PDA

View Full Version : Help -- can't mount AFP! Do you have 1.0 and SSH?




rogersmj
Nov 13, 2007, 08:26 PM
I'm getting desperate tonight with my new ATV...the hacking has not gone smoothly. However, all is now well except for one huge problem...I can't get to any of my media files because Apple removed afp_mount in 1.1, and this thing came with 1.1 installed so I can't go back to 1.0! All I need is the /sbin/mount_afp file from an Apple TV 1.0 or a machine running OS X 10.4.7-10.4.9 (10.4.10 will supposedly not work). The combo updates on Apple's downloads web site are mysteriously missing that file.

Can anyone with SSH and an ATV 1.0 nab that file and send it to me? This is killing me! rogersmj [ at ] gmail.com. Thank you!



tronic72
Nov 14, 2007, 04:52 AM
I'm getting desperate tonight with my new ATV...the hacking has not gone smoothly. However, all is now well except for one huge problem...I can't get to any of my media files because Apple removed afp_mount in 1.1, and this thing came with 1.1 installed so I can't go back to 1.0! All I need is the /sbin/mount_afp file from an Apple TV 1.0 or a machine running OS X 10.4.7-10.4.9 (10.4.10 will supposedly not work). The combo updates on Apple's downloads web site are mysteriously missing that file.

Can anyone with SSH and an ATV 1.0 nab that file and send it to me? This is killing me! rogersmj [ at ] gmail.com. Thank you!

I think your best best if the Apple TV hacks site. http://www.appletvhacks.net/ As soon as you start hacking you are pretty much on your own and have to rely on fellow hackers. Personally I think the Apple TV is simply not worth the effort as the few hack available don't really allow for much. If anyone ever provides a hack for surround sound I'll be voiding my warranty in 2 seconds flat.

Good luck.

rogersmj
Nov 14, 2007, 05:50 AM
If I didn't hack it, it would be worthless to me. I need it to

1. Connect to my file server
2. Play any codec it comes across.

...two things it can't do without being hacked. I actually have it working now with Samba, but I'd much rather do AFP because of the better performance. I'm just going to have to continue to try and rustle up the mount_afp binary from someone.

Anyone? :D

TuckBodi
Nov 14, 2007, 02:38 PM
I think your best best if the Apple TV hacks site. http://www.appletvhacks.net/ As soon as you start hacking you are pretty much on your own and have to rely on fellow hackers. Personally I think the Apple TV is simply not worth the effort as the few hack available don't really allow for much. If anyone ever provides a hack for surround sound I'll be voiding my warranty in 2 seconds flat.

Good luck.

Really?: http://trac.cod3r.com/a52codec/

And a better site for hacking is the awkwardtv site:
http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Index.html
http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Category:Plugins

Some cool plugins to play with right away are ATVFiles, NitoTV and Sapphire (new killer version coming any day now).

And as far as getting AFP going I messed around with that for awhile and was never successful. In the meantime I heard SMB was better and faster anyways and just ended up going that route. There's info on the wiki on how to get this going along with the plugins and how to Patchstick your ATV.

Mindflux
Nov 14, 2007, 02:41 PM
I have a 1.1 ATv too. I'd love to get Perian and AwkwardTV on it asap. It seems there is no patchstick's for 1.1 yet?

TuckBodi
Nov 14, 2007, 02:51 PM
I have a 1.1 ATv too. I'd love to get Perian and AwkwardTV on it asap. It seems there is no patchstick's for 1.1 yet?

Did it ship from the factory as 1.1 or did you upgrade to 1.1? If you upgraded then you should be able to restore to 1.0, hack it and then upgrade again to the YouTube version (1.1). Here an excellent step-by-step:

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Beginners_Guide

If you're at a factory 1.1 then I'm not sure...

Mindflux
Nov 14, 2007, 02:53 PM
Did it ship from the factory as 1.1 or did you upgrade to 1.1? If you upgraded then you should be able to restore to 1.0, hack it and then upgrade again to the YouTube version (1.1). Here an excellent step-by-step:

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Beginners_Guide

If you're at a factory 1.1 then I'm not sure...


Factory. I just bought it this past weekend.

Also I had no luck creating the patchstick (when I was in tiger), it kept making /Volumes/Patchstick-root as a directory, not copying files to the USB drive. If I renamed my USB drive TO patchstick-root it wrote to it, but I'm not so sure it would have worked anyway

rogersmj
Nov 14, 2007, 06:35 PM
Really?: http://trac.cod3r.com/a52codec/

And a better site for hacking is the awkwardtv site:
http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Index.html
http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Category:Plugins

Some cool plugins to play with right away are ATVFiles, NitoTV and Sapphire (new killer version coming any day now).

Yep, the Awkward Wiki is the best. And I too am eagerly awaiting the new Sapphire.

In the meantime I heard SMB was better and faster anyways and just ended up going that route.

