PDA

View Full Version : MakeiPhoneRingtones 1.3




MacRumors
Nov 13, 2007, 03:00 PM
http://www.macrumors.com/images/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com)

With the return of methods to create free ringtones to the iPhone, RougeAmoeba has reintroduced their MakeiPhoneRingtone application (http://www.rogueamoeba.com/utm/posts/News/MIR13-2007-11-12-18-30) which automates the manual process (http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2007/11/13/free-custom-ringtones-in-itunes-7-5-and-iphone-1-1-2/) of renaming your AAC files and reimporting them into iTunes.
Drop any AAC file on MakeiPhoneRingtone and it will be processed and passed off to iTunes, where it will be handled as a Ringtone. The file will show up in iTunes' Ringtone sub-library as well as the Ringtones tab in the iPhone section, where you can sync it to your iPhone. Once it's on your iPhone, you can use the file as a global ringtone, per-contact ringtone, or even an alarm clock sound.

The application is only available for Mac.

Article Link (http://www.macrumors.com/iphone/2007/11/13/makeiphoneringtones-1-3/)



tothecore
Nov 13, 2007, 03:07 PM
how long do we think this will work for? will this possibly make my phone a brick?:confused:

CWallace
Nov 13, 2007, 03:34 PM
how long do we think this will work for?

Should be forever since Apple is no longer actively denying custom ringtones since the iPhone 1.1.2 firmware.


Will this possibly make my phone a brick?:confused:

I am guessing it does not write data to the system software section (since it would have no reason to), so it should be perfectly safe.

bmg97
Nov 13, 2007, 03:48 PM
Okay, I have a question ! I updated itunes last night. Think it was a bad idea becuase I finally learned how to use garageband and convert all that crap. Now the ringtones will not load. I have 1.1.1. What the hell to I do ? :( I have itoner if needed. everytime I catch up something changes !!! I should go back to my old Nokia from 1998 !

tothecore
Nov 13, 2007, 04:18 PM
Should be forever since Apple is no longer actively denying custom ringtones since the iPhone 1.1.2 firmware.




I am guessing it does not write data to the system software section (since it would have no reason to), so it should be perfectly safe.

thx :D

rtcruz1
Nov 13, 2007, 05:03 PM
works perfectly for me.. I was waiting for this! I was using it before, and was so disappointed when it stopped working after the 1st firmware update. Now it's back! yipee!

Thanks Rogue Amoeba!

bmg97
Nov 13, 2007, 06:26 PM
How come the ringtone works when I play it. Then when I transfer it with itoner to the phone there is no sound from the ringtone on the phone ?

Me1000
Nov 13, 2007, 07:22 PM
There was an apple script that would let you automaticly import a song from itunes into garage band, you could edit it there, then it would send it to MakeiPhoneRingtone and then back to iTunes.

Anyone got a link?
:)

ross.32
Nov 13, 2007, 09:14 PM
I take it that this will not work for DRM tracks?

pilotError
Nov 13, 2007, 10:29 PM
They've made my wife very happy.

chr1s60
Nov 14, 2007, 12:58 PM
I still can't believe that Apple has allowed this free ringtone stuff to go on as long as it has. It seems crazy after they way they acted the first time free ringtones were discovered.

Red Dwarf
Nov 14, 2007, 01:35 PM
works perfectly for me.. I was waiting for this! I was using it before, and was so disappointed when it stopped working after the 1st firmware update. Now it's back! yipee!

Thanks Rogue Amoeba!

Not working for me. It loads the ring tones into the folder on itunes, but it does not sync to the phone.

Nice idea, but it just does not work.

bondsbw
Nov 14, 2007, 01:45 PM
Okay, I have a question ! I updated itunes last night. Think it was a bad idea becuase I finally learned how to use garageband and convert all that crap. Now the ringtones will not load. I have 1.1.1. What the hell to I do ? :( I have itoner if needed. everytime I catch up something changes !!! I should go back to my old Nokia from 1998 !

