PDA

View Full Version : More than 2gb ram on powerbook?




sk3pt1c
Oct 19, 2007, 05:57 AM
is it possible to get more than 2gb ram on a last revision powerbook?



Makosuke
Oct 19, 2007, 04:23 PM
No.

The G4 is a 32 bit processor, meaning it can address at most 4GB of RAM. Due to the way the MacOS addresses memory (maybe someone else can explain the details--I'm not that knowledgeable) the actual limit is half that.

Thus, 2GB.

sk3pt1c
Oct 21, 2007, 02:24 PM
cool, thanks dude.
well, not so cool actually but i'm glad to know the reason at least. :)
if anyone can get more technical for us on why it's only 2gb, i'd appreciate it.
thanks! :)

Eidorian
Oct 21, 2007, 02:26 PM
My guess is that Apple decided to put a limit of 2 GB of RAM.

yippy
Oct 21, 2007, 02:43 PM
Th OS has nothing to do with it. In the PowerBooks the limit is in the motherboard chipset.

PowerMac G4s can address and hold a full 4Gb of ram using the same OS (even Mac OS 9 could handle the whole 4 Gigs).