PDA

View Full Version : Does Navizon work for all Canadians?


hdhanani
Oct 24, 2007, 07:51 PM
I recently installed Navizon on my iPT but the app can't locate my postion. Is this only exclusive to the US or are other Canadians using it without any problems?

As well, if I am the only one are there any suggestions?

grandeabc
Oct 25, 2007, 04:47 AM
Opps! Navizon doesn't work in Japan also.

cpnotebook80
Oct 25, 2007, 07:21 PM
it works for me however its not spot on..when it locates me
PS: toronto here

snooze button
Oct 25, 2007, 10:14 PM
Also in Canada and not working. (Navizon, that is)

hdhanani
Oct 26, 2007, 12:53 AM
interesting... maybe it is the lack of wi-fi hot spots in my area all thought I see about 4 or 5 networks in my range... i'll give it a try again... thanks!

IDANNY
Oct 26, 2007, 02:53 AM
I am in Las Vegas and it doesn't work. Its not real gps you can read about it on there website.

shoefly
Oct 26, 2007, 04:17 AM
I'm pretty sure it works best with cell towers, instead of wifi hotspots.

RobotBanana
Oct 26, 2007, 08:32 PM
Works in Canada for me. At home, it locates me as across the street and one house down. The only other time I've tried is was on St. Clair near Oakwood, and it nailed my position spot on. The only problem is since you don't have cell tower access or an actual GPS unit, ALL it can use to locate you is nearby WiFi points. So if people haven't mapped those WiFi points with an actual GPS unit, it won't work. Also, since you don't have constant internet access through cell towers, you have to be connected to a WiFi point in order for it to locate you.

Oh, and make sure you have the iPhone Google Maps application installed. Otherwise it never actually maps you out unless you hit Directions while it's trying to do so, in which case it opens up Safari at the Google Maps site.