Have you considered iPhone update 1.1.2? That's what this post was about, not 1.1.1...

sacsig
Nov 14, 2007, 06:23 PM
works for me!!!!!!

The weird thing was that when I synced my phone it said the file could not be copied to the phone, but it did anyway!

daffymcg
Nov 14, 2007, 07:22 PM
Not working for me. It loads the ring tones into the folder on itunes, but it does not sync to the phone.

Nice idea, but it just does not work.

it aint workin for me either. appears in the subfolders in itunes and iphone, but does not appear in the sync ringtones tab. any suggestions?

fribhey
Nov 15, 2007, 11:33 AM
it aint workin for me either. appears in the subfolders in itunes and iphone, but does not appear in the sync ringtones tab. any suggestions?

the songs have to be 30 seconds or less for it to appear in the sync ringtones tab. it works perfectly with the latest itunes and iphone update.

IgorRudy
Nov 15, 2007, 12:51 PM
iPhone does not work in the cold weather when the users hands are cold (news from Ukraine). At least 1 out of 100 Ukrainians can not use iPhone if his/her hands are cold (below 36.6C) - screen just does not respond to the touches. Interestingly, number of not working iPhone cases, especially high among Ukrainian politicians :)
http://www.sostav.ua/news/2007/11/15/8/4307/

taybo20
Nov 15, 2007, 01:20 PM
iPhone does not work in the cold weather when the users hands are cold (news from Ukraine). At least 1 out of 100 Ukrainians can not use iPhone if his/her hands are cold (below 36.6C) - screen just does not respond to the touches. Interestingly, number of not working iPhone cases, especially high among Ukrainian politicians :)
http://www.sostav.ua/news/2007/11/15/8/4307/

And why exactly did you post this in this thread?

ross.32
Nov 15, 2007, 01:26 PM
Because if they cannot use their iPhone with cold hands, then they will not be able to answer someone's call when their custom ring-tone starts going off.

pooryou
Nov 15, 2007, 08:33 PM
I understand dead people have a lot of trouble answering their phones also, even with really loud ringtones...

daffymcg
Nov 15, 2007, 09:04 PM
the songs have to be 30 seconds or less for it to appear in the sync ringtones tab. it works perfectly with the latest itunes and iphone update.

thanks. it worked. under 30 is the trick.

MacKraut
Nov 16, 2007, 02:52 PM
I understand dead people have a lot of trouble answering their phones also, even with really loud ringtones...

That's because unless cremated, a dead person's hands are below, what was it, 36.6 C?

ross.32
Nov 16, 2007, 02:56 PM
I guess they could just plug in the ear phones and use them to answer it. That way they do not have to worry about touching the screen. Not to get back on topic or anything, but this app only works with songs that are not bought from the iTunes store, correct?

MacKraut
Nov 16, 2007, 03:00 PM
thanks. it worked. under 30 is the trick.

I was thrown out by that one as well, even though I had read the comment on Rogue's website, clearly stating that ringtones would not get sync'd if they were 40.4 seconds in length, but 40.3 worked.

It appears the limit is not 30 seconds (I have ringtones that exceed 35 seconds)

My confusion stemmed from the fact that when I used GarageBand (I had never used it before, I'm not the music creative type (sigh)) changing the bottom display to show time, I spliced 35 seconds of a song, or so it said at the bottom, but when playing in iTunes after importing the excerpt, it exceeded 40 seconds of play time. I first thought I had forgotten to delete around the spliced section, but confirmed I had not.

Any GarageBand user knows why that is?

I suspect something like a setting for "beat"/"speed", but I'm clueless.

In any case, on Rogue's site it states 40.3 seconds will syn, 40.4 will not, although the logic for this is unknown.

Thanks you Rogue for releasing this new version.
Thanks Apple for making us happy by allowing custom ringtones from our collections of sounds, custom and otherwise legally acquired and owned music.

MacKraut
Nov 16, 2007, 03:02 PM
I guess they could just plug in the ear phones and use them to answer it. That way they do not have to worry about touching the screen. Not to get back on topic or anything, but this app only works with songs that are not bought from the iTunes store, correct?

