you could just buy a little cassette adaptor, with a headphone input jack on it. They cost like 2 bucks.

I have a 2005 Scion tC. My friend has the iSimple adapter installed thru Best Buy and it sounds great. Thats what i would want.

dukebound85
Oct 12, 2007, 02:27 AM
mine works just fine

OrangeCuse44
Oct 12, 2007, 06:56 AM
mine works just fine

By yours, are you referring to the iSimple adapter?

DocVT
Oct 12, 2007, 07:18 AM
On my Belkin, I cannot seem to find the FM station that it is broadcasting to. Still, doesn't work for me.


I got a Belkin TuneFM adapter and it works fine, except with the old ipod it used to display the FM frequency on the ipod screen so you could se what it was set at and alter it, etc... on the touch this doesnt appear, it just says accessory/device connected and then starts to play.
You can still alter the FM frequency but you just can see what you are changing it to. I would suggest buying an iTrip that has the little LCD screen on it.

funkyshaker
Oct 12, 2007, 07:53 AM
For those that are interested the Touch works fine with the Dension Icelink system. Steering wheel controls also work.

jelloyacket
Oct 19, 2007, 10:24 AM
I'm planning on getting a Griffin iTrip (Dock). Has anybody gotten one to charge their touch with a cell phone car charger? In another forum, somebody mentioned their wall charger doesn't seem to work with it. Griffin's website claims compatibility, but the owner's manual hasn't been updated for the newer iPod models.

KDoyle
Oct 19, 2007, 11:59 AM
My wall charger and in-car dock work fine with my touch. No problems at all.

solyd
Oct 19, 2007, 12:06 PM
Buy a new car, my Civic has an audio port, and the audio male-male adapter is only $4 at Wal-Mart :D

Yeah too bad the car will put a big dent in your wallet. I won't have enough cash after the male-male adapter; then I'll just be stuck with 2 males...sausagefest is whack.

Mystikal
Oct 19, 2007, 12:10 PM
Works fine in my Scion tC...

OrangeCuse44
Oct 19, 2007, 03:35 PM
Works fine in my Scion tC...

Nice. tC's baby!

Tmchenry2010
Oct 19, 2007, 10:19 PM
Could you install an audio port in your car?

all i have is a stock CD player in my car and i cant buy a new one b/c i just spent all of my money on my ipt :P

Stratification
Oct 19, 2007, 10:56 PM
Crutchfield has a great guide for iPod connections in a car. Including stock stereos etc. Picked mine up for about $90 for the stock stereo on my PT Cruiser.
Site Here (http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/SuperProdgroup.asp?g=770&tp=15&&cm_re=topnav*prodmenu3*spg_770)

Sweetbike40
Oct 20, 2007, 08:14 AM
I just got an Alpine 9870 head unit installed into my Beetle and the Touch works perfectly on it! No need to even touch the Touch. I can safely access my ipod now. There was one trick that took me a bit to figure out. In order to access songs, artists, playlists, etc., i needed to turn off shuffle on the iPod Touch. Ummm where do you do that? The manual was not clear on that. It's not in settings. Answer: Click on the album art while you have a song playing. It will flip to the other side showing the songs on that album and other info. On the top right you will see a shuffle icon. When it's blue, it's on shuffle, touch it, it turns white, then the shuffle is turned off. When it's turned off like this, then the Alpine units work correctly.:D

rworne
Oct 20, 2007, 12:40 PM
For those that are interested the Touch works fine with the Dension Icelink system. Steering wheel controls also work.

Yes but the iPod display will no longer show the song info or any settings from the settings menu. Bummer.

Still, it works in ipod interface mode - and that seems to work better than the fully integrated mode anyway. Just if you switch to the wrong disc # on the radio, you are screwed.

I submitted a bug report to Apple about this, and I know what they plan to do with it, but unfortunately I am under an NDA as to their plans on fixing the bug.

But if I could say something, it would be: "don't hold your breath".

Millwood
Oct 20, 2007, 02:39 PM
Mine works fine with the FM transmitter.

WiLo
Oct 20, 2007, 04:34 PM
I got a Kenwood KDC-MP428 and I just bought a KCA-iP500 interface iPod and its working excellent.

lordjonny
Oct 20, 2007, 08:00 PM
my new pioneer headunit also connects fine, the ipod screen comes up on the headunit screen which is a bit **** as id rather use the ipod easier and COOLer :D mite hook it up as aux in sometime in the near future:rolleyes:

bozboyku1
Oct 21, 2007, 12:46 AM
JVC head unit adapter does not work :( hopefully it will be fixed in a firmware update cause im still using my old ipod with my ipod interface..

derryquinn
Oct 21, 2007, 01:01 PM
touch + car = broken ipod ;)

derryquinn
Oct 21, 2007, 01:03 PM
Yes but the iPod display will no longer show the song info or any settings from the settings menu. Bummer.

Still, it works in ipod interface mode - and that seems to work better than the fully integrated mode anyway. Just if you switch to the wrong disc # on the radio, you are screwed.

I submitted a bug report to Apple about this, and I know what they plan to do with it, but unfortunately I am under an NDA as to their plans on fixing the bug.

But if I could say something, it would be: "don't hold your breath".

HAHAHA NDA for a bug? lollllll! Thats for like company secrets. Dumbass.

jelloyacket
Oct 21, 2007, 03:55 PM
For the record, it doesn't appear that my Motorola cell phone charger works with the iTrip Dock (both the car and wall chargers).

Looks like Griffin updated their website to be consistent with that (used to claim full compatibility with new iPods, including using your existing car charger).

savar
Oct 22, 2007, 09:30 AM
Has anyone used a touch with a car iPod adapter and have it work? Im referring to one that connects through the dock connector. I know its the same size but there have been reports of the touch software not working with peripherals used for gen 5.5.

Works with my pioneer ipod interface...with a few kinks. E.g. doesn't show the "Podcasts" playlist. I got around this by creating a smart playlist that shows all unplayed podcasts. But I can see the rest of the playlists, charge the battery, even safari works when its plugged into the car.

Jecko024
Oct 22, 2007, 04:15 PM
My newer alpine came up with a wierd error the first time and then i got it too play some Jimmy Eat world. Now, whenever I turn off my touch and plug it straight in in automatically plays Jimmy eat world lol. But I can control it and everything through my deck and change songs -- so pretty much it works like my older ipods (other than when I turn it off and dont choose a song before pluggin it in).

billabong
Oct 23, 2007, 02:31 PM
anyone tried this one

TuneBase FM with ClearScan?

cubbie5150
Oct 23, 2007, 02:52 PM
anyone tried this one

TuneBase FM with ClearScan?

It's not available yet....

Slip
Oct 23, 2007, 02:56 PM
touch + car = broken ipod ;)

Or car + iPod = Crash

dikiem
Oct 24, 2007, 01:06 PM
How about getting one of these for your ipod

http://www.harmankardon.com/drive-2/

http://www.harmankardon.com/drive-2/images/content.jpg

DeadlyB
Oct 24, 2007, 02:38 PM
Has anyone used a touch with a car iPod adapter and have it work? Im referring to one that connects through the dock connector. I know its the same size but there have been reports of the touch software not working with peripherals used for gen 5.5.

I just bought the Sony CDX-GT610Ui (http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/Item/Main.aspx?g=300&i=158GT610UI&c=3&tp=5684&avf=N) a month ago. It works great.