:eek: Uh, no. Just no. :) SMB is much, much slower than AFP. I just switched my primary sharing method on my home network to AFP (http://rogersmj.com/articles/afp) after using SMB for nearly a decade...AFP beats the crap out of SMB in speed (in both connection latencies [that's the biggest diff] and raw transfer performance) and in features (AFP allows UNIX filenames, real permissions...SMB doesn't allow either of those things). I do have SMB working on my Apple TV now, and it's OK, but I notice the lag when it's loading directory lists. I'd much rather have AFP...I know how to set it up, I just need the right binary.

Mindflux
Nov 14, 2007, 07:38 PM
mrogers how did you get SMB to work on your ATV 1.1?

I just got SSH working.

rogersmj
Nov 14, 2007, 09:26 PM
I used this guide to get SMB mounting working:

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Mount_a_Remote_Drive_via_SMBFS

Mindflux
Nov 14, 2007, 09:39 PM
I used this guide to get SMB mounting working:

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Mount_a_Remote_Drive_via_SMBFS


Yah I'm workin on that right now. Got the mount and everything moved over.

Have you gotten AwkwardTV or any other codecs loaded?

Mindflux
Nov 14, 2007, 11:42 PM
Hrmm, alright well I've gotten samba and awkward tv, sapphire and nitoTV loaded (no idea why nitoTV is loaded since ATVFiles loads my files? hrm).

I can't get my samba share to mount on reboot.

Mindflux
Nov 15, 2007, 08:50 AM
You get anywhere with this mrogers? I know you were looking for mount_afp

tronic72
Nov 15, 2007, 10:26 PM
[QUOTE=TuckBodi;4494296]Really?: http://trac.cod3r.com/a52codec/

Hi TuckBodi, what is this codec for? Does it allow for surround sound to be played in the Apple TV???

Fingers crossed.

TuckBodi
Nov 15, 2007, 10:33 PM
[QUOTE=TuckBodi;4494296]Really?: http://trac.cod3r.com/a52codec/

Hi TuckBodi, what is this codec for? Does it allow for surround sound to be played in the Apple TV???

Fingers crossed.

Well....yeah, but still a work in progress and a hack. Check out this forum for some answers and hit up the Nito and ATVFiles areas for more info on this.

http://forum.awkwardtv.org/search.php?keywords=a52codec

tronic72
Nov 15, 2007, 10:40 PM
[QUOTE=tronic72;4501823]

Well....yeah, but still a work in progress and a hack. Check out this forum for some answers and hit up the Nito and ATVFiles areas for more info on this.

http://forum.awkwardtv.org/search.php?keywords=a52codec

Thanks mate. :P

h'biki
Nov 16, 2007, 01:33 AM
I'm getting desperate tonight with my new ATV...the hacking has not gone smoothly. However, all is now well except for one huge problem...I can't get to any of my media files because Apple removed afp_mount in 1.1, and this thing came with 1.1 installed so I can't go back to 1.0! All I need is the /sbin/mount_afp file from an Apple TV 1.0 or a machine running OS X 10.4.7-10.4.9 (10.4.10 will supposedly not work). The combo updates on Apple's downloads web site are mysteriously missing that file.

A mount_afp from a full 10.4.10 install will work with the aTV. I've hacked two 1.1 Factory aTVs using it.

(The patchstick will also work)

Though I am getting closer & closer to just installing OS X full on the aTV.

Mindflux
Nov 16, 2007, 12:04 PM
A mount_afp from a full 10.4.10 install will work with the aTV. I've hacked two 1.1 Factory aTVs using it.

(The patchstick will also work)

Though I am getting closer & closer to just installing OS X full on the aTV.


Interesting. can you pull mount_afp and the /System/Library/AppleShare/ off a 10.4.10 restore disc very easily? Or out of the 10.4.10 combo updater? (it's missing from the 10.4.9 combo pack)

And (with recent experience), the patchstick only PARTIALLY works. It tosses up sshd and Perian, but not awkwardtv.

The 1.1 update also breaks a number of installers in nitoTV, namely the smart installer, perian and the kext enabler.

Mindflux
Nov 16, 2007, 06:44 PM
Well I got afp working. This is good. Now I want to figure out what's wrong with my sharing.

Mindflux
Nov 16, 2007, 08:52 PM
I got my AirDisk back by hooking it to my XP Machine with Macdrive7, renaming the drive from it's original name to something else and telling Macdrive 7 to repair the disk.

I can now see it from my base station again on my iMac through finder.

rogersmj
Nov 17, 2007, 09:15 AM
Someone was kind enough to send me the mount_afp from their Apple TV, but it's not working for me. I get some worthless four-digit flag errors when I attempt to mount a share. I need to do some more digging, but I wonder if the 1.0 file won't work with 1.1? Mindflux, how did you get AFP working?

Mindflux
Nov 17, 2007, 09:50 AM
Someone was kind enough to send me the mount_afp from their Apple TV, but it's not working for me. I get some worthless four-digit flag errors when I attempt to mount a share. I need to do some more digging, but I wonder if the 1.0 file won't work with 1.1? Mindflux, how did you get AFP working?


Rogers,

I get the flag errors too but stuff mounts.

use this format

mount_afp "afp://user:code@where/Share" /Volumes/whatever

You also have /System/Library/Filesystems/AppleShare also, right?

