More than 2gb ram on powerbook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by sk3pt1c, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    is it possible to get more than 2gb ram on a last revision powerbook?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #2
    No.

    The G4 is a 32 bit processor, meaning it can address at most 4GB of RAM. Due to the way the MacOS addresses memory (maybe someone else can explain the details--I'm not that knowledgeable) the actual limit is half that.

    Thus, 2GB.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    cool, thanks dude.
    well, not so cool actually but i'm glad to know the reason at least. :)
    if anyone can get more technical for us on why it's only 2gb, i'd appreciate it.
    thanks! :)
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    My guess is that Apple decided to put a limit of 2 GB of RAM.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    yippy

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    Th OS has nothing to do with it. In the PowerBooks the limit is in the motherboard chipset.

    PowerMac G4s can address and hold a full 4Gb of ram using the same OS (even Mac OS 9 could handle the whole 4 Gigs).
     

Share This Page