PDA

View Full Version : Panther DP ---> Panther GM?

ColoJohnBoy
Sep 5, 2003, 02:17 PM
I'm new to the developer game. I just joined ADC, downloaded the Panther preview, burned the disc image, began to install, and saw the following onscreen:

<i>You cannot upgrade "Panther" developer preview to "Panther" GM.</i>

Does this mean I'm stuck with the preview of Panther for good, or that I simply don't get the GM for free, and I'll have to pay the regular $129? Its probably the latter, but I want to make absolutely certain of that. I'm itching to install it, but I don't want to dig myself into a hole.

edesignuk
Sep 5, 2003, 02:18 PM
It means that when there is a final build of Panther (GM aka Gold Master), you will not be able to upgrade your beta build of Panther to this final version.

ColoJohnBoy
Sep 5, 2003, 02:22 PM
As in I'll just have to do a clean install of Panther? I just want to make sure it will be possible to install the GM. I don't care if I have to do a clean install, as long as I can do it. Sorry to be a pain...

edesignuk
Sep 5, 2003, 02:23 PM
Originally posted by ColoJohnBoy
As in I'll just have to do a clean install of Panther? I just want to make sure it will be possible to install the GM. I don't care if I have to do a clean install, as long as I can do it. Sorry to be a pain...
Exactly. You can install the GM no problem, you will just have to format and clean install first.

ColoJohnBoy
Sep 5, 2003, 02:29 PM
Okay, I'm being a major pain in the butt here. When I do install the GM, do I have to completely backup, erase, and reformat my hard drive? I don't suppose that would be a problem, as I have an external drive, I just want to have all the information before I do it.

edesignuk
Sep 5, 2003, 02:32 PM
Originally posted by ColoJohnBoy