I followed a guide on AwkwardTV to give it the right permissions and also symlink afpfs.kext where it needs to be.

http://wiki.awkwardtv.org/wiki/Mount_a_Remote_Drive_via_AFP_under_1.1

rogersmj
Nov 17, 2007, 10:34 AM
mount_afp "afp://user:code@where/Share" /Volumes/whatever

Awesome, I had followed that tutorial but I wasn't using that particular format. Thanks! It works now.

Mindflux
Nov 17, 2007, 10:46 AM
Awesome, I had followed that tutorial but I wasn't using that particular format. Thanks! It works now.

Yeah I just got flag errors with no mount before I tacked on the afp:// before the username.

I now use nitTV to automount my share on bootup. :) Works well.

Cybix
Dec 2, 2007, 08:24 PM
I have a 1.1 ATV (from factory) and it's doing just about everything now.

the patchstick worked on it perfectly, it enabled SSH, installed perian and also installed the awkwardtv menu.

from the awkwardtv menu I installed nitoTV (awesome) and a bunch of other apps.

I enabled mount_afp using my "tiger" MBP before I upgraded to Leopard. So i could mount network volumes (using nitoTV) then play my content back using either ATVFiles (my fave), or nitoTV.

the newer nitoTV comes with enablers for turbo's usb mod, and various other things. This worked perfectly on my 1.1 ATV (with my MBP running Tiger and on the network at the time). nitoTV literally found my MBP, asked for credentials, went in, grabbed the files it needed and did it's thing.

now my 1.1 ATV plays content off an external 500GB hdd (which I prefer), has all my codecs, runs firefox, skype, all kinds of stuff. it's very useful.

There's ONE thing the 1.1 ATV will not do, and that is run the AFP daemon so I can drag/drop files to it from one of my mac's. I still have to use Fugu, or whatever SCP/SFTP app to copy files to it. I usually just unplug the 500GB hdd from the ATV and plug it into my MBP when I want to update movies, etc. Faster that way!

I have a fair bit of info in my blog (in my sig... invertedreality.com)

fun stuff! dont pull your hair out!

ccortez
Jan 6, 2008, 09:25 AM
Hi, relative newbie here. Thanks for the great information I've found already, and thanks in advance for anything you might have to offer on my current situation. :)

My NAS is the LaCie Ethernet Big Disk, which in theory provides nfs, smb or afp access. My computer is a Leopard iMac.

The LaCie enables network protocol access on a per share basis. The share I am working with -- named "media" -- enables all available protocols (labeled "Windows", "Mac", "HTTP", and "FTP").

The LaCie shows up in my list of Bonjour mounts, but has never mounted that way via AFP and always gives me the error "-5002, Unsupported UAM". Strangely, my Leopard Mac also shows up in the list of Bonjour mounts and will sometimes (usually works eventually) mount this way using "Registered User" access.

Another odd thing about the LaCie is that I'm only sometimes able to mount it using AFP on my Leopard Mac. Usually I use the share exposed for Windows, which I believe is nfs. I have also occasionally (and accidentally) ended up with the share mounted locally (to the Leopard Mac) using smb.

Here's the problem: everything worked between the AppleTV and the LaCie until yesterday. I had to use a custom mount point, and I think I had to use NFS, though I also believe I have made a custom mount point work using nfs AND afp at different times. Anyway, one way or another I have always (for a few weeks now) been able to mount that sucker somehow.

Now, fairly all of a sudden, nothing works with the LaCie and the AppleTV. However, I can still mount the Leopard Mac shares from the AppleTV and I can mount the LaCie in all manner of ways from the Leopard Mac. Some manner of flakiness between the AppleTV and the LaCie is causing the mount to fail, but also seems to be crashing the plugin (at least) such that no navigation works or at least takes longer than I have patience for.

My main question is: do I need to work on the AFP part of the Apple TV as per the "post 1.1" guide in my situation? I would assume that I do since the LaCie has never mounted that way, but I would assume that I don't since AFP mounting works OK for shares on my Leopard Mac. Funny, b/c I would assume the LaCie has 10.4.x-based AFP the same way the AppleTV does/should.

I've written enough for a first post. Any advice and/or inquiry is much appreciated.

Thanks!
Chris

P.S. I have just tried doing a ssh command line mount and seemed to get better mount flags back, but I can't check it b/c the kids are watching Spanish Sesame Street. :confused:

ccortez
Jan 6, 2008, 09:37 AM
A couple of things, maybe obvious, that also work:

- ssh works (I think I mentioned that)
- My Leopard Mac Finder shows me the AppleTV just fine and allows me to read/write files no problem

I mention the finder part b/c I believe that is also AFP functionality, but I might be wrong and/or that might not mean much...

blutackey
Mar 9, 2008, 09:35 PM
I am having the same trouble, can someone please send me the afp_mount?
My email address is blutackey -at- gmail.com

thanks for your help

eschulist
Mar 10, 2008, 04:01 PM
Can you SSH and AFP into 2.0?

otavioalmeida
May 19, 2010, 07:28 PM
i have the same problem!
my lacie big disk, canīt mount the afp mode.
i try to mount the lacie on pc, itīs works fine!
any one can help us?
thanks a lot!