PDA

View Full Version : need for speed carbon doesn't work with Leopard?




borcenty
Oct 30, 2007, 10:19 AM
Hey,

I've upgraded my system to Leopard. After that I've installed nfs carbon but it doesn't work. The game launches, I can hear a lady speaking to me (game intro) + sound effects but screen is black and I can't see anything.

One of my friends had the same issue. He installed Leopard again (using erase and install rather then upgrade) and it worked for him.

I don't really want to go for that option - anyone knows a simpler solution?

I have MBP, ATY RadeonX1600, 2GB RAM so specs are within EA requirements.



hankolerd
Oct 30, 2007, 11:36 AM
I would try re-installing, just back up your save data if you have any that you don't want to lose. If you are able to get into the game with no video it sounds like some file path's or something were messed up when upgrading to leopard, that or maybe there is new vc drivers with leopard that don't like carbon.:apple:

EDIT: re-install NFSC that is, not leopard.:apple:

borcenty
Oct 30, 2007, 02:15 PM
I would try re-installing, just back up your save data if you have any that you don't want to lose. If you are able to get into the game with no video it sounds like some file path's or something were messed up when upgrading to leopard, that or maybe there is new vc drivers with leopard that don't like carbon.:apple:

EDIT: re-install NFSC that is, not leopard.:apple:

hi, thanks for a post.

I've installed nfsc AFTER upgrading to leopard. I didn't have nfsc installed on tiger. Anyway - tried it, but it didn't help.

anyone has other suggestions? anyone had the same problem?

BornAgainMac
Oct 30, 2007, 03:01 PM
I tried to google for a solution and it brought me back to this post.

borcenty
Oct 30, 2007, 06:31 PM
I wouldn't post if I could google it :-)

macvisions
Nov 1, 2007, 06:26 AM
Hi I also have problems with my iMac 20 " and then upgrade to Leopard, NFSC only works sound, the screen remains in black for the moment Apple said that no solution because it is a problem for drivers as it runs with port cider, sorry friends NFSC not work with Leopard.

www.macvisions.net more info

Soulstorm
Nov 1, 2007, 02:12 PM
Not all Cider ports have problems. Seems that Heroes 5 doesn't have any problems on Leopard. I am sure that a solution will be found sooner or later and we'll be running NFSC in Leopard soon...

rejoen
Nov 4, 2007, 04:23 AM
Cracking sounds during racing in Need for Speed Carbon, when several sounds play at the same time... Engine sound and music are OK, but when I use nitrous or hit a wall, it seems these extra sounds cause a problem... This didn't happen before upgrade to Leopard. Any similar experiences, ideas??

haruka
Jan 14, 2008, 04:24 AM
hey, i've just copied the nfs carbon to the app folder, so far no problems... but when i double click to lauch the app, the icon just bounces once on the dock and then nothing happens...

i'm running on a macbook pro with leopard.

help? _

Soulstorm
Jan 14, 2008, 09:28 AM
Many months afterwards we still don't have a solution. Seems EA will always be EA..

deadpixels
Jan 24, 2008, 12:50 AM
Download this config file, open with text edit, select all and copy.
Then go to home/library/preferences/Need for Speed Carbon Preferences , open the config file, select all, and paste what you earlier selected. hope this helps.
http://rapidshare.com/files/86156699/config.zip.html

Post back if all is fine :)

tomas1601
Feb 12, 2008, 07:41 PM
Yes, that config file made it work again under 10.5.2. I narrowed the changes in the config file down to one line:

change

"FBOBackbuffer" = "Y"

into

"FBOBackbuffer" = "N"

Thx!

loocalvinci
May 30, 2008, 11:23 PM
Download this config file, open with text edit, select all and copy.
Then go to home/library/preferences/Need for Speed Carbon Preferences , open the config file, select all, and paste what you earlier selected. hope this helps.
http://rapidshare.com/files/86156699/config.zip.html

Post back if all is fine :)

I have already tired this solution without any modification. It totally works!!!Thank you!

abstratoTN
Apr 1, 2009, 09:59 PM
repair config user/ library/ prefe../ need for speed carbon preferences/config

Mr. lax
Apr 1, 2009, 10:54 PM
Ya, thats the same fix to get mine working. Also, i need to know if you can do autosculpt and see results? Mine just shows the car as it was before