PDA

View Full Version : Intel GMA Problem




Vlade
Nov 20, 2007, 10:01 AM
In my game, GL Golf, I have to revert to a lower quality mode for anyone with an Intel GMA 950 card. This is unfortunately a large percentage of the users because apple is shipping so many computers with integrated graphics.

Now that the Intel GMA X3100 is out, I'm afraid I will have the same problem. Can anyone with that card please test out GL Golf here - http://nuclearnova.com/glgolf.zip , and post a screenshot? I'll give away up to two free copies of the game to the first two people who can post a screenshot from 10.4.11 and 10.5.1.

Thanks!



xUKHCx
Nov 20, 2007, 10:05 AM
10.5.1 Macbook SR with 2.5 Gb RAM

Southern
Nov 20, 2007, 10:10 AM
Well I'm running an iMac but I wanted to try this out and see what it would look like in full loveliness. I like the game, good fun!

Vlade
Nov 20, 2007, 10:13 AM
10.5.1 Macbook SR with 2.5 Gb RAM

Thanks, I'll PM you info with the serial.

It looks better than it did with the GMA950[edited], but the transitions between terrain types are still unacceptable. I guess I'll have to default to the lower quality mode on the new Macbooks, but at least all of the new iMacs have ATI cards.



Well I'm running an iMac but I wanted to try this out and see what it would look like in full loveliness. I like the game, good fun!

Thanks, I hope you enjoy the game!

Eidorian
Nov 20, 2007, 10:15 AM
I get the same as xUKHCx on my Mac mini running 10.5.1.

The ground textures aren't as blocky though.

Vlade
Nov 20, 2007, 10:24 AM
I get the same as xUKHCx on my Mac mini running 10.5.1.

The ground textures aren't as blocky though.

Thanks, it looks like you have the Intel GMA 950[edited] card because the game reverted back to medium quality mode

Eidorian
Nov 20, 2007, 10:25 AM
Thanks, it looks like you have the Intel GMA 900 card because the game reverted back to medium quality modeThat's GMA 950.

I wonder what's up with the GMA X3100.

Vlade
Nov 20, 2007, 10:30 AM
That's GMA 950.

I wonder what's up with the GMA X3100.

You're right, I wonder why I had 900 stuck in my mind for so long.

I'm not sure what's up with those two cards, I think its a driver issue because the cards should support what I'm doing. I'm not too worried about it though, medium quality mode works and I would rather add other features to the game than try to figure this weird problem out.

Eidorian
Nov 20, 2007, 10:31 AM
Might be time to check out Apple Developer.

It more then likely is the driver. The GMA X3100 is much more capable then its predecessor.