PDA

View Full Version : Apple Updates Aperture to 1.5.6 for Leopard




MacRumors
Oct 26, 2007, 01:23 PM
http://www.macrumors.com/images/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com)

Apple release an update to Aperture (http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/aperture156update.html) today, which brings Aperture to verison 1.5.6.
Aperture 1.5.6 addresses issues related to performance, improves overall stability, and supports compatibility with Mac OS X v10.5. This update is recommended for all Aperture users.
The update provides compatibility for Mac OS X Leopard which is launching today.

Article Link (http://www.macrumors.com/2007/10/26/apple-updates-aperture-to-1-5-6-for-leopard/)



Habakuk
Oct 26, 2007, 01:25 PM
The update works fine with Tiger:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=375193

Peel
Oct 26, 2007, 01:27 PM
Downloading now. Just finished installing Leopard. Looks like this will be a day of updating.

BigJohno
Oct 26, 2007, 01:29 PM
That was fast.

Telefonkiosk
Oct 26, 2007, 01:34 PM
Can't they update the Macbook already:S

CrackedButter
Oct 26, 2007, 01:52 PM
Too late Apple, I sold my copy of Aperture and bought Lightroom.

fastbite
Oct 26, 2007, 01:57 PM
Puta Madre! Aperture needs all the help it can get.

Bolteh
Oct 26, 2007, 01:57 PM
Wrong update Apple, wrong update..

adamfilip
Oct 26, 2007, 01:59 PM
Does it add support for Canon 40D Raw files?

netdog
Oct 26, 2007, 02:02 PM
Does it add support for Canon 40D Raw files?

That will come in a system update, not an application update.

mainstreetmark
Oct 26, 2007, 02:06 PM
Does it enable iPhone note syncing?!


Haha. Hijacking is fun.

Eric Piercey
Oct 26, 2007, 02:12 PM
Lightroom all the way. Aperture is like using a screwdriver to take a rusted lugnut off.

Reach
Oct 26, 2007, 02:14 PM
THis update was VERY MUCH needed though, so I'm glad it came this quickly.

TraceyS/FL
Oct 26, 2007, 02:26 PM
I don't have it available to me though.....

Anyone else????

fattito
Oct 26, 2007, 02:30 PM
I installed the 9A581 build floating around the net on bittorrent. (I'm going to go buy it at 6, don't worry). This morning the Aperture and Pro Application Support updates showed up in Software Update. I installed both of them. The download started, and after they completed Software Update THEN asked for my administrator password for the install. This is a TERRIBLE change. I like to be able to hit install and walk away, not having to be there half way through the process to type my password. I think we should try to get Apple to change this back! What do you think?

Reach
Oct 26, 2007, 02:34 PM
Agreed, ask for password before the download starts, so it can run it's course without being managed.

kbleicher
Oct 26, 2007, 02:34 PM
Okay, so I downloaded the update after providing my Aperture 1.5 serial number on Apple's site, and as the install starts it tells me that I have to have at least Aperture Version 1.0 or later to install. what?

Cromulent
Oct 26, 2007, 02:45 PM
Okay, so I downloaded the update after providing my Aperture 1.5 serial number on Apple's site, and as the install starts it tells me that I have to have at least Aperture Version 1.0 or later to install. what?

Just use software update.

Kace
Oct 26, 2007, 02:51 PM
Well, just as I was getting frustrated trying to open up aperture i see this.
Downloading now, currently Aperture crashes as soon as it opens up in Leopard.
No such issues with FCS though.

So far so good with 10.5.0, much much smoother than 10.4.0

kbleicher
Oct 26, 2007, 03:03 PM
Just use software update.

Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.

bretm
Oct 26, 2007, 03:12 PM
Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.

Both are evidence that you don't have Aperture installed on your computer. If you do, it doesn't think you do. Run the 1.0 or 1.5 installer from original discs, then run the update.

Peel
Oct 26, 2007, 03:16 PM
Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.

Make sure you didn't change the name of, or move aperture from it's original location. Software Update is very particular about the name and location of applications.

CalfCanuck
Oct 26, 2007, 03:18 PM
Wasn't planning on updating to 10.5 right away, but early reportss seem to indicate that Aperture runs better under 10.5...

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1195875&tstart=0

kbleicher
Oct 26, 2007, 03:43 PM
Make sure you didn't change the name of, or move aperture from it's original location. Software Update is very particular about the name and location of applications.

Nope.. didn't do that.. Just sitting right at the top of my applications folder with the original name....

Update: Fixed it. I had installed the trial version of Aperture and just entered the serial number weeks later after the purchase. I re-installed from the CD and now it worked. I was under the impression the trial was the same as the purchased app. Guess it's different in some ways.

Kace
Oct 26, 2007, 03:43 PM
Wasn't planning on updating to 10.5 right away, but early reportss seem to indicate that Aperture runs better under 10.5...

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1195875&tstart=0

Agreed. Much Quicker and snappier. Both on the MP and MBP.

Oh and I'm not a 100% but i think software update in general asks for admin password after downloading the update (well this happened for Aperture).

And I don't know if this is the case for everyone else but MBP runs a LOT cooler whilst using Aperture. The metal strip above the function keys is barely warm.

Kace
Oct 26, 2007, 03:47 PM
Nope.. didn't do that.. Just sitting right at the top of my applications folder with the original name....

Thats a bit strange my update just showed up when I ran software update.

TMay
Oct 26, 2007, 04:17 PM
Software update doesn't list the Aperture upgrade. I'm a legal, registered user....

Thus I went to Apple's site to download it. I had to enter the info to download the update; the installer fails immediately per above.

Same for myself. I can't install the download, and System Update doesn't see it. I will be picking up Leopard tomorrow, so I'll try again then.

Otherwise, it looks like a reinstall.

More to the point, this would have been a reasonable occasion to provide a 2.0 update. I guess that leaves MWSF for the next best opportunity.

tom

beerguy
Oct 26, 2007, 04:22 PM
Now if they'd just update coreimage so the RAW conversion was worth a damn. I've been a legal, registered owner since 1.0 but it's getting really hard to justify using it as they get further and further behind.

appie57
Oct 26, 2007, 05:08 PM
Ran the update and checked, no problems (MBP C2D):)

SiliconAddict
Oct 26, 2007, 06:31 PM
I wonder when Apple is going to release Aperture 2.0 :confused:

mangis
Oct 26, 2007, 06:46 PM
updated aperture on Tiger and things are working much faster. don't care much about compatibility with iphoto, iLife, etc, just love that speed! I wonder if it will work even faster in Leopard. My academic copy arrives Monday.

kbleicher
Oct 27, 2007, 11:06 AM
Otherwise, it looks like a reinstall.

tom

I threw an update on my post yesterday with the fix I had.. It's buried though, so no worries.

I re-installed Aperture from the packaged CDs that came per my earlier order. I didn't do that in the past; I just entered the registration key via the trial version I downloaded.

After doing that the downloaded upgrade worked. Be sure to take a look around though. I think the install from CD put a new copy out there; it didn't replace the original. I had a little cleanup to do.