I suspect it works for all non DRM songs.

I assume that any iTunes+ song should thus work, but can't confirm. I have not bought DRM free iTunes tracks, or converted those that are now available.

ross.32
Nov 16, 2007, 03:04 PM
Yeah I did not specify when I said iTunes Store songs I was meaning songs with DRM. I just assumed that iTunes Plus would work, and that any DRM song would not.

juststranded
Nov 16, 2007, 03:16 PM
charitygear.org/iringer.html


iRinger uses a similar method, but it makes it a lot easier. The songs don't have t be 30 seconds, and you don't have to deal with AAC's in the finder.

Select your songs in iTunes and click continue and all the songs will be turned into ringtones and added to the Ringtones tab and begin playing.

It so easy.

redgaz26
Nov 17, 2007, 04:34 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3B48a Safari/419.3)

works for me. Loving it.

CrockettGTO
Nov 19, 2007, 10:32 PM
Will this work with 1.1.1?

b1wils1
Nov 20, 2007, 02:48 AM
iPhone does not work in the cold weather when the users hands are cold (news from Ukraine). At least 1 out of 100 Ukrainians can not use iPhone if his/her hands are cold (below 36.6C) - screen just does not respond to the touches. Interestingly, number of not working iPhone cases, especially high among Ukrainian politicians :)
http://www.sostav.ua/news/2007/11/15/8/4307/


so what you're telling me is that if your finger is below 98 degrees F, it won't work? now, back to the issue at hand. do you have the dead person's finger that you're trying to use? have you tried clipping the nail?

riffat
Nov 29, 2007, 03:41 AM
works for me!!!!!!

The weird thing was that when I synced my phone it said the file could not be copied to the phone, but it did anyway!

thats what my phone says.... and it doesnt copy :( if it did copy where wouldi find these ringtones on iphone?

riffat
Nov 29, 2007, 05:51 AM
works for me!!!!!!

The weird thing was that when I synced my phone it said the file could not be copied to the phone, but it did anyway!

thats what my phone says.... and it doesnt copy :( if it did copy where would i find these ringtones on iphone?

pedroistheman
Dec 6, 2007, 06:55 PM
what are the options with this type of technology for PC? I hate to waste my money on iTunes ringtones when programs like this exist for free.

colonel2006
Dec 6, 2007, 11:24 PM
i have a pc so how do i get free ringtones for my iphone and if possible i saw this "A MacRumors forum member discovered that you can actually get free ringtones directly inside iTunes by just changing around a file extension. All official purchased ringtones have the .M4R extension, so all you have to do is rename any AAC file to a M4R file to get it to show up in iTunes under Ringtones. Sync to your phone and you're done. To delete the ringtones, you may have to go into the Ringtones folder under your iTunes music directory." can someone explain a little more in depth on how to do this.

megfilmworks
Dec 7, 2007, 08:11 PM
Why use software when you can simply drag your ringtones to the ringtone folder in iTunes and sync?
I have about 10 custom ringtones that I just dropped into the folder and they work perfectly.

Macgic
Dec 7, 2007, 08:43 PM
i have a pc so how do i get free ringtones for my iphone and if possible i saw this "A MacRumors forum member discovered that you can actually get free ringtones directly inside iTunes by just changing around a file extension. All official purchased ringtones have the .M4R extension, so all you have to do is rename any AAC file to a M4R file to get it to show up in iTunes under Ringtones. Sync to your phone and you're done. To delete the ringtones, you may have to go into the Ringtones folder under your iTunes music directory." can someone explain a little more in depth on how to do this.

the programs that they are talking about do this automatically. but if you want to waste your time you can convert a song to an AAC (extension is M4A) and find that song and open preferences, then change extension to M4R. if you need a more in depth walkthrough just ask.

arapaho
Dec 9, 2007, 07:52 AM
I am new to this, what is a acc file, please? Thanks.